Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday October 26, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
Cyber PR Presents: Tugun Cannon


Cyber PR Presents: Tugun Cannon

Courtesy Cyber PR.

Genre: Hip Hop / Rap, R&B
Location: Ohio & Chicago
Comparison: Nas, Tupac, Drake, Lupe Fiasco, LL Cool J

About Tugun Cannon

MC Tugun Cannon embodies a rare trait in hip-hop--he is a street artist that is politically and socially aware. That outlook is even embodied in his name Tugun, which means he shoots knowledge and game.

Having started rapping at a very young age, the first rhyme Tugun ever spit a rhyme it was ironically written by his grandmother. The pro-rap verse (which he still remembers to this day) was the first step into the world of entertainment for Tugun. Working with his grandmother and her production company—1+1 Productions—at the age of 7, Tugun also got the opportunity to share his talents in the theatre. He joined his grandmother and mom as an actor in Shakespearean plays, as well as in Lorraine Hansberry's production of A Raisin in the Sun.

Although Tugun was exposed to the arts at a very young age it could not keep him from eventually getting caught up in the street life. As fate would have it, he ended up getting sentenced to 16 months in a juvenile detention center outside of Philadelphia, PA. What could have been a setback ended up changing Tugun's life forever. "They take that rapping shit seriously out there and me being around that refueled my interest in rapping," says Tugun. He had finally embraced music as the proper creative outlet to express himself.

Once he was released, Tugun relocated to Atlanta, GA and worked at his uncle's mentor program "It's Cool to Be Smart." This would be Tugun's introduction into the record industry as he had the chance to work and hang with signed artists and producers. Fresh out of juvenile lockup and at just 17-years-old he was discovered by producer P-Money. That connection would lead to Tugun moving to California to work with multi-platinum recording artist Game.

Having gained knowledge in song recording, Tugun had a better idea of how to improve himself as an artist. That journey started with the launch of his career back in Cleveland with the release of his first mixtape titled Growing Pains. Over the next few years Tugun would release six more street albums, creating a strong buzz everywhere he touched down from his hometown to Las Vegas to Chicago where he would go on to sign with independent label Mathaus Entertainment.

With the knowledge of the industry and the knowledge of the street life, Tugun is on the brink of releasing his official debut album, The American Way. Kicked off by the single and video "Bout My Business" produced by Ben McCrary, the album is a culmination of all the things that he's been through in his life. "The American Way is the little people speaking to the big people," he says. "This is David's way of getting Goliath's attention and letting him know ‘you about to get slayed'." The album artwork, which features an upside down U.S.A. flag and the title of the album spelled backwards only tell part of the story. But don't get it twisted, Tugun is not in the game to preach, "My music is thought provoking without beating the listener over the head with a message I do it in a way that if a kid was about to go do something stupid, he might think twice about it if he was listening to my music because he or she can hear me share my experiences of being in the same position."

As the first in a trilogy of "America" themed albums, Tugun has just begun shooting game and knowledge to the masses.

In addition to the music, Tugun also shows and proves on a grassroots level. Along with fellow artist LuLu Tha P.K., he is starting a breakfast club for underprivileged kids, in urban areas, who are unable to eat breakfast in the morning before school.

Having worked with Game and international singer/songwriter/producer B. Howard ("Can't Let You Go"), Tugun remains humbled and acknowledges that all of his experiences have been gifts that led him to his current position. "I am anointed by God, more than anything." With the expectation of listeners seeing who he is as a person, he emphasizes that he "is not a star, but a human being who goes through ups and downs, fun, and is simply open to the human experience."

His new album The American Way is scheduled for release on September 11th, 2011 on iTunes and other digital outlets.

DJ Premier Added to "Sparta" Release Party on 11/21/11


DJ Premier Added to "Sparta" Release Party on 11/21/11

Courtesy Babygrande Records.

(Don't miss our M.O.P. & Snowgoons: Sparta review and Adam B's M.O.P. Interview!)

We're pleased to announce that the legendary DJ Premier was just added to the bill for M.O.P.'s upcoming album release party, taking place November 21st, 2011 at Santos Party House in New York City.  The Mash Out Posse will celebrate the release of their latest studio album, Sparta with a vibrant performance in NYC.  Lil Fame and Billy Danze are sure to put on an electrifying performance as they play all of their hits as well as soon-to-be crowd favorites from their upcoming collabo album with the Snowgoons, Sparta.  Several special guests are expected to be on hand for this, so if you’re a fan of New York hip-hop, you won’t want to miss this one!  Don't take our word for it - check out DJ Eclipse and Torae of Sirius XM's hit show, "Rap Is Outta Control" talking about their experiences seeing M.O.P. hold it down live in person.

This event is 21+.  The doors open at 9pm.  Tickets are available for $15 on Ticketweb.comThey will be $15 at the door.  For more details, please visit http://santospartyhouse.com.

Introducing Perfeck Strangers! "Ghetto" Video Release Party, Nov. 16


Introducing Perfeck Strangers! "Ghetto" Video Release Party, Nov. 16

Courtesy Dan-e-o.

Don't be a stranger!

On Wednesday, November 16th inside Toby's Famous Eatery @ 411 College St.
W. in Toronto, we celebrate the release of the debut Perfeck Strangers
video "Ghetto". And you're invited!

Music will be played by Stylus Award winning DJ LAW and there is NO cover!
That's right it's FREE! Great music, cheap drinks, videos on the big
screen and more!

Presented by EasParkPro and URBNET, this is the industry party of the month
that you don't want to miss!

It's easy to say that Perfeck Strangers are an unlikely pair, but when
listening to their music you would think they have been rhyming together
for years.

Both accomplished rappers in their own rights, the union of Dan-e-o and
Promise presents a “perfeck” melding of talent in the vein of Hip Hop's
most heralded duos, such as Black Star, De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest
and Little Brother.

Perfeck Strangers have even been compared to legendary tag-teams like EPMD
and Das EFX for the way they effortlessly flip lines back and forth with
each other.

Joining forces after years of blessing eardrums as impeccably brilliant
soloists, veteran Toronto emcees Dan-e-o and Promise are now tackling the
world of music as the tandem, PERFECK STRANGERS!

Listen to "Ghetto" right here:
http://radio3.cbc.ca/play/band/Perfeck-Strangers/Ghetto

Buy "Ghetto" on iTunes!
http://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/ghetto/id477488770?i=477488778&uo=4

URBNET's brand new compilation "Underground Hip Hop Volume 7" features
"Ghetto" by Perfeck Strangers! Also available on iTunes!
http://itunes.apple.com/album/urbnet-underground-hip-hop/id477620119

Like, Follow and Watch Perfeck Strangers online!
PROFILE: http://www.easparkpro.com/perfeckstrangers.htm
WEBSITE: http://www.perfeckstrangers.com
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/perfeckstrangers
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/perfeckstranger
YOUTUBE: http://www.youtube.com/perfeckstrangers

We look forward to seeing you on the 16th!

"Keep Grinding, Stay Focused and Be Positive!"

PR: Lullaby 'Not Normal'/HOOD Fellaz 'Nothing More Nothing Less'


PR: Lullaby 'Not Normal'/HOOD Fellaz 'Nothing More Nothing Less'

Courtesy Park Street PR.

Two new UK Hip-Hop/Grime Videos!

MP3: Smash a/k/a T-Mac - "Thank God"


MP3: Smash a/k/a T-Mac - "Thank God"

Courtesy Swen Brock.

DOWNLOAD LINK http://www.mediafire.com/?zq2xt3x3y0qme2q .

MP3: Kie Money f/ Curren$y - "Ain't No Blowin My High"


MP3: Kie Money f/ Curren$y - "Ain't No Blowin My High"

Courtesy Papa Smirf.

* http://www.mediafire.com/?y6r1l5wrp8uptyk *

MP3: Fokis f/ GrandMaster Caz - "Show Em How to MC"


MP3: Fokis f/ GrandMaster Caz - "Show Em How to MC"

Courtesy Who Got Next.

* http://tinyurl.com/RapReviews-ShowEmHowToEmcee *

Random: Purchase or Stream Mega Ran 10 Right Now!


Random: Purchase or Stream Mega Ran 10 Right Now!

Courtesy Random a/k/a Mega Ran.

Yo! I'm out in Philly getting ready for a show (Haverford College, Saturday at 9, if you're in the area), and realized that It's 10PM on the 10th, so even though I wanted to officially launch on 11.11.11, What better time to launch an album about Mega Man 10? 

release the (robo)- hounds!

DOWNLOAD AND STREAM HERE NOW! 

http://random.bandcamp.com/album/mega-ran-10

available many ways: 

  • digital *with bonus
  • CD *with CD-only bonus track
  • BLUE VINYL! *with vinyl only bonus track*

press release: 

Phoenix, AZ – After recently wrapping up a massive 44-city tour with mc chris and MC Lars,Hip Hop artist and educator Random returns to the past for a final time for another Mega Ran project, this one based on the new Capcom game Mega Man 10.

The album, Mega Ran 10, samples and interpolates tunes from the soundtrack of the top selling game and transforms them into all new Hip-Hop, rock and dance tunes. Ran is quick to point out that this is not a direct sequel to the previous titles.

“I planned on putting out a song every few months, and soon I had an album’s worth of material on my hands. I’ve been asked by fans to finish the album and release it, so finally, I agreed.”

After accomplishing the impossible with an official license and co-sign from Capcom USA, Random’s last few Mega Man based albums, “Mega Ran” (2007) and “Mega Ran 9” (2009) have landed Ran in major publications from Nintendo Power to Playstation: The Official Magazine.

The album will feature production from Random, Mustin, DN3, K-Murdock and newcomer Derrick Canton. Guest artists include Open Mike Eagle, Beefy, Phill Harmonix and more.

The sad news? This is Random’s final Mega Man tribute album. “It’s been a great run,” Ran says. “I’d never want to keep doing something to the point that it becomes expected of me. I’ll always love the Blue Bomber, and I think my catalog proves it.” He and executive producer K-Murdock will be taking their talents to the Land of the Rising Sun for a week of touring in Japan December 7 to 13. visit morebarktour.com for details.

Get the album NOW at megaranmusic.com through digital download, CD or limited edition “Blue Bomber” vinyl.

Peep video game blog Kotaku's latest blurb on the album: 

http://kotaku.com/5858172/mega-man--rap-music-were-made-for-each-other

I really want to know you guys thoughts, as this album took a lot of work, and revision, and retooling. Big Thanks to K-Murdock for mixing and mastering the project, our first joint venture together as RandomBeats Music/Neosonic Productions. So let me know what you think when you hear it! Thank you so much for all of your support. You are truly the greatest friends a teacher-turned rapper could ever have. Spread the word, and enjoy SKYRIM tomorrow, and play this at the same time, haha.

Much Love,

Random, aka Mega Ran

MP3: B-Hamp - "My List"


MP3: B-Hamp - "My List"

Courtesy M3W.

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/bhamplist/blast-page.html *

MP3: Lil Webbie f/ Bobby V, Lil Phat - "She Got It"


MP3: Lil Webbie f/ Bobby V, Lil Phat - "She Got It"

Courtesy Avalanche Sound.

New single from Trill Fam "Survival Of The Trillest" Mixtape.

SHE GOT IT - LIL Webbie FT. LIL PHAT & BOBBY V

Download link: http://t.co/GQ99HI7C .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive