Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday April 18, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
Guerilla Union/Hip Hop Official Charity Auction


From Guerilla Union:

Join Guerilla Union and Hip Hop Official in the fight against Diabetes! The Rock the Bells Charity Auction for Diabetes encompasses a unique collection of autographed memorabilia, donated by various 2008 Rock the Bells artists. All proceeds will be donated to the American Diabetes Association (ADA) in honor of Phife Dawg (A Tribe Called Quest). Contributions will also be made in memory of J Dilla, legendary Hip Hop producer and emcee, as well as Jheryl Busby, former president and chief executive of Motown Records who revived the label in the 1990’s.The Rock the Bells Charity Auction will begin on December 1, 2008 and close on December 15, 2008.

Watch the announcement video!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rD5_JXrU6NI

To see some of the items up for bid, log on to www.hiphopofficial.com or http://www.guerillaunion.com/auction/.

J.Period Scores New Tony Hawk Nintendo Soundtrack


From Tasha Stoute and Strong Arm Media:

// FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE //
J.Period Produces Soundtrack for Activision New Tony Hawk Nintendo Game!

New York, NY (November 17, 2008) - Fresh off the release of his historic collaboration with Q-Tip   ("Q-Tip for President," over 40K downloads!), J.Period is making history again... this time in the video game world.  In his latest venture, J.Period becomes the first DJ/Producer to score an entire video game soundtrack! Commissioned by Activision Publishing, Inc., (Nasdaq: ATVI), J.Period's soundtrack will accompany the latest release in the Tony Hawk video game franchise - Tony Hawk's Motion, launching November 18 exclusively on the Nintendo DS™.

From Nas to The Roots to Mary J. Blige to punk rock-hip hoppers,Game Rebellion, J.Period has perfected the art of blending styles and sounds perfect for skateboarding's increasingly diverse audience.  J.Period's soundtrack for Tony Hawk's Motion combines hip hop, rock, drum'n'bass, urban soundscapes, and even skateboard sounds to create a compelling and completely original backdrop for the game's exciting new style of play.
J.Period Scores New Nintendo DS Soundtrack
"J.Period has meticulously crafted an incredible
collection of exclusive and original tracks that capture the essence of the Tony Hawk experience," said Tim Riley, vice president, music affairs at Activision, Inc. "This franchise has a long-standing tradition of offering high-energy soundtracks, but J. has taken it to a new level and delivers an adrenaline-pumping masterpiece
for Tony Hawk's Motion."

"I am thrilled to be part of the Tony Hawk's Motion project," said J.Period. "I was truly honored to be given the responsibility of crafting the entire soundtrack for game play-exclusive tracks, no samples, all original material. This is no underground mixtape. All the music was composed and recorded  exclusively for Activision for this project. I don't know any other mixtape DJ who is taking it to that level."
J.Period Scores New Nintendo DS Soundtrack
Also lending original material to J.Period's Tony Hawk score is standout rock guitarist, Yohimbe Sampson, with whom J.Period first collaborated on the Game Rebellion: Searching for Rick Rubin mixtape. Multi-talented studio musician, Jesse Blum, also appears on keys, bass and horns on over half of the game's 10-song soundtrack.

For more information and to hear samples of J.Period's Tony Hawk soundtrack, click the link below.
* http://www.jperiod.com/tonyhawk/

Ice Bears Tour to Feature Prince Po, Edreys & More


From deepthinka.com:

The Ice Bears Tour
FEATURING PRINCE PO (ORGANIZED KONFUSION)
WITH EDREYS (DTR45) AND PAULIE RHYME (PUBLIC RADIO/BTW)
NOVEMBER 1ST – 30TH U.S. AND CANADA


Bay Area, CA based Browntown Wreckords in conjunction with DeepThinka Records (DTR45) and Nasty Habits Entertainment is proud to announce the Ice Bears Tour featuring Prince Po, ½ of the legendary 90s Hip Hop duo Organized Konfusion. This 27 city tour will kick off with a run through Canada on November 1st, then back to the states down the East coast, and then wrapping up in the Midwest on November 30th. West coast dates are in the works for early December with plans to head overseas in 2009.

Since his days with Organized Konfusion, Prince Po has been busy at work putting together an impressive solo catalog and starting his own label, Nasty Habits Entertainment. Po kicked off his solo career releasing of The Slickness in 2005 (Lex Records), followed by Pretty Black in 2006 (Nasty Habits Entertainment), and Saga of the Simian Samurai in 2007 (Threshold Recordings). These, in addition to a plethora of guest appearances on projects with Dangermouse, Madlib, MF Doom, and others, have kept Prince Po relevant in the age of the ringtone. Po has also mentored and worked with countless upcoming artists, giving them sound advice as well as an opportunity to work with someone with longevity in the an otherwise unstable industry. Currently he is working on his next project, Blazers of the Lost Art, entirely produced by Oh No (Stonesthrow), as well as The Ice Bearz, a project which will feature handpicked domestic and international up-and-coming artists alongside established ones.

Primary support for the tour will be provided by DTR45’s Edreys and Paulie Rhyme (Public Radio/ Zulu Nation). Both artists have been blazing up the independent circuit and college charts these past two years. Edreys has been featured on Warped Tour, in Billboard, as a Myspace artist, and his single, “I Like It” received over 328,000 views on You Tube. Paulie Rhyme has been touring the country steadily since 2006, and dropped Public Radio in late 2007, which hit #9 on the CMJ Hip Hop Charts. Edreys is currently promoting his new single and video “Get Free”; and Rhyme just release his latest 12”, Dusk till Dawn featuring Prince Po. The Canadian and East coast legs will also feature Ottawa, ON’s Atherton (Vinyl Tap), promoting his upcoming release, No Threat.

NOV 19 ANN ARBOR MI @ BLIND PIG
NOV 20 LINCOLN NE @ BOX AWESOME
NOV 22 MINEAPOLIS MN @ DINKYTOWNER

(Atherton replaces Edreys on the following dates.) 

NOV 23 OMAHA NE @ SHEA RILEY'S
NOV 24 COLUMBIA MO @ MOJO'S
NOV 25 DES MOINES IA @ VAUDEVILLE MEWS
NOV 26 IOWA CITY IA @ THE INDUSTRY
NOV 27 ST LOUIS MO @ ATOMIC COWBOY
NOV 29 MILWAUKEE IL @ HIGHBERRY PUB
NOV 30 OSHKOSH WI @ REPTILE PALACE

Diddy Releases New Cologne & Kanye Speaks On His Arrest


udubnews.com is reporting the following hip-hop news items today:

* Rap mogul Diddy is laughing a new cologne titled "I Am King" to celebrate Barack Obama's presidential win. According to various reports, Diddy will make the historical moment a theme for the campaign.

* Kanye West had this to say on being arrested in London last Fridayafter leaving a nightclub: "Here's what happened. When I left the club, I was encountered by a thirsty paparazzo as usual. He felt he had more rights to my space than me, so I put my hand up to prevent him from taking my image. I didn't assault him but merely putt my hand up to cover his lens. My security yelled, 'get the camera off him.' I guess in all the commotion the camera scraped his nose. They placed me in handcuffs and drove me to the station. They spoke about how this was obviously a publicity stunt by the photographer but they still had to go though the motions. When I got back to the hotel, there were paparazzi hanging over the bridge above the hotel trying to get a shot of me getting out the police van. Even though I wasn't charged, the damage was done. Sure enough the next morning, plastered across every media outlet - 'Kanye Gets Arrested.' It didn't matter that I wasn't charged or the fact that I hadn't assaulted anyone. All that mattered was that I was arrested."

* It seems producer Scott Storch is suffering in the recession too - he's put his Palm Island waterfront home up for sale on Craigslist with an asking price of $9 million dollars.

* Last but not least as heard on Kayfabe 4 Dummies last night, Suge Knight has been charged with battery and drug possession in connection to the alleged beating of his girlfriend. Knight was hit with the felony and misdemeanor charges by a Clark County Justice Court for possession of meth and hydrocodone and one count misdemeanor battery for allegedly punching his girlfriend of three years in the head as they were returning from a strip club.

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" Sampler


From dominationrec.com:

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" album sampler

Now available for free download is the "Magnum Opus" album sampler from Augusta, GA. based emcee Shorty Raw. "Magnum Opus" is Shorty Raw's solo debut that will be available digitally later this month on Domination Recordings.

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" album sampler MP3
* http://www.zshare.net/audio/51197050ae665750/ *

About the release: Magnum Opus means an artist/writers best work to date. Shorty Raw feels "Magnum Opus" is definitely his best work since he has been recording music. This album displays Shorty Raw's experiences and relations both socially and intimately. His objective for Magnum Opus was to bring that classic feel that was so prominent in the early/mid 90's. It literally took him and production partner KHZ years to put this album together. They even went as far as re-recording the whole project to assure that they had an album that banged from start to finish. Shorty Raw's main man KHZ, did roughly 85% of the album. He also had the pleasure of working with 8:35 out of Portland, OR., Go from Augusta, GA. and the up and coming powerhouse ToneBeats.

Peace
Domination Recordings
* http://www.dominationrec.com *
* http://www.dominationrechiphop.blogspot.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/dominationrecordings *

T-Pain & Timberlake Team Up On Remix


From Zomba Label Group:

T-PAIN AND JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE TEAM UP ON “CAN’T BELIEVE IT” REMIX
NEW T-PAIN ALBUM THR33 RINGZ IN STORES NOW
T-PAIN TO PERFORM ON “SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE” NOVEMBER 22nd


Los Angeles, CA (November 13, 2008) – Grammy winners T-Pain and Justin Timberlake have teamed for a sizzling remix of “Can’t Believe It,” the breakout lead single from T-Pain’s highly anticipated new release THR33 RINGZ. The album arrived in stores earlier this week.

About Timberlake, T-Pain says: “Justin and I met about six months ago. I was working on the album in a Miami studio and he was in the room next door. He came by, I played him a few tracks and afterward he said that, out of all my songs, ‘Can’t Believe It’ was his favorite. I was shocked. Fast-forward to this week and I got a call saying Justin had hopped on ‘Can’t Believe It.’” This is an artist who rarely does remixes, and out of every hot record out there, chose to hop on mine. That’s some real amazing sh*t. I immediately called and thanked him.”

The original version of “Can’t Believe It” (featuring Lil Wayne) hit No. 1 at Urban radio and No. 2 at Rhythm X-Over and sold more than a half-million digital copies in nine weeks.

Praised by Rolling Stone as the album that "sets T-Pain apart from the rest," the much-buzzed-about THR33 RINGZ also includes follow-up hit  "Chopped & Skrewed" (featuring Ludacris), which is already rocketing up the charts at urban radio, along with guest appearances by Chris Brown, TI, Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Ciara and Akon, among others. The album follows 2005's Rappa Ternt Sanga and 2007's Epiphany, both certified gold thanks to hit singles "I'm N Luv (Wit A Stripper)" and "Buy U A Drank (Shawty Snappin')."  T-Pain's bright, polished arrangements have become the in-demand sound across genres, and his scene-stealing vocal performances are among the most coveted in music. As recently pointed out in Billboard, over the course of the past two years, T-Pain has enjoyed 27 top 10 songs collectively on the Billboard Hot 100 and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs Charts. Few people can accurately say that they've changed the course of music; count T-Pain among that short list.

Tune in to watch T-Pain perform “Chopped & Skrewed”  on “Saturday Night Live” November 22nd.  Check local listings for times.

Hear The Track Now:

Can't Believe It Remix feat. Justin Timberlake (WM, Streaming, 96k, Audio)

* http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=t_km0fowVOyITJw_8wuSxjq0TWD72mEk&UserName=Unknown *
 

Can't Believe It Remix feat. Justin Timberlake (Real, Streaming, 95k, Audio)

* http://release.theplatform.com/content.smil?pid=uJUyD4W_HWkoX3ecfVjwMhcVFRRF6t7P&UserName=Unknown *

 
For the latest information on T-Pain, check out:

* www.t-pain.net *
* www.nappyboyonline.com *

Brooklyn Academy "Tear It Down" Video


From k7.com:

Brooklyn Academy "Tear It Down" Video   
For Immediate Release

-----
Brooklyn Academy's Bored of Education album harkens back to a darker, more lyrical era of hip-hop.  Reppin' BK to the fullest, emcees Pumpkinhead, Mr. Metaphor and Block McCloud have been making neck snapping music since the heyday of the Lyricist Lounge.  On their new street video for "Tear It Down," the trio visits some of their favorite spots in the borough, including a spontaneous playground dance session.  Bored of Education is out now on Gold Dust

Brooklyn Academy- "Tear It Down" from Bored of Education

BET's New Daily Hip-Hop Show THE DEAL


From BET.net:

Don't Miss BET's New Daily Hip-Hop Show THE DEAL | Daily @ 5/4c

CHECK IT OUT RIGHT NOW AT 5PM ON BET! HIP HOP IS BACK.

http://www.bet.com

Courtesy BET.net

Zion I "The Search and the Seizure" Mixtape Now Available


From k7.com:

For Immediate Release:
-----
The TakeOver out January 27th on Gold Dust / Live Up
"Juicy Juice" Maxi Single available now digitally and on 12" vinyl
On tour this month with The Mighty Underdogs


With the buzz already building from the leak of tracks featuring remixes, verses and interpretations of/by the likes of Santogold, Public Enemy, Talib Kweli & more, the time has come for Zion I's The Search and the Seizure mixtape to hit the streets.  Built for heavy walkman rotation in the classic sense, the A-side features supa emcee Zumbi and mega producer AmpLive putting their spin on hip-hop classics, with the B-side stepping into indie rock and electro territory.  Boom-bap addicts and fans of Amp's recent remixes for Radiohead, Jamie Lidell, Tapes N Tapes and more should have plenty to sink their teeth into.  Look for super-limited cassette editions if you're lucky, and make sure to grab The TakeOver on January 27th.

Zion I- The Search and the Seizure Mixtape: http://www.zionicrew.com/mixtape/ .

Side A
1. Alien MC's
2. The Rebel
3. Paper Thick f/ Rakaa Iriscience & Richie Cunning
4. Til Tha Breakadawn f/ Codany Holiday
5. Rawww f/ Mr. Davin, Deuce Eclipse, and Bambu
6. Gotsta Chill (Temperature RMX) f/ Talib Kweli
7. All Tha Jazz Interlude produced by Headnodic, horns by Adam Theis
8. Push the Button produced by Sean Christian
9. The Choice Jump Off

Side B
1. Juicy Juice
2. How Does It Feel f/ KFlay & Del the Funky Homosapien
3. Mama Told Me produced by Beat Camp
4. MGMT vs MGMT f/ Mickey Factz
5. The D Interlude
6. Santogold One RMX f/ The Grouch
7. Weird Fishez f/ Young Deuce
8. Fight for the Right (Muse RMX)

For More Info, Check Out:
* http://www.zionicrew.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/zioni *
* http://www.golddust-media.com *
-----
Catch Zion I on tour this month with the Mighty Underdogs

11/17/2008  Neumo's- Seattle, WA
11/18/2008  Satyricon- Portland, OR
11/19/2008  Domino Room- Bend, OR
11/21/2008  Club Underground- Reno, NV
11/22/2008  Grand Ballroom- San Francisco, CA
------
Get tour updates and more from emcee Zumbi on twitter.
------
For a free sampler from Gold Dust mixed by Large Professor, go to http://www.golddust-media.com/sampler .

Loud.com Round 9 Rapper Winner is Curren$y


From Loud.com:

New York, NY (November 12, 2008) - Loud.com, stand up! As the contest approaches it’s final two weeks, we want to extend a sincere thank you to everyone that’s been involved, from the winner’s to the runner’s up to the voters to the people on the outside checking in… without you, our eyes and ears wouldn’t have been opened to some of the incredible talent that has graced the site thus far! With that said…

PRODUCERS – THIS IS THE IT!!! ROUND 10 HAS BEGUN!!! GET YOUR SUBMISSIONS IN NOW AND EARN A CHANCE TO COMPETE FOR $15,000 AND A PRODUCTION DEAL FROM SRC/UNIVERSAL.

THE FINALS WILL BEGIN ON DECEMBER 3RD. DETAILS WILL BE REVEALED FOR BOTH RAPPERS AND PRODUCERS AT THAT TIME. STAY TUNED FOR MORE INFORMATION AND BE A PART OF HISTORY WITH LOUD.COM!!!

As most of you have seen by now, Flyspitta aka Curren$y, took home the Round 9 victory this time through, and Havoc of Mobb Deep gives the cosign (watch the video here). With his song “Top of The Money” ringing in everyone’s ears, the Fly Society representer fended off some great tracks by D-Most and GMartel08, aka Germaine Martel. Big ups to both of ya’ll for lacing some serious joints!

As we build the anticipation for the beginning of the finals, we have some special things planned, and one of them is to drop a new Loud.com Favorites every day. On Tuesday, we posted a Full Volume and Interview segment with Serius Jones and heard him get into some dope rhymes, and today we have another special one planned. To celebrate the end of the contest and to catch everyone up on the second half winners, we’ll also be doing another Winner’s Week featuring audio interviews with cats like Angel Da Kid, Anonymous Twist, Homeboy Sandman, and the rest that haven’t yet been heard from, so be on the look for that next week!

For audio heads, our 12” of The Week, “Pop Champagne, Barack Campaign" (Remix), is set to debut later tomorrow. We'll also be posting the remaining portions of our interview with DJ Bobby Trends from Hot 97. Watch the second and third parts here. If that's not enough, up your reading game with some editorials by the homie Adam Michael. That A&R piece is surprising, to say the least.

Lastly, we are very close to choosing a winner for the Beats By Dre mini-contest, so all of you that entered, fear not; the announcement will be coming soon! For those of you that didn’t to enter, you missed out on a chance to have your tracks heard by an Aftermath A&R and win a pair of Dr. Dre's new $350 Beats By Dre headphones. Loud.com is always sponsoring mini-contests, so be sure to continually check the homepage to see how you can enter. This one was particularly dope!.

Now, a other quick items:

PRODUCERS! Round 9 Voting IS COMPLETE!

    * A winner will be announced November 18th
    * Submissions for Round 10 Began YESTERDAY!
    * With only 1 Round left, YOU HAVE ONLY ONE MORE CHANCE to enter and compete for that $15,000 and production deal from SRC/Universal Motown!!

***

EMCEES! Submissions for Round 10 are CLOSED!

    * Voting began yesterday; a Round 10 winner will be announced November 25th
    * Congrats to Flyspitta aka Curren$y! His blend of syrup-smooth southern vocals, street swagger and catchy hooks had the judges thinking more fire!
    * After this voting period closes, the finals will begin December 3rd!!!


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive