Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday July 29, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) in Studio with Statik Selektah


RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) in Studio with Statik Selektah

The (W)rap Up - Week of January 19th, 2010


Wu-Tang :: Return of the Wu & Friends
Gold Dust Media/!K7 Label Group
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

""Return of the Wu & Friends" can thus be considered a curious release because TECHNICALLY speaking it's nothing new. After carefully breaking down the album and scrutinizing the press release that came with this CD, it's clear that Wu family member Mathematics has COMPILED a new Wu album as opposed to the Clan recording all new material. A few tracks are correctly defined as "exclusive" for this release, but a 90%+ majority of what's here is material the Clan recorded between 2000 and 2008. What does this mean for the listener/consumer? It means some of the tracks here were intended for "The W," "Iron Flag" or "8 Diagrams" but ultimately got left on the cutting room floor."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01F_returnofthewu.html

B.G. :: Too Hood 2 Be Hollywood :: E1 Entertainment/Atlantic Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Chris Dorsey better known as B.G. can lay claim to the title "respected veteran" at only 29 in an industry where most people get that after 40. He's been able to earn that rank due to being an original member of Cash Money Records and one of the most popular artists on that label as it rose to prominence in the 1990's. The story of how dictionaries everywhere had to add a definition for "bling bling" solely because of him is often told but completely true, putting B.G. in a rarified air of pop culture relevance right next to Homer Simpson. He has over a dozen albums as a solo artist or group member, millions of records sold worldwide, and his N'Awlins drawl is one of the most easily identifiable voices in hip-hop today. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_toohood2be.html

Blockhead :: The Music Scene :: Ninja Tune
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

""It's Raining Clouds," the opening track on NY beatmaker Blockhead's new album, starts off with booming drums, a melancholy mood, and scratched-in samples.  It sounds like the kind of beat DJ Shadow was making before he changed trajectory after "Endtroducing..." So does the majority of "The Music Scene, Blockhead's fourth album of instrumental hip hop. Although best known as Aesop Rock's go-to beatsmith, Blockhead has been releasing solo work since 2004, almost all on London's Ninja Tune label.  "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_blockmusicscene.html

Chipmunk ::I Am Chipmunk :: Columbia Records
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

"In that time, at lot has changed in the young life of Chipmunk, the annoyingly young and talented UK rapper. There are vague echoes of a Nas 2.0 in the build-up - he was only 18 when the album was released on Sony/Columbia, having already won a couple of trophies at the MOBO awards, besting the biggest American rappers two years in a row. It is safe to say that he had, up until that point, created a buzz that was probably unheard in the UK, especially for a kid finishing his A-Levels. Plus, he had MONEY behind him, being signed to a savvy major label that was willing to back him with production, marketing, promotion and all those other sickeningly inartistic ideals. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_iamchipmunk.html

Esinchill :: theFury EP :: RCeason
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Esinchill first crossed our radar in 2008 with an album staff writer Nervous summed up like this: "It is an enjoyable, safe listen for someone out on a first date with a lady who likes a little bit of champagne with her beer... but you will not be playing this one when you're getting ready to hit the bench press at the gym." In other words Esinchill's debut was a musically and lyrically interesting album, but generally a little too experimental to get over with the most hardcore of hip-hop heads. Having checked out his follow-up EP "theFury," it seems that E has made a little progress over his initial Bay Area debut.  "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_thefuryep.html

Baron Von Alias + Arhat :: GMT+1-Timezones & Loopholes :: BurnBlock Records
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"This time around, Alias aligns himself with his long-time partner in crime, Arhat. The last collaborative effort between these two, "The 13th Hour", was released in 2007. Keeping with the time element, this release is called "GMT+1-Timezones & Loopholes". For awhile, GMT was more like WTF to me. I'd see it when registering for a forum or something, but rarely gave a thought to what it actually stood for. As time went on, I just applied my now memorized setting of GMT-5 and kept it moving. Officially, GMT stands for Greenwich Mean Time and is the basis of world time. Baron and many of the guest emcees on the album hail from Newcastle which is in GMT+0. So why name the project "GMT+1"? Well, Arhat is from the Netherlands which is in the GMT+1 zone, but I think the bigger idea was to live in the future."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_gmtplusone.html

Lorenzo :: Rez Poetry :: myspace.com/lorenzosteel
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"Lorenzo is, by his own account, an Anishinabe MC from the Little Saskatchewan First Nation located in the Interlake Region of Manitoba. "Rez Poetry" seems to be his first release. The download package contains 6 tracks and front and back cover. If you're wondering (like I was) about the title, rez is short for reservation, apparently a common colloquialism regularly appearing in album titles, artist names and lyrics of Native rap acts. As for most of us, this is foreign territory to me. I feel like I enter a minefield of stereotypes when trying to approach something I don't even know how to address properly. "

Shabazz Palaces :: Shabazz Palaces :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"Shabazz Palaces is the new group of Seattle-based rapper Ishmael Butler, better known in the hip hop world as Butterfly from Digable Planets. The whole project is shrouded in mystery, and until recently Butler was trying to stay anonymous. Shabazz Palaces has been germinating for a few years, but they really made a splash last year with two untitled EPS, both of which featured removable patches with Islamic art.  They played their first live show at Neumos in Seattle on January 8, 2010, which is how I found out about them. I got an email from a friend who was at the show and it said simply, "I think the Seattle hip hop is about to blow up. I went to see Shabazz Palaces on Friday night and had my mind blown."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_shabazzpalaces.html

Shiest :: They Call Me Shiest :: ODC Productions
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Shiest has been kicking it on the independent hip-hop scene for more than a minute now. In fact once you find his bio online you learn Shiest has been around longer than that - he's been rapping since the late 1990's and has opened for fellow Canadian all-stars like Rascalz and Kardinal Offishall. In some respects it would seem our coverage of Shiest is long overdue, so props to his publicist Noel for getting "They Call Me Shiest" to RapReviews for coverage. The lead single "Nuttin' New" has already gotten over 5,000 plays on YouTube, so that's as good a place as any to start. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_theycallmeshiest.html

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #30


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "I pulled out all the stops for the first Adam B Experience podcast of 2010. It’s a whole new decade and in honor of that I have a whole lotta new music. If you’re in need of some motivation you’ll definitely want to crank this up because it starts with some really high energy joints that will work to get you moving faster than ten cups of coffee mixed with Red Bull (which sounds like an absolutely awful drink now that I think about it). Enjoy! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE so tell your friends to download ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #62 - Haiti Relief Episode


The only commercial interruption tonight during Hip-Hop Shop is a plug to remind you to support the relief effort in Haiti. If you are listening to the show, please donate $10 to the American Red Cross by texting the word HAITI to 90999. Thank you to all the artists who donated their music royalty free to this show - Wordsmith, Donwill, Atari Blitzkrieg, Georgia & Declaime, Collective Efforts, Mulatto Patriot, Bisco Smith and Random.

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Wordsmith - Hook Up Hotline
* Donwill (Tanya Morgan) - I See You
* Atari Blitzkrieg f/ Breez Evahflowin, C-Rayz Walz, Krohme, LMNO, Vast Aire - The Cry From Within (Remix)
* Georgia & Declaime f/ DJ Clear, Prince Po, yU - Get Up
* Collective Efforts - I Get Down
* Mulatto Patriot - Luvin It (Remix)
* Bisco Smith f/ Esen, Human Grimace - Railroads
* Random - 306

K-Murdock's Piano-rama BONUS Content Update


From K-Murdock:

With all the hoopla that has surfaced since i announced a couple weeks back that Piano-rama was being released on USB cards rather than CDs as the primary physical format, I wanted to quell any concerns you as the fans may have, by running down exactly what else it is u will be receiving on this nifty little device! So, aside from the actual album (lol), the USB cards will ALSO include:

- 9 bonus instru-mentals of selected album cuts
- Album liner notes
- Wallpapers/Pics (Hi-res)
- An in-depth interview of me discussing the project's creation
- A video tour of my home studio/gear I use

Not to sound like a cheesy infomercial, BUT i guarantee you its well worth the $20... and i look forward to hearing all of you all's personal feedback on it!  Piano-rama was 7+ years in the making so i am more than thrilled to finally share it with you all beginning tomorrow! I thank YOU for your support in advance...

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Videos - Jern Eye's "Get Down" & D-Lo's "No Hoe Remix"


From Audible Treats:

Jern Eye's "Get Down" produced by Keelay & Zaire


D-Lo's "No Hoe Remix" featuring Beeda Weeda, E-40, The Jacka

NYC Sprite Step-Off f/ Ludacris, Wale


From Duck Down Records:

1/25/2010
   
For Immediate Release

Duck Down Records
SPRITE STEP OFF
NYC REGIONAL EVENT

* http://spritestepoff.cadence-inc.com/showevents.aspx *

Live Performances ByLudacris & WaleSaturday, Jan 31, 2010Be There For The Regional Finals Of The Largest National Step Competition In History



Be There For The Regional Finals Of The Largest National Step Competition In History

Plus a Live Performance by Ludacris & Wale

Save $5 when you visit spritestepoff.com/tickets and enter the discount code C38EoFNE

Amo-1 - Bringing the Streets Back to Hip-Hop


Amo-1 can be quite the imposing figure. He’s certainly not small, he sports a huge parental advisory tattoo on his left arm, and he has some intense lyrical content. If he wanted to, he could be the type of guy to make you alter your course of direction if you saw him coming your way. I met Amo-1 outside of the Bowery Poetry Club before a Bondfire show. If an artist is at a Bondfire show, 99 times out of 100 they’re good people. Amo-1 turned out to be good people. He also turned out to be a heck of an artist, which is why this week I caught up with him to find out more about his music, his ink, and why he feels it’s important to bring the classic street vibe back to hip-hop.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/01/artist-of-week-amo-1.html

Free Music Friday: K.I.M. Edition


K.I.M. because we keep it movin' with the free music! Here it is!

Chris Young The Rapper :: 619



[BOOYAKA! BOOYAKA! 619, that's this 20-year old emcee Chris Young's pueblo. And he reps it well in this mixtape that you should not sleep on.]

Tracklisting:
1. Fuckahipster (Produced by Futuristics & Ebelz)
2. Stadium Rap (Produced by Cisco Adler)
3. Sugah (Produced by Vision)
4. Touch The Stars feat Rossy
5. It Was All A Dream feat Shwayze and Cisco Adler (Produced by Cisco Adler)
6. Famous Laboratory w/ Wax (Produced by Nobody Famous)
7. Pain (Produced by Futuristics and EBelz)
8. Marry Me (Produced by The Crew)
9. This Means War
10. Saying Nothin’ (Produced by Ski-Team)
11. Nana’s House (Produced by Futuristic & Ebelz)
12. Turn You Off ft Ash Riser (Produced by Spencer of Jupiter Rising)
13. Focus feat Nikko Gray (Produced by Nevvy Nev)
14. Untitled (Produced by Nobody Famous)
15. Here I Come (Produced by Million Dollar Keys)



Duck Down Presents the Survival Kit

survival.kit.cover

[Survival Kit is basically an ode to KRS-One & Buckshot as today's hip-hop stars takes time to remake some of the classic joints from the duo. Definitely worht checking!]


Tracklisting:
1. Survival Kit (Intro) by DJ Sherazta
2. Gotcha Opin Original (RMX) - Tanya Morgan (produced by NVME)
3. South Bronx (RMX) - Cause, The Kid Daytona & Chaundon (produced by NVME)
4. Buck Em Down (RMX) - Christian Rich (produced by NVME)
5. Sound Of Da Police (RMX) - Diz Gibran & Shawn Chrystopher (Produced by ILL TAL)
6. Shit Iz Real (RMX) - Ruste Juxx (produced by NVME)
7. Step Into Our World (RMX) - Team Facelift & Jade (produced by ABADDON)
8. Talk Shit (RMX) - Torae & Skyzoo (produced by NVME)
9. MC's Act Like They Don't Know - Sha Stimuli, Promise, J.A.M.E.S. Watts, Fashawn (produced by NVME)
10. I Got Cha Opin 09 - Kardinal Offishall & Buckshot (produced by Havoc of Mobb Deep)
11. Past Present Future - KRS-ONE, Buckshot, Melanie Fiona & Naledge of Kidz In The Hall (produced by 9th Wonder)



J*DaVeY :: Boudoir Synema: The Great Mistapes




[Strange, yet very dope. Check out this EP filled with crazy music from J*DaVeY!]

Tracklisting:
1. Fight The Daylight  
2. Crawl All Over
3. Permission
4. Get Together
5. Outta The Window



Kida :: The Endemic


Kida - The Endemic

[This is the DEBUT ALBUM made from Kida, straight outta a.Fam label. This tape could defintely bring the West Coast back or, at least, show folks that the West never fell off.]

Tracklisting:
1. The Endemic (Intro) (Produced by WyldFyer)  01:56
2. The Change Up (Produced by Seige) 03:30
3. Ain’t Nothin feat. TheRealFocus… (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:11
4. I’m Clean feat. TheRealFocus… (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:34
5. Fight This Feeling (Produced by 9th Wonder) 03:35
6. Street Music (Produced by DJ Khalil) 03:56
7. The Wrong Rapper (Produced by !llmind) 03:18
8. I’m Good (Produced by Mell & D) 04:09 
9. Inglewood’s Finest (Produced by Seige) 03:42 
10. I Put In Work feat. TheRealFocus... (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:42
11. Not Real Music SKIT 00:53
12. Wanna Be’s Feat. Kobe (Produced by DJ Khalil) 03:05
13. Platinum Status feat DJ Rhettmatic (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:42
14. I Appreciate U (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:22 
15. Oh Baby! (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 03:16 
16. Sho' Shot (feat. TheRealFocus...) - produced by Mell & D 03:49
17. HOLLA! feat. Nell (Produced by Seige) 03:11
18. WordPlay (Produced by TheRealFocus…) 02:35 
19. Yes Indeed (Produced by Jake One) 03:46
20. Eulogy (Produced by DJ Khalil) 02:33
21. HOLLA! remix (feat. Busta Rhymes, Little Brother, Kurupt, Crooked I, Talib Kweli, Jay Rock, Willie B.) - produced by Seige 04:09
22. Homage To Dre (feat. Crooked I, Jay Rock, Marsha Ambrosius) - produced by TheRealFocus.... 04:24



Oddisee :: Odd Winter EP



[You alllllready know....]

Tracklisting:
1. Ci'iy Life Feat. Tranqill
2. Frostbit
3. Winds From The North
4. Black Broadway Feat. X.O
5. Brain Wash Remix Instr.
6. Riiight Feat. Stik Figa
7. Carry On instr.
8. The Warm Up Feat. Homeboy Sandman
9. Queue With No Coat
10. 60901 Instr.
11. All Because She's Gone Instr.
12. It's Over Feat. Tranqill
13. Blizzard Of 09




That's it for the "K.I.M. Edition" edition of "Free Music Fridays." Check these out and let ya man know if they was fyah! If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

New Black Milk Video - Keep Going


From Audible Treats:

New Black Milk Video - Keep Going


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive