Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday November 28, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dettwork SouthEast] Speakin' with a SouthEast twang.

Blak Twang review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Orange Hill f/ Fatman Scoop & Kano - "Wine De Best"


Video: Orange Hill f/ Busy Signal, Fatman Scoop & Kano - "Wine De Best"

Courtesy 730Promo.

Orange Hill Productions is the brainchild of record producer / former BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra DJ, Ras Kwame, in collaboration with Jnr.Tubby, another record producer of UK urban music fame (popularly known as DialTone / Antonio).  The new single which is to be released on the 21st of November features legendary hiphop DJ and personality Fatman Scoop as well as UK rapper Kano and Jamaican star Busy Signal.

PR: Deuce Ellis Exclusive Interview and New Song


PR: Deuce Ellis Exclusive Interview and New Song

Courtesy Tony @ DTR45.

As we buckle down for the coming winter here in Buffalo, NY; travellin' man extraordinaire Deuce Ellis is once again in transit. This time, he's actually headed home to Western New York - leaving the sunny beaches of Southern California for a winter hibernation in the studio and finish what promises to be his best album yet. But in between some West Coast rest and relaxation he found time to sit down with the fine folks at WWS Magazine, the interview from which can be found below. Check it out, and stay tuned for more from Deuce.

FULL INTERVIEW and NEW DEUCE ELLIS SONG at WWSMag.com

Tell us about where you are from and how you got to this position today.
-- I was born in buffalo & I was raised in Brooklyn. I've always loved music, and hip hop is my culture. My job is to make great music for people to enjoy, and to be the best at what I do. I've spent the last two years on tour: touring with Aloe Blacc, touring with Das EFX, booking several independent tours, and even participating in Vans Warped Tour & CMJ. I just moved to Santa Monica maybe two weeks before this interview, after a 15 city tour that ended in Vegas.

Tell us more about the current song you are promoting to everyone.
-- I have a two pretty dope songs you guys can check out while I finish my latest album. Check out Throwing Knives & The Conductor. Throwing Knives displays the art of true MCing, raw lyrics over a fierce Neville brothers sample. It's chock full of double ententes, metaphors & witty lines & the video is set to a backdrop of some of the illest Kung Fu footage you've ever seen, s/o to SDMG for the video. The conductor is creative storytelling piece designed to inspire. Haley Meister did such an awesome job on the animated video, and everyone loved it.

What are you currently working on and what can we expect to see?
-- Wrapping up my latest album. And publishing a book of poetry & art. Finishing those projects is my main focus right now. Look for more videos coming soon as well.

Tell us about one of the hardest challenges you had to face in the industry?
-- Not getting discouraged.

What was one of the biggest set backs in your career and how did you bounce back?
-- Everyday is a new challenge. I embrace challenges. That's how you get better.

What are some things artists need to be careful of?
-- Don't loose focus of why you do what you do. Only you know what's best for you.

What suggestions do you have for other artists like yourself?
-- To thine own self be true.

What are the best ways to sell your products as an artist?
-- Be creative. Be original. Give the people what they want.

What is one of your favorite ways to promote yourself and your music?
-- I'm old school. I like hand to hand. Meeting people & speaking with them.

PR: Saul Williams to Occupy All Streets 11-11-11


PR: Saul Williams to Occupy All Streets 11-11-11

Courtesy 'Stache Media.

"What is Volcanic Sunlight? Revolution. The rise of the underground."
Saul Williams

Multi-talented artist, musician, influential poet, and award-winning screenwriter/actor, Saul Williams will occupy all streets November 11, 2011 with the release of his fourth album, Volcanic Sunlight. Volcanic Sunlight is a luminous turning point for his unique and artistic career, and a new chapter in his musical journey. Recorded in Paris (Williams' newfound home), and produced by Renaud Letang (Feist, Manu Chao), Volcanic Sunlight is an eclectic album blending electronic, hip hop, and rock elements. In 13 tracks, Saul Williams gathered all of his energies and has created his brightest, most rhythmic and danceable opus yet.

Check out the official music video for the lead track, "Explain My Heart" here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_vUmvAXaWc .

Saul Williams' open-mic escapades with the Nuyorican Poets peaked at Sundance when Slam won the Grand Jury Prize, and the art world celebrated the arrival of a whole new kind of talent. Volcanic Sunlight sees the breathless-spat attacks of his early slam poetry reduced to the exultation he was always chasing. He maintains his ferocity and ups the percussion, while losing the frown. Williams has also dropped his trademark verbal traffic jams in favor of more concise emotional outbursts. "There is a lot of fun to be had when you try and fit as many words as you can within a three-minute song," he recently told Dazed Magazine, "but there is also a lot of fun in trying to get that message across in three words, or better yet when the music can overpower the words and convey something really pure and perfect...It's as simple as wanting to lift the spirits."

Saul Williams has bounced from Morehouse philosophy scholar to cerebral street sermonizer to breakout indie actor, from hallucinatory hip-hop alchemist to dreadlocked mohawk rockstar, vibing Nine Inch Nails, scurrying across tones, modes and media to defy categorization. He has read published-poetry volumes to opera house audiences with full orchestral backing. He has contributed to the New York Times, and voiced Jean Michel Basquiat in Downtown 81. His early success led to collaborations with the likes of Erykah Badu, Nas, The Roots and Zack De La Rocha and he has cut records with Rick Rubin and Trent Reznor. Throughout all these chaotic ventures, Saul Williams has been one steady thing: an uncompromising voice determined to tap the adrenaline center of his existence with any tool he can get his hands on.

Representing quite a substantial fan base around the world, Saul Williams is currently touring in Europe with dates in Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Lithuania, Netherlands and France. The US will discover him on stage soon, with a line up designed to highlight all the different aspects of Saul's talented personality.

Volcanic Sunlight

  1 Look To The Sun
  2 Patience Album
  3 Explain My Heart
  4 Triumph
  5 Diagram
  6 Girls On Saturn
  7 Give It Up Album
  8 Dance
  9 Volcanic Sunlight
  10 Rocket
  11 Fall Up
  12 Innocence
  13 New Day
  14 Dance (King Britt Remix)

New Audio: M.O.P. & Snowgoons - "Get Yours"


New Audio: M.O.P. & Snowgoons - "Get Yours"

Courtesy Matt B.

The Raw is back! Babygrande Records presents the lead single, "Get Yours" from M.O.P. & Snowgoons upcoming LP, "Sparta," which will be released on 11-22-2011.

Hailing from Brownsville, Brooklyn, Billy Danze and Lil Fame have solidified their reputation as iconic lyricists through their years of hard-hitting rhymes and unparalleled tenacity. Never compromising their style and having shared the mic with industry greats such as Jay-Z, Jadakiss, Styles P, Guru, ODB, Busta Rhymes, and Redman, just to name a few, the duo has rightfully earned its status as one of the most revered acts in hip-hop today.

In Late July 2011, Billy Danze took to Conspiracy Worldwide Radio to break the news that M.O.P.'s upcoming LP would be a collaborative effort with German & Danish production team, the Snowgoons. Speaking on the album, Danze said, "[Snowgoons] just sent us some fire…those dudes are incredible…when you hear this project, you're going to be satisfied as an M.O.P. fan and a Snowgoons fan." Ensuring fans around the world that this will be one of their most diverse sounding albums, the Mash Out Posse member went on to praise the Snowgoons, proclaiming, "they've got everything…they're blazing through and coming from different angles. These guys providing us with that dramatic sound, with those theatrical sounds, with that hard hip-hop…they supplied us with everything. I'm really psyched about this project." Further, listeners can prepare for what Danze and Lil' Fame consider "their best project in 10 years."

Link to M.O.P. & Snowgoons "Get Yours": http://soundcloud.com/babygrande/mop-the-snowgoons-get-yours .

MP3: T-Pain - "Drowning Again"


MP3: T-Pain - "Drowning Again"

Courtesy M3W.

* http://tinyurl.com/RapReviews-TPain-Drowning *

Video: Lil Scrappy Addresses Stabbing Rumors


Video: Lil Scrappy Addresses Stabbing Rumors

Courtesy DJ Vlad.

Contrary to reports last week from Media Takeout, who recycled a story from three years ago in which rapper Lil Scrappy was stabbed, Scrappy is alive and well.

Random: Planet Silk, and a Reminder


Random: Planet Silk, and a Reminder

Courtesy of Random a/k/a Mega Ran.

Yo Yo Yo!

Now that tour is slowing down, this leaves time for more updates, and of course, more music.. We're in the final stretch, and many of you know that I have some musical projects coming up after, with the first being "Mega Ran 10."

(under 20 more copies of that available, btw)

BUT, do you remember that I'll be dropping an album with my homie Mr. Miranda, called The Memorandum?

We did a video for our track "Wednesday,"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sedq-X6bshs

Yessir. And now, we're finally ready to drop single number 2! 

SILK

download it for FREE!

"Planet Silk" is a tribute to the smooth, flashy styles of some of our favorite artists, from Big Daddy Kane to Camp Lo and beyond. It's produced by AZ's own Mute, and has scratches from the great DJ LES735.

YO!

The Memorandum album will release on December 20! so get yo' preorder on!

http://megaran.bigcartel.com/product/preorder-random-and-mr-miranda-album-the-memorandum

Enjoy your Monday! if you're around, make sure to catch me at one of the last few shows on the east coast! 

Oct 24 Wescott Theater Syracuse, NY
Oct 26 Mohawk Place Buffalo, NY
Oct 27 Pearl Street Northampton, MA
Oct 29 Knitting Factory Brooklyn, NY

peace out.

Random

Video: Lega-C "In Paris (Remix)"


Video: Lega-C "In Paris (Remix)"

Courtesy Bayer Mack.

Block Starz Music recording artist and YouTube sensation Lega-C remakes Kanye West and Jay-Z fourth single, "Ni**as In Paris", from their collaboration album "Watch The Throne". This freestyle remix is the first in a series of ten YouTube clips from Lega-C's new video mixtape "Who Got Tha Heater?". A new video clip and free audio MP3 download will be released each Monday at www.blockstarzmusic.com from now until the end of the 2011.

MP3: Sutter Kain - "L.O.V.E." (prod. DJ Bless)


MP3: Sutter Kain - "L.O.V.E." (prod. DJ Bless)

Courtesy Never So Deep Records.

Sutter Kain
"L.O.V.E."
(Life's Obsessive Violent Emotions)
Produced By DJ Bless

Preview: http://www.neversodeeprecords.com/djbless/love.mp3 .
Download: http://www.neversodeeprecords.com/djbless/Love.zip .

1. Clean
2. Dirty
3. Instrumental
4. Vocals

PR: Sahtyre x CafeGutz x J. Rebbell


PR: Sahtyre x CafeGutz x J. Rebbell

Courtesy Saht.

Sunday, Oct. 30th come thru the Vibe in Riverside, CA to catch a rare I.E. performance by Los Angeles' own Sahtyre. He'll be joined by some of the Inland Empire's dopest local acts in CafexGutz, Skeem Price and J. Rebbell in the 3rd Annual "Villains Night" at the Common Ground hosted by Noa James, Curtiss King, and BrickToYaFace.com. The event is 18+ and it's only $5 at the door so stop being cheap and slide through. Check out the event on facebook here: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=220672547998469 .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of November 25th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TWELVE new items for you! Check out Blak Twang's "Dettwork SouthEast" (our featured review), a Bill Cosby editorial, Jack Jetson's "The Adventures of Johnny Strange," Jister & The Lion Ranger's "Absurdism," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #301, Jesal Padania's UK Hip Hop Month 2014 outro, Professor Green's "Growing Up In Public," Rashenal's "Life Learner," Rick Ross' "Hood Billionaire," Tinie Tempah's "Demonstration," Too Many T's "Running Wild EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 18, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cool C's incarceration update. RapReviews.com also recommends AMP w/ Paul O'Brien from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive