Tuesday May 31, 2016
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Slay-Z] She also slayed her Twitter.

Azealia Banks review

Latest News Headlines
Editorial: It's Time for Hip-Hop to Address Its Problem With Guns at Concerts


Editorial courtesy of Adam Bernard.

[courtesy Adam Bernard]When four people were shot at a hip-hop concert at Irving Plaza this past week, a shooting that left one dead, and that we're now finding out was done by one of the acts, Troy Ave, there was a disturbing reaction in hip-hop. No one wanted to address the issue.

There were cries that this isn't just a hip-hop problem. There were people bringing up the issues other genres of music have at shows. What was missing, however, was anyone attempting to deal with the elephant in the room - hip-hop concerts have a gun problem.

The reality that guns aren't just a hip-hop problem is irrelevant to the conversation. They ARE a problem in hip-hop, and we should be attempting to deal with this within hip-hop. We're long overdue in taking responsibility to curtail gun violence at our shows, and until we admit to ourselves that this is OUR problem, we won't be in any position to solve it.

Here's just a sampling of the gun related incidents that have occurred at hip-hop shows since the start of 2015

January 2015: Shots were fired into a crowd at a Kevin Gates show in Lexington, KY.

February 2015: A man was shot, and another person was grazed, following a Nipsey Hussle concert in Sacramento, CA.

February 2015: Gunshots were fired at a T.I., and Young Jeezy, show in Charlotte, NC.

April 2015: A shooting inside the Paramount Theater, formerly the Hippodrome nightclub (Springfield, MA), during a hip-hop concert left three wounded.

April 2015: A man was shot following a Twista and King Louie show in West Des Moines, IA.

August 2015: Two were injured in a shooting outside a J. Cole, and Big Sean concert at the PNC Bank Arts Center in NJ.

August 2015: Two people were killed, and three others seriously wounded, at the after party for Drake's OVO Fest in Toronto, CA. The year prior there was also a shooting at the same nightclub, after the same festival.

August 2015: A double shooting occurred at the Palace Theater, in Waterbury, CT, after a rap concert.

September 2015: A shooting outside of a Lil' Durk concert in Philadelphia, PA, left one man dead.

March 2016: YFN Lucci's own security team fired eight shots into the air during a brawl started by their own artist at a nightclub in Little Rock, AK. Lucci was also seen walking around the club with a gun in the aftermath, as he said someone was shooting outside of the club.

May 2016: Troy Ave shot four people, including himself, killing one, at his show with T.I. at Irving Plaza in NYC.

To put this in perspective, if you Google "rock concert shooting," by the end of the first page of results you'll find articles on tips for "shooting," i.e. photographing, rock concerts.

Guns, are a hotly debated topic, and there are people within hip-hop who will insist that guns are a societal issue. I totally agree with these people. However, just because something is a societal issue, doesn't mean it isn't also an issue within hip-hop, and something that we can attempt to address internally.

When discussing the Troy Ave shooting I've noticed a lot of hip-hop fans attempting to deflect the issue, and bring up the problems other genres of music have at live events, like the rampant drug use, and people overdosing, at EDM concerts. While drug use is definitely a problem at EDM shows, the difference between the EDM community, and the hip-hop community, is that the EDM community at least recognizes they have a problem, and they're attempting to do something about it.

In a Fader article from 2014, it was pointed out that after two people died at Electric Zoo 2013, major changes happened in the way the event was run. "Electric Zoo's organizers implemented a barrage of extra security measures," the article stated, "drug-sniffing dogs, more plainclothes security offices, background checks for onsite vendors, a two-hour shortening of the length of each day's show, mandatory viewing of an anti-drug PSA, and amnesty bins in front of the gates where revelers could discard drugs free of punishment."

What are we doing to curtail gun violence at hip-hop shows? How many people have to be hurt, or killed, before we admit this is a hip-hop problem? Taking a look at the incidents I listed, one can see it isn't even just a problem based on an artist's lyrical content. That is, unless you consider J. Cole, and Drake, "thug" rappers.

We can't bury our heads in the sand on this issue. We have to start doing something about it. Deflecting, calling out other genres on their issues, and saying this isn't just our problem, is nothing more than enabling the next shooter, and costing the life of another fan who just wanted to see their favorite rapper.
The Hip-Hop Shop #377 - A Is For Awesome!




It's time for another edition of The Hip-Hop Shop. Episode #377 is called A Is For Awesome!! Enjoy some new music from Arson, Andrew Bigs, Ayar and Audible Doctor among others! Follow us @RapReviews so you never miss a new podsafe free show - like The Drunk Train from Adam Bernard!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* A-Hi f/ Moris the Future - Wake Up
* Arson - Bottle Model
* Aneeway Jones, Akhenaton & SmooVth - la nuit
* Andrew Bigs - Funkin' Around
* Ayar - Flavours
* Audible Doctor - Southern Hospitality
* Artson - Never Give Up
* Apt f/ Dusk Raps - Antonius Block
* Andrew Bigs - Sorry About That

Audio: @Saga718 - "The Warrior" (@QuinceyTones @DiamondMedia360)


Audio: Saga - "The Warrior" (prod. Quincey Tones)

DM360: You can blame the hook of “The Warrior” as it’s inherently made for live stages and audience interaction. Sure enough, the EU crowds were chanting the chorus right alongside Saga, who pays homage (and compares himself to) to mental and physical warriors throughout the track.

Audio: @MCBravado - "State of the YOUnion"


Audio: MC Bravado - "State of the YOUnion"

RC: MC Bravado speaks directly from the depths of his conscience and heart in his latest offering; addressing flaws, and demons, in a personal note to self that pleas for him to take his own advice. Produced by Militant Marxman, tracked/mixed by Brandon Lackey at the Lineup Room.

Video: TSpoon f/ Manny Monday - "Wasted" (@TheYoungWaveGod @MannyMonday)


Video: TSpoon f/ Manny Monday - "Wasted"

A.R.: Portland’s own TSpoon and Manny Monday return with the wild visuals to their banger, Wasted. While director’s Ife + Bonoho bring the party to life like only they can, the Loser gang turns up with a couple uhhh, lovely ladies? Shout out to whole team on this one for coming through with a complete package.

Video: Chuuwee - "Mxney" (@Chuuw33 @BelowSystem)


Video: Chuuwee - "Mxney"

BSR: Prepping a mass array of work even with the newly acclaimed "AmeriKKa's Most Blunted 2" fresh on the net, Chuuwee continues to deliver content to fans while preparing for two full length album releases this year.

Video: @ShabaamSahdeeq - "Dig a Grave (Lord Digga Diss)" @PRDean


Video: Shabaam Sahdeeq - "Dig a Grave (Lord Digga Diss)"

Dean: Regardless of who’s right or wrong Shabaam Sahdeeq has brought his arsenal to the battle fueled by the diss video Lord Digga dropped while Baam was on tour in Europe after his show with Masta Ace, Lords of the Underground and Camp Lo. This is hip hop ‪#‎DiggaGrave‬‪ #‎BattleBarsUnlimited‬ ‪#‎ResurrectAdeadCareer‬ ‪#‎ThenKillItAgain‬ ‪#‎CharityRap

Audio: Joey Purp - "iiiDrops" Mixtape (@Biz3 @JoeyPurps)


Audio: Joey Purp - "iiiDrops" Mixtape

Biz 3: The new Joey Purp mixtape iiiDrops is here! The tape features production from Knox Fortune, Thelonious Martin, Donnie Trumpet, Peter Cottontale and more + vocal features from Mick Jenkins, Saba and fellow Chicago Savemoney members Chance the Rapper and Vic Mensa.

Audio: @IAmSubstantial @MarcusD (@BopAlloy) - "Present EP" (@HiPNOTT)


Audio: Substantial & Marcus D (Bop Alloy) - "Present EP"

HiPNOTT: After releasing EPs with both The Other Guys (The Past...) and Algorythm (Always), Substantial releases his third EP, The Present, with fellow Bop Alloy producer Marcus D. Together, The Past..., Always, and Present will prepare fans for Substantial's forthcoming full length LP The Past Is Always Present In The Future scheduled for release later this year.

Video: @LethalBizzle - "Wobble"


Video: Lethal Bizzle - "Wobble"

Kate: Grime stalwart Lethal Bizzle unveils the video for single ‘Wobble’, which is available to buy now on iTunes and to stream across all platforms, and will be officially released on 15th July.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of May 24th, 2016!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. This week we're back with EIGHT NEW ITEMS so let's get right to it: an editorial on Fifteen bizarre and surreal hip-hop videos, Grandmaster's Furious 5's "Some Kind of Sorry," The Hip-Hop Shop #376 - Ridin With the Underdogs, a Melvin Manhoef interview, Offwhyte's "Dialogue," Pete Santos' "Riding to the Tune of Time," Tonedeff's "Polymer" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for May 17, 2016!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Best of the Super Juniors Night 1 from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive