Friday May 22, 2015
Feature of the Week

[Bush] Kush in that bush!

Snoop Dogg Review

Latest News Headlines
Editorial: Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 1995

Editorial courtesy of Steve 'Flash' Juon.

[Prodigy of Mobb Deep via WC]"Cause ain't no such thing as halfway crooks."

Few people could have imagined the influence Mobb Deep would have when "Juvenile Hell" was released in 1993. It spawned one notable single in "Peer Pressure" and received middling to mediocre review scores. They were widely compared to Da Youngsta's and Kris Kross, and often not in a flattering way. "Kiddie rap is a trend that's crap" was the prevailing sentiment. Nobody wanted more pre-teen or young teen hip-hop songs from Mobb Deep or anybody else.

Two years later they SHOOK the world. When Havoc and Prodigy returned on "The Infamous" their voices were deeper and their beats were darker - MUCH darker. It was made even more remarkable given that the album was self-produced, as the world had yet to realize that they were multifaceted hip-hop talents that weren't just another bad creation of the music industry. Their success was such a landmark that like Wu-Tang Clan before them, they etched a permanent change into the hip-hop landscape, particularly for the East coast and N.Y.C.

"He ain't a crook son, he just a shook one."

'95 is one of my favorite years in hip-hop though and not just because of Queensbridge. It was a year chock full of landmark hip-hop classics: 2Pac's "Me Against the World," GZA's "Liquid Swords," Tha Alkaholiks' "Coast II Coast," Pharcyde's "Labcabincalifornia," Bone Thugs' "E. 1999 Eternal," I could go on and on. It was an amazing and unforgettable year for hip-hop the likes of which we have seldom seen. Every single video in this "Fab 15" gives me an ear-to-ear Kool-Aid smile.

1.) Mobb Deep - "Shook Ones Pt. II"

2.) 2Pac - "Dear Mama"

3.) KRS-One - "Rappaz R. N. Dainja"

4.) Tha Alkaholiks - "DAAAM!"

5.) Luniz - "I Got 5 On It"

6.) Pharcyde - "Runnin'"

7.) Goodie Mob - "Soul Food"

8.) GZA - "Shadowboxin'/4th Chamber"

9.) Kool G. Rap & Nas - "Fast Life"

10.) Ol' Dirty Bastard - "Brooklyn Zoo"

11.) Bone Thugs-N-Harmony - "1st of Tha Month"

12.) Raekwon f/ Ghostface, Method Man - "Ice Cream"

13.) Crooklyn Dodgers - "Return of the Crooklyn Dodgers"

14.) Dr. Dre - "Keep Their Heads Ringin'"

15.) The B.U.M.S. - "Elevation (Free My Mind)"

The Hip-Hop Shop #326 - Offering Hits Live and Direct

It's time for another edition of The Hip-Hop Shop. Episode #326 is Offering Hits Live and Direct! Enjoy new tracks by Don Miguel, DraZ, Goldini Bagwell and Tymepeace among others! Follow us @RapReviews so you never miss a new podsafe free show.

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Goldini Bagwell - Still (Tattoo)
* DraZ - Live and Direct
* eMeX - The Highs & The Lows
* Sivion - Out to Win (Wonder Breed Remix)
* Don Miguel f/ Big Remo, Blacastan - The Offering
* Young Planet f/ J57, Koncept - Climb to Power (Remix)
* Scoot Maxwell - Sloth
* Tymepeace f/ Korry Deez - TW4NM

Audio: @EdoGBoston x Street Wyze f/ @TheRealReks "Sorta Way" (@Effiscienz)

Audio: Edo.G x Street Wyze f/ Reks - "Sorta Way"

Effiscienz: Sorta Way is the first extract from EDO. G's next project titled Afterwords, it is entirely produced by the duet of producers Street Wyze.

@FluentTheGod @SeanKingston @RedCafe & @ChloeCrush - "Rude Boy"

Fluent f/ Sean Kingston, Red Cafe & Chloe Crush - "Rude Boy" (prod. J. Cardim)

DM360: North Carolina based rapper, Fluent, has had a history of doing things his own way, which he's now articulated in the form of the club ready banger, "Rude Boy." Pairing up with Red Cafe, Sean Kingston, and Chloe Crush, "Rude Boy," which serves as the 3rd leak off Fluent's forthcoming, Supreme Victory 2 (SV2) LP, is a toast to the good life, and the perks that come with being your own boss.

Audio: @SareemPoems @OzayMoore - "Soap Opera" (@illect)

Audio: Sareem Poems & Ozay Moore - "Soap Opera"

Josh: This is a new record from Sareem Poems and Ozay Moore. It's produced by The Sound Addict and communicates each artists experiences with law enforcement and their response.

Audio: J.T. Johnson Crew - "She Get Down On The Floor" (@BABROJT @rRAPpromo)

Audio: J.T. Johnson Crew - "She Get Down On The Floor"

RRP: We've got another track for you today. It's J.T. Johnson Crew's new smash single, "She Get Down On The Floor." Please take a couple of minutes to listen to the track.

Video: @NJTHREAT @TheMashOutPosse "Get It Jumpin" (@JoeBayer @FameMOP)

Video: NJ Threat f/ M.O.P. - "Get It Jumpin"

Joe: Joined by the legendary duo of Billy Danze and Lil' Fame, otherwise known as M.O.P., New Jersey's own NJ Threat releases the official visuals for his NY Bangers-produced collaboration. The new flick finds Threat and M.O.P. in the club where they get it jumpin' as they deliver a dose of raw, unabating rhymes. NJ Threat's forthcoming project, Salute 2 Da 90's, is scheduled to arrive later this year.

Audio: Semore Buckz - "Oochiee Wally" Freestyle #SFLL3 (@GrizzyDaGrinder)

Audio: Semore Buckz Takes on QB Classic w/ "Oochiee Wally" Freestyle #SFLL3

Dove: Semore Buckz is gearing up for his Success First... Love Later Vol. III project, and today he is sharing the "Oochiee Wally" freestyle, which matches the young Maryland rapper up with a Nas x Bravehearts classic Queensbridge track.

Audio: Czarface "Nightcrawler" (@INSpectahDECKWU @mcesoteric @dj_7l @methodman @brickrecords96)

Audio: Czarface (INS Deck + 7L & Esoteric) f/ Method Man "Nightcrawler"

Matt: CZARFACE (Inspectah Deck + 7L & Esoteric) will release their sophomore album, Every Hero Needs a Villain, on June 16th, 2015 via Brick Records. The album includes guest appearances from Method Man, Meyhem Lauren, MF Doom, GZA, Large Professor, Juju & RA The Rugged Man.

Video: @GodsIlla - "ForestReal" (@HiPNOTT)

Video: Gods'Illa - "ForestReal"

HiPNOTT: With just two weeks left until the release of the highly anticipated album from DMV Hip Hop trio Gods'Illa; Acem, Truth, and Powerful give us their visuals to the Joe.D produced first single "ForestReal".

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to for the week of May 19th, 2015!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you to enjoy: Adam Bernard's "Four Things I Miss About The Mixtape Era," Bou's "Thesis," an editorial with Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 1995, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #326, Loose Logic's "Loosid Dreams 2.5," Raekwon's "Fly International Luxurious Art," Relic (Rel McCoy)'s "The 13th Floor," Shut-Ins and the Colony's "Underwrought (Re)Works," Snoop Dogg's "Bush" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for May 12, 2015!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for articles like Killah Priest - "Alien Stars". also recommends the Post Payback Podcast from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting!!

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive