Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday August 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Green Tea - Dew Drops in the Garden x Ninja Scroll


From Plug Label:

Green Tea - Dew Drops in the Garden x Ninja Scroll

R.I.P. Teddy Pendergrass


Late tonight we received word that Teddy Pendergrass had passed away, a story that's now been confirmed by multiple sources including The Globe and Mail in Canada. The soulful singer first found fame as a member of Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, then went on to a solo career in the 1970's that saw him release one platinum album after another of subtle yet powerful R&B. A tragic car accident in 1982 left Teddy partially paralyzed, yet he continued to sing and record and even performed at Live-Aid in 1985 from a wheelchair. In the decades that followed his Teddy Pendergrass Alliance advocated for equality and equal opportunity for all disabled people, showing that Mr. Pendergrass could inspire not just with his voice but through deed and action. And now another of the greatest singers of the last 50 years is gone far too soon. R.I.P. Teddy Pendergrass, you will be missed. Our condolences to your family, your friends and your many fans around the world - including me.
Video - Donny Goines, Bobby, Esso and Malik 16 Freestylin


From Melanie Cornish:

Video - Donny Goines, Bobby, Esso and Malik 16 Freestylin

Bobby, Donny Goines, Esso and Malik 16 Freestyle Part 1 from Melanie Cornish on Vimeo.

Bobby, Donny Goines, Esso and Malik 16 Part 2 from Melanie Cornish on Vimeo.

Bisco Smith - "Broadcast Live" (Remix of "Wear You Out")


From Audible Treats:

Bisco Smith - "Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out")      01.13.2010
Bisco Brings Own Touch To Classic TVOTR Track


The Song:

"Don't know what you need or where its gonna lead, but right here I got my moment to breathe."

As a preemptive strike before next week's release of his new album, The Broadcast, Bisco Smith is releasing a new track. This is no ordinary leaked track however; it's special for a couple of reasons. It's the first time Bisco has produced a song and released it to the world, and second, it's a remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out" with new lyrics. For Bisco, the remix serves as a summation of the themes that he touches on in The Broadcast. "I'm a big fan of the group, but it was the lyrics of "Wear You Out" that inspired me to begin chopping up and reimagining the TVOTR track. The line 'I'm forgetting to breath' reminded me how creating music is my time to breathe after being caught in the day to day grind of New York City." Apparently Bisco has been doing a lot of "breathing" as the run up to the release of his sophomore full length album has been filled with immense creativity in the form of numerous remixes, videos, and multi-media elements (see links below). "Broadcast Live" is the perfect sonic appetizer for the January 19th release of The Broadcast.

Bisco Smith's second full-length album The Broadcast will be available January 19, 2010.

"Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out") (single artwork above): http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Broadcast_Live-TV_On_The_Radio_Remix.mp3 .
The Broadcast teaser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQXp5XGmAh8 .

The Background:

Bisco Smith moved to NYC 10 plus years ago from Connecticut and quickly made a name for himself DJ'ing at clubs, distributing mixtapes, performing at open mics, and in graffiti circles. His debut release, The Basics EP (2006), gained the favorable attention of music critics and his subsequent release, The Stay Up Project mixtape (2007) was downloaded over 5,000 times. Bisco's penchant for capturing our chaotic reality with his narratives, images, and collaborations has earned him a reputation as one of the most honest and creative artists of today. Going beyond music, Bisco Smith is also an accomplished graphic artist. He's done cover art, designed promotional materials and spearheaded art direction for artists such as Aesop Rock, The Perceptionists, C-Rayz-Walz, Murs, El-P, and others. His art has been featured in several magazines and art house coffee table books and in galleries, such as Danny Simmon's Rush Arts Gallery. 2008 was a big year for Bisco. He released the critically acclaimed album When Electric Night Falls (Embedded Music), toured the US, and performed at CMJ, SXSW, Scribble Jam, and NXNE. Since the start of 2009, Bisco has already released a multimedia project entitled The Strange Love Project, and is now preparing for the release of The Broadcast. It is clear that he shows no sign of slowing down. He spends his time designing everything from record covers to websites, painting walls, participating in art gallery shows, and mentoring the city’s youth with art and music, all the while transmitting top quality music to the world. Prepare to tune into Bisco Smith's forthcoming LP, The Broadcast, available January 19, 2010.
Streams:

"Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out"): http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Broadcast_Live-TV_On_The_Radio_Remix.mp3 .

"Railroads" Turnbull Green Remix: http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Railroads_Remix.mp3 .

The Broadcast teaser video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQXp5XGmAh8 .

Neosonic Productions - USB Cards vs. CDs


From K-Murdock:

I have gotten lots of mixed feedback every since i announced last week that my next solo project, "Piano-rama", was being released on USB cards for its physical format.  I completely understand the fact that people still collect CDs (hell, im one of them), BUT, its a matter of beng forward-thinking and really accepting what will soon be the future physical format for ALL music!  I even recently pleaded with the head of Tasteful Licks Records about possibly doing a limited run of CDs & Vinyl, and while those options haven't been ruled out yet, i think its important to reiterate the fact that USB cards offer so much more by way of bonus content than CDs.  Aside from the actual album, you'll also be getting: high-res pics for wallpapers as well as videos that give u an insider look into the creation of the album without having to go to YouTube for it... PLUS, if u really want it on a CD, simply burn the songs to one!  Here are some pics of how the USB cards for the album will look, hopefully these get you all hyped like they do me!

1.26.2010
K






--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

Dan-e-o Live in Concert Tonight @ Ram in the Rye


From Dan-e-o:

Toronto! Your bro Dan-e-o is back doing what he does best...rockin’ the
mic live!

Tonight, Dan-e-o takes to the stage to headline a FREE night of live
hip-hop at Ryerson University’s Ram In The Rye!

Located at 55 Gould Street in Downtown Toronto, this FREE show will also
feature performances by Crateology and Notes To Self. Show starts at 9pm
sharp.

Performing both classic cuts and bangin' joints from the new “Dilla Pickles”
mixtape, Dan-e-o’s live show is a can’t-miss!


Download "Dilla Pickles" FREE right HERE:
http://www.dan-e-o.com/DillaPickles.zip

Check out its first video, "Break It Down":
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlQWyTxt_90

AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECK DAN-E-O OUT HERE...
WEBSITE: http://www.dan-e-o.com
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/daneo10
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-e-o/177676081413
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/daneo10
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: http://www.youtube.com/donfaraldo
IMEEM: http://www.imeem.com/dan-e-o
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/daneo
THA O SHOW: http://www.thaoshow.com
ONLINE STORE: http://www.maplemusic.com/dept.asp?dept_id=2316

Wyclef Jean's Statement on the 7.0 Haiti Earthquake


Wyclef Jean       Statement By WYCLEF JEAN On Haiti Earthquake
(Wednesday, January 13, 2010 - Sunshine, Sachs & Associates)

NEW YORK - The following is a statement by Wyclef Jean on yesterday's magnitude 7.0 earthquake outside Port-au-Prince, Haiti:

"Haiti today faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced.

The magnitude 7.0 earthquake - and several very strong aftershocks - struck only 10 miles from Port-au-Prince.

I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this tragedy worse. The over 2 million people in Port-au-Prince tonight face catastrophe alone. We must act now.

President Obama has already said that the U.S. stands 'ready to assist' the Haitian people. The U.S. Military is the only group trained and prepared to offer that assistance immediately. They must do so as soon as possible. The international community must also rise to the occasion and help the Haitian people in every way possible."

Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text "Yele" to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit www.Yele.org and click on DONATE.

Geddy a/k/a Armageddon's "It's Over" Music Video


You heard it on Hip-Hop Shop now watch the video and enjoy!

New Blueprint Album in February


From Blueprint:

A couple years back I released a free ep called Blueprint vs Funkadelic. It was something I did for fun in the studio and to kind of pay tribute to a band who I had recently rediscovered thru the wonders of vinyl. A lot of artists and producers do “mashups”, where they take existing vocals and put them over something else, but I try to do this series of record differently, by writing original material and not recycling rhymes. If you haven’t checked out Blueprint vs Funkadelic before please check it out and get ready for the next installment.

I’ve decided to do this again, but using music from The Who. Blueprint Who will be released sometime in February. The promo version will be free to download, and the delux version will come with a free poster, sticker, as well as the instrumentals. Stay tuned for more specific details.

Thanks for the support!

* http://www.printmatic.net *

The (W)rap Up - Week of January 5, 2010


Justin 'Tha Shiznute' Chandler

"Kanye West publicly made an ass of himself AGAIN. Gucci Mane broke through to the mainstream, which boggles me though I originally thought the same of Young Jeezy and have since altered my negative opinion. Most albums were good enough to keep my head nodding, but not good enough for multiple listens. Then, as in year's past, there were numerous albums that I was hoping for that never saw the light of day (Saigon, Lupe, Dr. Dre???). This is a constant reality in the industry that saddens me every time these year in reviews come down the pipeline."

Susan 'SusiQ' Kim 

"*9. Zion I "The Takeover"*

I always appreciate Zion I's work even if it's the sixth time around. Amp Live's unique production still persists as he incorporates a variety of beats that he is known for. MC Zion has changed his name to MC Zumbi, but it's all the same because even after ten plus years, the duo remains strong while still maintaining a rather ambiguous sound, in hopes of not being categorized."

Eric Sirota

"A lot of big names, both underground and mainstream, dropped albums and mixtapes in 2009 - Jay-Z, Eminem, 50 Cent, Wu Tang Clan, Raekwon, Lady Gaga, Wale, Clipse, Sage Francis, Atmosphere, Brother Ali, Mr. Lif, Sole, and Themselves, just to name a few. I had high hopes for Eminem, but was let down when he decided to rap in a bad Jamaican accent for half of "Relapse." I have for years been determined not to like Brother Ali, but he dropped two real solid projects in '09. I could never get into MF Doom, the stoner, but DOOM, the existential polemicist, inspired me to revisit his past works."

CookBook & Uno Mas :: C&U Music Factory :: Just-Us/Audio Sketch Book Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"It's unfortunate that a full bio on the history of L.A. Symphony and the members of the California rap group would be longer than this entire review. Their role as pioneers and inspiration to fellow "left coast" rap artists who choose to make experimental and innovative rap music should not be diminished. In fact most hip-hop fans and students will rank them with the Hieroglyphics and Living Legends as crews whose influence extends far beyond the number of albums they sold as a group. Furthermore each crew has spun off numerous side projects, solo artists, combinations with other like-minded artists and enjoyably eclectic hip-hop music. Though they're currently on hiatus as a unit, the same thing can be said about L.A. Symphony's membership, as you can routinely find new projects from CookBook and Pigeon John among others making noise in a world of jaded rap fans. Please just take my word for it when I say L.A. Symphony is a great crew that should get much greater due."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_CUmusicfactory.html

DJ Mehdi :: Red Black & Blue :: Ed Banger Records
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"For many DJ's and music producers hip-hop has been the gateway drug to the world of deejaying, dance music or even music period. Biographies especially of European DJ's often mention a past as a hip-hop DJ. Whether they are still spinning or have moved on to producing music, professionally they have left the field of hip-hop behind and moved on to abstract, downtempo, techno, drum 'n bass, club, house, trip-hop, electro, and what have you. This is a known fact of several '90s key players in the United Kingdom (J. Saul Kane, Smith & Mighty, Massive Attack, Liam Howlett, DJ Hype, Nightmares on Wax, Coldcut, Goldie, A Guy Called Gerald)."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_redblackandblue.html

D.P. :: Bar Tab Blues :: Sosic Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Apparently Mister D.P. can't make up his mind whether to capitalize his name or not. When Guido Stern first covered "fortyeighthours" last May, everything including the album's title was presented in lowercase. I honestly get a little sick of these games, including Daniel Dumile's "ALL CAPS when you spell the man name" and the "let's show how unassuming, shy and nerdy I am" lower caps of mc chris. Don't even get me started on Kid Cudi - I refuse to play that shit and alternate it every other letter - that's fucking impossible to type. This is completely my own opinion and nothing to do with the review, but unless you've had a few platinum records and can be recognized on sight anywhere you go, you don't get to change your name to an eponymous unprounceable symbol, forcing everybody to refer to you as "The Artist Formerly Known As." If you're rich and famous, go ahead, be a weirdo. If you're an up-and-coming artist nobody has heard of, follow the damn rules."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_bartabblues.html

Showbiz & AG :: Party Groove/Soul Clap EP :: London Records
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"For the sake of historical accuracy, the subject of this review should be the original "Soul Clap" EP on Showbiz Records. This would be the wax Show & A were, as legend has it, selling out of the trunk of the car. The ever-reliable Discogs database tells me it was pressed up in 1991, recorded at Jazzy Jay Recording Studios, Bronx, NY, engineered by Jazzy Jay and Skeff Anselm and mastered by Carlton Batts. But since I only own the extended 1992 CD release and all digital downloads available seem based on a 2006 Japanese re-issue of that CD, I decided to go with this later, more widespread version entitled "Party Groove/Soul Clap.""

http://rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_showpartygroove.html

various artists :: Soca Gold 2009 :: VP Records
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"First off, I'd like to offer an apology to the good folks over at VP Records for getting to this compilation so late. I've had it in my possession for a good while, but somehow it got pushed to the backburner's backburner. I realized this about a month ago and decided that when it got cold enough outside, I'd do a write up in hopes that it would bring a bit of warmth to our readers in locations that are brick cold right about now. On a whole, I'm not overly familiar with the soca genre, but I've listened to it from time to time. The term "soca" is a shortened form of the term "soul calypso", which is a form of music that originates in Trinidad and Tobago. In my search for more information, I ended up at the Holy Grail for all things that COULD be true...Wikipedia. I took a look at the section that listed some of the genre's notable artists and many of them have songs featured on the 2009 edition of "Soca Gold"."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_socagoldcomp.html

TYPE 4 :: As Is :: World One Records
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"TYPE 4, I don't know if you heard of them. No scratch that, I'm convinced you haven't, unless by some freak accident you actually have or are so intimately familiar with our publication that you remember our review from a month back. TYPE 4 existed long before the latest rap generation ever picked up a mic. Originally a hip-hop duo in the early '90s, the outfit soon evolved into a full-fledged band that incorporated funk, rock and reggae influences. As they prepare to release a new album in 2010, they sent us their older material for review. "As Is" was released in 2008, 7 years after their second longplayer, "For Sale.""

http://rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_type4asis.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive