Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday April 17, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nausea] The new Death Grips.

Moodie Black Review

Latest News Headlines
Devin The Dude "Suite #420" Tour Dates


Via MySpace:

Apr 14 2010 8:00P
SCOUT BAR SAN ANTONIO, Texas
Apr 20 2010 8:00P
WAREHOUSE LIVE HOUSTON, Texas
Apr 21 2010 8:00P
EMOS AUSTIN, Texas
Apr 22 2010 8:00P
FOUNDATION LUBBOCK, Texas
Apr 23 2010 8:00P
FOUNDATION LUBBOCK, Texas
Apr 25 2010 8:00P
CLUB CONGRESS TUCSON, Arizona
Apr 27 2010 8:00P
THE GREEN ROOM FLAGSTAFF, Arizona
Apr 28 2010 8:00P
CLUB RED TEMPE, Arizona
Apr 29 2010 8:00P
ON BROADWAY SAN DIEGO, California
Apr 30 2010 8:00P
VELVET SANTA BARBARA, California
May 1 2010 8:00P
ROXY THEATRE LOS ANGELS, California
May 2 2010 8:00P
CATALYST SANTA CRUZ, California
May 3 2010 8:00P
SHATTUCK DOWNLOW BERKELEY, California
May 4 2010 8:00P
HUMBREWS ARCATA, California
May 5 2010 8:00P
WOW HALL EUGENE, Oregon
May 6 2010 8:00P
PETER’S ROOM PORTLAND, Oregon
May 7 2010 8:00P
WILD BUFFALO BELLINGHAM, Washington
May 9 2010 8:00P
URBAN LOUNGE SALT LAKE CITY, Utah
May 10 2010 8:00P
FOX THEATRE BOULDER, Colorado
May 11 2010 8:00P
BLUEBIRD DENVER, Colorado
May 12 2010 8:00P
WAITING ROOM OMAHA, Nebraska
May 13 2010 8:00P
7TH ST ENTRY MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota
May 14 2010 8:00P
ANNEX MADISON, Wisconsin
May 15 2010 8:00P
SUBTERRANEAN CHICAGO, Illinois
May 16 2010 8:00P
BLIND PIG ANN ARBOR, Michigan
May 18 2010 8:00P
SKULLYS COLUMBUS, Ohio
May 20 2010 8:00P
KNITTING FACTORY BROOKLYN, New York
May 21 2010 8:00P
PARADISE BOSTON, Massachusetts
May 22 2010 8:00P
ROCK & ROLL HOTEL WASHINGTON DC, Washington DC
May 25 2010 8:00P
APACHE CAFE ATLANTA, Georgia
May 27 2010 8:00P
PARISH @ HOUSE OF BLUES NEW ORLEANS, Louisiana
May 28 2010 8:00P
GRANADA DALLAS, Texas

 


Myspace

Filip Filipi - All I Need (Feat. Lemar) New Message


From Filip Filipi:

All I Need (Feat. Lemar) New Message

STREAM
http://soundcloud.com/filipfilipi/all-i-need-feat-lemar
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkYEtNCTlH8

DOWNLOAD
http://usershare.net/vzgm6i22rhil
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9kvbvz

The 3rd single off rapper and producer Filip Filipi's upcoming project Design & Origin of Stars is titled 'All I Need' and features the UK's most distinguished R&B artist Lemar! The project is highly anticipated, with features from; Lil Wayne, Gucci Mane, Styles P, Ace Hood, Mickey Avalon, Collie Buddz, Shanell aka SNL, Passion Pit, Forever The Sickest Kids, Lemar, and Shane Sparks to name a few. Be sure to check out the official Design & Origin of Stars commercial (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3X17J2Cd6o) and be on the lookout for the release in June!

To stay updated with the latest information regarding Filip Filipi check out:
http://www.filipfilipi.com
http://www.facebook.com/filipfilipi
http://www.twitter.com/filipfilipi
http://www.myspace.com/filipfilipi
http://www.youtube.com/filipfilipi

Eternia & MoSS ft. Ras Kass "It's Funny" Remix


From Sav One at Fat Beats:

Eternia & MoSS ft. Ras Kass "It's Funny" Remix

AT LAST! Eternia & MoSS follow up their first buzz single, "It's Funny" ft. Joell Ortiz, with the REMIX featuring the original west coast lyricist...RAS KASS!

    Dirty: http://usershare.net/i5qenj17v2g9 .

    Clean: http://usershare.net/3as47s8n94l3 .

In 2008, Eternia began recording her sophomore album with MoSS (a fellow Canadian), two years later the LP is complete and the title of the album says it all: "AT LAST!" Going where instinct took them, Eternia and MoSS’ collaborative union manifested into a sonically consistent album inspired by classic, boom-bap rap records.

"AT LAST" is entirely produced by MoSS (DJ Premier's production partner) and features appearances by some of Hip-hop’s elite: Joell Ortiz, Ras Kass, Termanology, Reef The Lost Cauze, Tona, Maestro Fresh Wes, Rage, Rah Digga, Tiye Phoenix & Jean Grae. Eternia is at her finest over MoSS’ production, offering raw, confidant & vulnerable first-person perspectives over gritty and moving soundscapes. "AT LAST" promises to resonate in a musical arena where most rap albums fail to deliver beyond a ring-tone single.

Eternia & MoSS "AT LAST" Vinyl EP dropping MAY 2010 thru FAT BEATS RECORDS!
"AT LAST" the Full-Length dropping June 2010 thru Fat Beats Records.

TRUTHLiVE - "Catalyst For Change" feat. Finale, Ras Kass


From Audible Treats:

TRUTHLiVE - "Catalyst For Change" feat. Finale, Ras Kass

TRUTHLiVE Delivers Final Episode In EPK Series, Drives Home Message WIth Star-Studded Track From Patience

"Me personally, I can't look at myself in the mirror without knowing I did what I know to be the truth. You know, That's TRUTHLiVE, the album, Patience. That's everything I stand for." - Evan "TRUTHLiVE" Philips

The Video:

In the fourth and final installment to his EPK series, TRUTHLiVE begins with an impromptu rap from single, "Catalyst For Change," stressing the importance that the genre returns to the basics. As a firm believer that hip-hop can transform and change communities, TRUTHLiVE hopes someone will take his words to heart and become a better person, just as he hopes his career will make him a better person. In an explanation of hip-hop's current state, TRUTHLiVE explains that, while the genre has retains and emphasizes style, it's lacking much of the foundation and substance, an opening for his own style and approach to emceeing and making music.

The Song:

With the release date for his debut album Patience only a week away, TRUTHLiVE is proud to release his latest single, "Catalyst For Change," produced by Jake One, as is the rest of Patience, and featuring two of TRUTHLiVE's favorites in the hip-hop scene, Ras Kass and Finale. An eerie keyboard lick repeats throughout the track, giving way to Finale's fluid lines, TRUTHLiVE's ever-present message, and Ras Kass' infectious rhymes. Building on the theme of his EPK video, TRUTHLiVE preaches, "I'm tired of the fake sh*t / Game is too vain like plastic surgeries and facelifts / So I don't really care what they spit / I elevate my conscience like thought powered spaceships." Explaining the inspiration behind his own verse on the track TRUTHLiVE says, "I wanted to highlight the art of emceeing and the struggles of those trying to push the art form by introducing new ideas and concepts rather than maintain the current standards of rap and rappers by catering to trends." For a brief moment in his verse, TRUTHLiVE also references Lil' Wayne, not as a insult to the popular rapper, but as a statement of his commercial power within hip-hop and, consequently, the need for artists of his level to be at the forefront of the genre's restoration. While his message may remain the same, the delivery never fails: "The message is simple," says TRUTHLiVE. "Rap with a purpose."

As the owner and founder of Bay Area record label Interdependent Media, TRUTHLiVE has helped promote the careers of artists such as Tanya Morgan, Finale, J*DaVeY, and more. His full-length debut album Patience, produced entirely by Jake One, will be available April 20, 2010 via Interdependent Media.

His album release party at Last Day Saloon will be April 16, 2010 and features performances by Zumbi of Zion I, Amp Live of Zion I, Donwill, Moe Green, DJ Toure, and The Park in addition to TRUTHLIVE's own set.

"Catalyst For Change" Featuring Ras Kass and Finale: http://media.audibletreats.com/TRUTHLiVE-Catalyst_For_Change.mp3 .

Watch EPK 4 here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlQ0qSucUNU .
Alt Link: http://vimeo.com/10904023 .

Download The Unlearning EP: http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/truthlive-the-unlearning-ep .

The Background:

Evan "TRUTHLiVE" Phillips, owner and founder of Interdependent Media, has certainly made his mark in the music industry with his wide range of talents. As an emcee, DJ, entrepreneur, and artist, TRUTHLiVE has had his hands in everything from a very young age. After a traumatic adolescent period where his health was at risk, three heart surgeries proved the artist to be quite a fighter. He explains to his new listeners, "The name TRUTHLiVE doesn't mean that I'm proclaiming myself as the truth, end-all be-all; it's more of a reminder to myself on how to conduct my life and career." The MC best summates, "My music is my truth and my life." That meaningful music will arrive on April 20th in the form of Patience, TRUTHLiVE's debut release, courtesy of Bay Area label Interdependent Media.

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2010, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Donwill, TRUTHLiVE, Canibus, Von Pea, A-Plus, and more. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Streams:

"Catalyst For Change": http://media.audibletreats.com/TRUTHLiVE-Catalyst_For_Change.mp3 .

EPK 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlQ0qSucUNU .

EPK 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwmnAQmgs7A .

"Coors Light and Ski Boats" (DJBooth Exclusive Freestyle): http://djbooth.cachefly.net/freestyles/downloads/DJBooth.net_Exclusive_Freestyles_-_TRUTHLiVE_-_Coors_Light_Ski_Boats.mp3 .

[NEOSONIC News] "How It Should Sound" Vol 1 & 2



Damu's latest project, "How It Should Sound", dropped today and quote me if you want to, but "HISS" is one of the BEST instrumental albums i have EVER heard... PERIOD!  Excuse the corny cliche', but its definitely a "MCS" (aka Must Cop Situation), which basically translates to- GET IT!  Available on both physical & digital formats.

K
Free Download: "Fly Definition presents Delayed Flyghts Vol. 1"


From Domination Recordings:

Fly Definition presents Delayed Flyghts Vol. 1 mixed by DJ YNOT. This 14-track mix features Ozone's very own MidaZ the Beast, IMAKEMADBEATS, Sean J, Soy and Shinobi Stalin. Plus bangin joints from Elzhi, Snowgoons and Emilio Rojas just to name a few. Enjoy the mix, more to come from Fly Definition very soon! For more info, please check out - FlyDefinition.com and ThisIsTheSouf.com

Free Download: Delayed Flyghts Vol. 1 | Zshare.net Link


Peace
Domination Recordings
Website: Dominationrec.com
Twitter: Twitter.com/dominationrec
YouTube: Youtube.com/dominationrecordings
Video: Wais P - "Ain't A Problem"


From Matt Diamond at Coalmine Records:

Here's the video for "Ain't A Problem" from Wais P (of The Ranjahz). Shouts to John Colombo in the director's chair and Scram Jones on production! Stay tuned for more leaks, singles and videos from Wais P who is currently working on his solo debut album (currently untitled), that includes a strong line-up of guest features and producers such as: Joell Ortiz, Devin The Dude, Sean Price, Mistah Fab, Mario Winans, Red Cafe, The Madd Rapper, DJ Premier, SeanC & LV, M-Phazes, Domingo, Frequency & more! Click on either of the links below to download the mp3 for "Ain't A Problem".

YouTube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tB5HMYxdXOI


Wais P - "Ain't A Problem" (MP3)

Download | MediaFire: http://www.mediafire.com/?t2y4j3jnifj
Download | Zshare: http://www.zshare.net/audio/74185095fc166a76/

Audio: J. Monday - "Memories"


From Clout Media:

J. Monday "Memories"

Here is another banger from Harrisburg's Capitol Kid, J. Monday dubbed “Memories” - we all have them - you hate some of them and you love some of them, but they make us who we are. Listen in to J. Monday reminisce on Hip-Hop, his first time rhyming on a stage and personal trials and tribulations.

Stream/Download: J. Monday "Memories" 
Alternative Link @ ZShare.net

Twitter.com/TheCapitalKid

***

About Us

Clout Media is dedicated to helping clients establish successful relations with consumer markets, media and other organizations by building rapport and managing communication between the client and their target audiences.

Our tailored public relations and online marketing campaigns are designed to fulfill the client’s needs. Utilizing technology and executing innovative strategies Clout Media transcends oversaturated markets for both established and up-and-coming clients.

Follow Us

Myspace.com/cloutmedia 
Twitter.com/cloutmedia

Fly Gypsy "Sexy Bitch (Remix)" MP3 & Live Video


From Fly Gypsy:

"Sexy Bitch (Remix)" MP3 & Live Video

In their most club-friendly offering to date, Fly Gypsy gives hip-hop treatment and a dose of Prince to the David Guetta and Akon smash "Sexy Bitch." After coming back from Miami, the duo decided to remix a couple club tracks for its upcoming FG*XL:remixtape. "In Miami, every song you hear seems to have been made for the club," says the duo's producer-half Alexei. "We had a great time there and wanted to show the city and our club-going fans some love." "The remix has a been a hit live," adds Fly Gypsy's emcee Kowboy Kom, "the crowd goes crazy and women love it!"

Audio (1-click, no wait or registration required; PLEASE, use this link so that we can track downloads): http://www.mediafire.com/file/jomjuktmtyy/Sexy Bitch (Fly Gypsy Remix).mp3 .

Video ("Sexy Bitch" live in New York): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRjhvKkQpdc .

Fly Gypsy's remix project, FG*XL:remixtape, is set for an April 19, 2010 release with the following track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. I Want It All (Lil Wayne, Birdman)
  3. I Wanna Rock (Snoop Dogg)
  4. Funky Drummer (James Brown throwback)
  5. Replay ("2 Step" Remix) (Iyaz)
  6. Sexy M.F. (Prince throwback)
  7. Sexy Bitch (David Guetta, Akon)
  8. Back Again (Reflection Eternal) / O.D.O.O. (Fela throwback)
  9. Pretty Girls (Wale) / Brown Skin Lady (Black Star throwback)
 10. Sex Therapy (Robin Thicke)
 11. If It Kills Me (Melanie Fiona) / Skit / Manifest (Lauryn Hill message)
 12. Venus vs. Mars (Jay-Z)
 13. Say Something (Drake)
 14. Drop the World (Lil Wayne, Eminem)
 15. Do You Know Your Enemy (Green Day)
 16. Outro
 17. Bonus: DJBooth.net freestyle
 18. Bonus: Wildfllower (Brooklyn Beauty acoustic remix)

**********
Background:

Washington, D.C.-based hip-hop duo Fly Gypsy are quickly becoming the hottest new name in hip-hop. Since its launch in July 2009, the duo have released a successful and critically acclaimed mixtape, shot a video in Jamaica with famed director Ras Kassa (acclaimed for his work with Sean Paul, Beenie Man, and Damian Marley), and was featured on over 200 websites and blogs, including the influential HipHopDX, Okayplayer, 2dopeboyz, and DJBooth. Their single "2 Step" reached No. 1 position on college radio hip-hop charts and their freestyle on DJBooth is currently No. 1 of 135 others. Music critics have praised the Washington, D.C.-based duo for their ability to attract commercial appeal without compromising their musicianship or message, comparing the duo to the Fugees, Jay-Z, and Kanye West. Okayplayer called the duo's latest release "a timeless example of the beauty in music" and Rap Reviews called the duo "a group that could change what music is and what it should be." Fly Gypsy is currently opening for Wale in several markets and preparing for a United Kingdom tour and a SXSW showcase in spring 2010. The group's latest release, Change for a Dollar, is available now in all digital outlets and on Amazon, and the Vodka & Rum Mixtape is available now for free download on the group’s website, flygypsy.com. The group's remix project FG*XL:remixtape will be released in March 2010.

Kottonmouth Kings Stream Entire "Long Live the Kings" Online


From Kerosene Media:

Kottonmouth Kings Stream Entire New Album
'Long Live The Kings' Online

 
Kottonmouth Kings are currently streaming their entire new album online at www.MySpace.com/KottonmouthKings. The group's new album, "Long Live The Kings", lands in stores on April 20th, 2010 through Suburban Noize Records.
 
"When it came time to record our new album, 'Long Live The Kings', we decided to switch things up by adding our labelmate the Dirtball to the group," says Daddy X. "It would have been easy to go through the motions and put it in cruise control, but we opted to switch things up and move in a new direction. So with a new creative energy, we rented a cabin for six months in Sequoia National Forest and started writing and recording. In a lot of ways this felt like the same energy we had when we were making our first record. We weren't afraid to try new things and take a bold step in a new direction with this album. I think the music speaks for itself and this is one of the best records the Kottonmouth Kings have ever done."
 
The Kottonmouth Kings will be co-headlining the “Happy Daze” tour alongside Insane Clown Posse, with support from Coolio, Necro and Kittie beginning May 10th, 2010 in Dallas, TX. The tour will run for four weeks from May through June, hitting amphitheaters across the country.
 
KOTTONMOUTH KINGS TOUR DATES:
Apr 23 - Tempe, AZ - Marquee
Apr 24 - Las Vegas, NV - Rock The Block w/ Unwritten Law, (Hed)pe, Big B
May 07 - San Diego, CA - House of Blues
May 08 - San Bernardino, CA - National Orange Show w/ Method Man, Redman & Fishbone  
May 10 - Dallas, TX - Palladium Ballroom
May 11 - Tulsa, OK - Brady Theater Outdoors
May 13 - Louisville, KY - Inn Place Hotel & Conference Center
May 14 - Milwaukee, WI - Eagles Ballroom
May 15 - Rochester Hills, MI - Meadowbrook Amphitheater
May 16 - Columbus, OH - The LC Pavilion Outdoor Amphitheatre
May 17 - Charlotte, NC - The Uptown Amphitheatre at The Music Factory
May 19 - Philadelphia, PA - Electric Factory
May 20 - Baltimore, MD - Pier Six Pavilion
May 21 - Worcester, MA - The Palladium
May 22 - Worcester, MA - The Palladium
May 23 - Pittsburgh, PA - Amphitheatre at Station Square
May 24 - Cleveland, OH - Nautica Pavilion
May 26 - Minneapolis, MN - Cabooze
May 27 - Council Bluffs, IA - Westfair Amphitheater
May 28 - Sauget, IL - Pops Outdoors
May 29 - Bonner Springs, KS - Capitol Federal Park at Sandstone
May 31 - Morrison, CO - Red Rocks Amphitheater
Jun 01 - Magna, UT - The Great Salt Air - Outdoors
Jun 03 - Spokane, WA - Knitting Factory Concert House
Jun 04 - Portland, OR - Expo Center - Hall C
Jun 05 - San Francisco, CA - The Warfield Theatre
Jun 06 - Anaheim, CA - The Grove of Anaheim


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 8th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for you: Actress' "Ghettoville," Chance The Rapper's "10 Day," Gio's "Real," Steve 'Flash' Juon's PremRock Interview and The Hip-Hop Shop #266, Kev Sez' "First Attempt at a Second Chance," Mega Ran's "River City Random," Moodie Black's "Nausea" (our featured review), Sister Crayon's "Still||Cynic" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 1, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the Post-WrestleMania 30 Podcast from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive