Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday July 30, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
B.G. "I Regret Using Dope When I Was 15"


From Chris at Koch Records:

B.G. "I Regret Using Dope When I Was 15"

Bring Da Ruckus - Del The Funky Homosapien & El Michels Affair Remix


From Audible Treats:

MP3: "Bring Da Ruckus" - Del The Funky Homosapien & El Michels Affair Remix      12.09.2009
Oakland Emcee Featured On New Track From El Michels/Wu-Tang Remix Project    


Critical Praise for Del:
"...Del's reputation has remained strong in both fan and critic circles." - Thrasher Magazine

"The Homosapien is one hell of an entertaining MC" - YRB

The Song:

It's a good time to be a Wu-Tang Clan fan. First, El Michels Affair released Enter The 37th Chamber, a full-band instrumental re-imagination of the Wu-Tang Clan's Enter the Wu Tang (36 Chambers) along with a random smattering of Wu classics, and now this innovative cult hit is getting a remix treatment all of it's own. URB.com, Fat Beats, and Audible Treats are collaborating to present Enter The 38th Chamber, a remix series that finds a crew of elite emcees riding the rhythms of El Michels' down and dusty soul instrumentals. Appearances by Diamond District, Del The Funky Homosapien, A-Plus of Souls of Mischief, Kam Moye, Nightclubber Lang of Boom Bap Project, Sandpeople, Von Pea of Tanya Morgan, and many more will add layers of lyricism to El Michels' signature funk, making it a complete and compelling package for all listeners.

The newest track from the project finds Oakland's finest, Del The Funky Homosapien, laying his lyrical stylings over Wu-Tang's "Bring Da Ruckus." Remaking a classic is no small feat, and remaking a remake can bring along a whole new set of challenges, but Del says he wanted to bring "more fire" to the song and also to expand listeners' perceptions of his lyrical range. Call it a remix, but there's something familiar about hearing Del's cadence over El Michel's smooth RZA reinterpretation. As he tackles the dusty-soulified version of "Bring Da Ruckus," Del drops metaphors, shows off his mathematical dexterity, and holds back no poetic punches, all in an effort to "keep it real funky for you turkeys and diamond head buzzards." Mission accomplished, Del.

MP3: http://media.audibletreats.com/Del_The_Funky_Homosapien-Bring_Tha_Ruckus.mp3 .

The Background:

Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) marks Del the Funky Homosapien's 14th project of a hip-hop career that spans almost two decades. Starting at the tender age of 17 as protégé to his cousin, Ice Cube, Del quickly rose to the top of the underground hip hop scene with his albums, I Wish My Brother George Was Here (1991) and No Need for Alarm (1993), both released through Elektra Records. Soon after parting ways with the label, Del helped found the Hieroglyphics family, comprised of notable emcees Pep Love, the Souls of Mischief, Casual, and Domino. In 1998 the critically acclaimed album 3rd Eye Vision was the first to be released under the Hieroglyphics Imperium label and since then Del has had consistent success with his solo and joint efforts, including Deltron 3030 (2000), Gorillaz (2001), Full Circle (2003), and Eleventh Hour (2008) to name a few. Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) features more of Del's signature style, as this high-energy album is comprised of raw lyrics, driving rhythms, and Del's undeniable funkiness. Released via Funnyman Entertainment on April 7th, Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) is available for free via http://delthefunkyhomosapien.bandcamp.com/ .

El Michels Affair, at the core of the retro-soul and funk movement, is led by saxophonist/organist Leon Michels and producer/engineer Jeff Silverman. The group began as a series of informal collaborative sessions with musicians from top-selling acts Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, The Budos Band, and Antibalas. In 2005, the group released their debut effort, Sounding Out The City on Truth & Soul, a label co-founded by Silverman and Michels. Since the album's '05 release, the El Michels sound has been prominent on successful collaborations with Amy Winehouse, Mark Ronson, Just Blaze, Adele, and Iggy Pop. Furthermore, in 2007, a horn part written and performed by Leon Michels was lifted and used for Jay-Z's "Roc Boys," the lead single from the American Gangster album. Most famously, however, is El Michels 2007 tour with Wu-Tang Clan member Raekwon, which led to the recording of two widely successful 7" instrumental singles for "C.R.E.A.M." and "Bring Da Ruckus." Since then, El Michels Affair has diligently been in the studio, interpreting fifteen of some of the most legendary and well-know Wu-Tang Clan songs, including "Can It All Be So Simple," "Protect Ya Neck," "Cherchez La Ghost," and "Incarcerated Scarfaces" for their upcoming sophomore album, Enter the 37th Chamber, in stores now via Fat Beats Records.

Streams:

"Bring Da Ruckus"- Del The Funky Homosapien & El Michels Affair Remix
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del_The_Funky_Homosapien-Bring_Tha_Ruckus.mp3 *

"King Of Fighters"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del_The_Funky_Homosapien-King_Of_Fighters.mp3 *

"Straight From The Big Bad West Coast"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del-Straight_From_the_Big_Bad_West_Coast.mp3 *

"Get It Right Now"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del-Get_It_Right_Now.mp3 *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n52_xavMyfQ *

Del's Stimulus Address
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nCTRrgmd1s *

FREE Album Download:
* http://delthefunkyhomosapien.bandcamp.com/ *

Wyclef Jean to Appear on "Cedric Muhammad & Black Coffee" Today


From Nancy B:

Wyclef Jean To Appear On Dec. 9th’s ‘The Cedric Muhammad and Black Coffee Program’ To Discuss New Album, The Future Of the Music Industry, Haiti and Africa

 

Multi-Platinum recording artist, businessman and international activist-leader Wyclef Jean appears Wednesday, December 9th on ‘The Cedric Muhammad and Black Coffee Program’ hosted by former Wu-Tang GM, Economist Cedric Muhammad to discuss his new album-mixtape, ‘From The Hut, To The Projects To The Mansion;’ the surprising creative role played by DJ Drama; his view on the future of the music business; his work in Haiti; and his support of the effort underway to create a ‘United States of Africa,’ out of 53 African nations.

 

‘Wyclef to me, has set the standard for all other artists in Hip-Hop and beyond, in how he balances making hot music and street credibility with political activism and great business moves.  I’m excited to be able to discuss these topics with him, discover the source of his passion, and get his vision for the future,’ Cedric Muhammad says.

 

‘The Cedric Muhammad and Black Coffee Program’ airs each Wednesday from 12 to 5 PM and is simulcast at Blackelectorate.com, Ustream, and Cedricmuhammad.com at: http://www.cedricmuhammad.com/media/

 

The show will be archived permanently after December 9th at:

 

http://www.cedricmuhammad.com/showarchives/

 

For more information on Wyclef Jean visit:

 

http://www.wyclef.com/

 

For more information on Cedric Muhammad visit:

 

http://www.cedricmuhammad.com/about-2/

 

Happy Holidays From Mega Ran - Worst I Ever Heard Remix


From Random:

TIS THE SEASON.

The holiday season is here! from my family to yours,  I want all of you to have a great holiday. remember to stay warm and be safe and merry and jolly and all that... and I'll help.

Over on the Mega Ran Message Board ( http://randomhiphop.proboards.com/ ) we're trying to do some cool community stuff, and one of them is a secret Santa. If you're interested in getting in on the fun (it won't cost much or take too much of your time), then come on over here and check it out....and if you get me, feel free to throw in an extra thing or 2 :)

Click here for info on the Robot Secret Santa and to sign up - http://twurl.cc/1xk4 .

STILL THE WORST.... WITH HELP.

It's still the worst you ever heard. check out myself and AZ fam Mr. Miranda and MC Pennywise having fun on the "Worst I Ever Heard" remix at http://random.bandcamp.com/track/worst-i-ever-heard-az-remix-feat-pennywise-and-mr-miranda .

A VERSE A DAY in December.

Well I realized that what makes a great rapper is practice... I'm gonna try to write a verse per day for the next 2 weeks or so to stay in the habit.. I just got a flip cam so what I'm gonna do is record myself rapping it..

but need inspiration, much like at a Random show, when I ask you to hold up items, I need you to come in here and post something random......

it beats me going to wikipedia and hitting random search all day...lol

I'll do my best to put it into my next verse.

thanks! you guys always inspire me.

LIVE RANDOM SHOW FOOTAGE FROM LA.


the Great Jeriaska, who helped to get Mega Ran into last month's GAME DEVELOPER MAGAZINE, got some dope footage from my last show in Los Angeles. Check it: http://vimeo.com/7995795 .

if you dont have time to view them all, PLEASE see the Freestyle... I felt like I kinda killed it. :)

Random freestyle @ The Airliner - http://vimeo.com/7995795 .

NEOSONIC: Panacea's - "12 Step Program" (Japanese Version)


From K-Murdock:

NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS: Panacea's - "12 Step Program" (Japanese Version)

For those who can't wait till next year to cop the next Panacea album, you can actually order it online NOW from Japan- where it just came out on River City Music.  Click HERE to go to the translated page, but good luck adding it to your shopping cart as even I'm confused! Regardless of whether you import it or buy it next Spring when it arrives stateside, enjoy the cool artwork they flipped for "12 Step" below...



I managed to get my hands on a couple copies already and will be doing some cool giveaways for these babies shortly, so stay tuned...

Domo Arigato,
K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
L-R-G Presents a Free Album From Kidz In The Hall


kidz.free.album

This Holiday Season Kidz In The Hall are treating their fans to an early gift in the form of a free album entitled The Professional Leisure Tour presented by L-R-G. The 13 track freEP features all original music from the group which was mostly recorded last month on the road during Kidz In The Hall's National US Tour.

The Professional Leisure Tour is a prelude to Kidz In The Hall's next studio album, Land Of Make Believe, currently scheduled for a March 9th, 2010 release date. Today, "Jukebox," the lead single from Land Of Make Believe, is available at iTunes & all digital retail outlets.

Click Here To Download The Free Mix CD

Click Here For The Latest on Kidz In The Hall
Tupac's "Changes" Added to Vatican's New MySpace Music Playlist


From Versa Manos/Gorgeous PR:

Tupac's "Changes" Added to Vatican's New MySpace Music Playlist

Shakur recognized by the Vatican as a distinguished artist who
“aimed to reach the heart of good minded people.”

---

Almost exactly eleven years after its posthumous release, legendary rapper Tupac Shakur’s 1998 hit “Changes” has been selected by the Vatican as one of the institution’s “12 Favorite Songs” as part of a playlist for MySpace’s new streaming service MySpace Music. The distinction is the first time the Catholic Church has officially recognized the work of any popular American artist. With it, the song joins the ranks of works such as “Don Giovanni” by Mozart, the Vatican’s own “Advocata Nostra,” featuring the voice of Pope Benedict XVI, and “After The Rain,” by Dame Shirley Bassey. “The genres are very different from each other, but all these artists share the aim to reach the heart of good minded people,” the Vatican explained on its official MySpace Music page. The playlist, compiled by Father Giulio Neroni, was released Thursday, December 3 – and “Changes” has received nearly five million plays since then.

“This came as such an amazing surprise – it’s not something I would have ever thought possible,” says the late rapper’s mother, Afeni Shakur. “I give thanks every day, knowing Tupac’s words and music continue to have such an incredible effect on people worldwide. My son was always striving to reach out to as many people as he could, and he changed the world in doing so.”

Released two years after the rapper’s death in 1998, “Changes” has been acknowledged as one of Tupac’s all-time classics ever since, with a message that resonates just as strongly today. The song is a streetwise meditation on racism, the Middle East, drugs and gang violence coupled with a call for hope and peace. In essence, it highlights the need for change on both a personal and global level. “Let’s change the way we eat, let’s change the way we live, let’s change the way we treat each other,” states Tupac on the track. “You see, the old way wasn’t working, so it’s on us to do what we gotta do to survive.” The acclaimed single climbed to the top of the charts upon its release and became the only posthumously released hip-hop song to receive the Grammy nomination for “Best Rap Solo Performance.” It recently confirmed its lasting power when it hit #1 on the Billboard Hot Ringtones Chart (November 7, 2009), a spot it held for a whopping 34 weeks.

“It’s a testament to Tupac’s genius that his music can have this kind of impact more than ten years after the fact,” says Interscope Geffen A&M Chairman Jimmy Iovine. “This is an unprecedented honor to his legacy, as well as for those who had the privilege of working with him during his lifetime.”  Most of Shakur’s recordings are owned and controlled by Afeni Shakur’s Amaru Entertainment and Interscope Records. The Death Row albums “All Eyez On Me” and “Makaveli – The Don Killuminati 7 Day Theory” are owned by Death Row/Wide Awake Entertainment, but controlled by Afeni Shakur and are exclusively administered worldwide by ICG/Evergreen Copyrights.  Both albums are distributed in North America by E1 Entertainment.

In September 2009, it was announced that the artist’s private writings would be added to Atlanta University Center’s Robert Woodruff Library – an institution that also houses Martin Luther King’s papers – to be made available for scholarly research. The collection features Shakur’s handwritten lyrics and track listings, personal notes, video and film concepts, fan correspondence, promotion materials and other items providing a unique insight into his creative genius. Whether known as one of the greatest rappers of all time, one of his generation’s most important writers and thinkers, or an artist whose work has been recognized by the Catholic Church, it’s clear that Tupac Shakur’s career is as relevant today as ever.

Myspace/Music From the Vatican Playlist http://music.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=music.singleplaylist&friendid=502108561&plid=1256850 .

Official Website - www.2Paclegacy.com .

Tupac Amaru Shakur Foundation - www.tasf.org .

DJ Hero Contest in Los Angeles This Thursday


From Gordon McGinnis:

DJ Hero Contest in Los Angeles This Thursday

Come enjoy a night full of music, games and complimentary beverages!

DJ Hero 

Enter the exclusive DJ Hero Battle for a chance to win a copy of the DJ Hero Game Kit as well as an opportunity to win exclusive pieces from members of the SF PROJECT!

Music will be provided by DJ Spider.
---

2009 was a year of major growth for Beatology Music Inc., we formed professional associations with the most dominant record companies in the world: Interscope, Geffen, A&M and Warner Bros. We executed promotions for some of the heaviest hitters in the game including 50 Cent, Gwen Stefani, Talib Kweli, Mary J. Blige, Daddy Yankee and Crime Mob at some of the hottest events of the year like the NBA All Star Weekend and the BET Awards to name just a few. Over time, we received dozens of requests from indie labels and artists seeking services on a smaller, more affordable scale, which we regretfully turned down.  Because the demand only grew louder, we  made a decision to begin offering Independent Label Services.

        As a first stage integration of indie artists and labels into our client base we begin by offering an Independent Email Blast Package. The basic package includes our email distribution of your record to every recipient included on our contact list. Our professional associations ensure that your record will reach some of the most influential record executives, program directors, music directors and DJ's in the industry. Basic blast packages begin at $500 per month per song, and can be expanded for an additional fee to include Mediabase/BDS monitoring and radio promotion. Prices are subject to change.

        Remember, no matter how good your record is, you can't get a deal until the right people hear it. We can help you get that access.
 
Gordon "DJ Stealth" McGinnis
 
Multi-Platinum Producer/Musician/Engineer/DJ/Promoter
Beatology Music Inc./Music Promo Now/U Can Fly Holdings/Digiwaxx

Chosen Few feat. Pep Love & Opio - "Girls Gone Wild"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Chosen Few feat. Pep Love & Opio - "Girls Gone Wild"      12.08.2009
Chosen Few Leak Preview For Upcoming Hiero-Backed Album


The Song:

Smooth vibes from Charles Cooper's saxophone open up the latest offering from Oakland's Chosen Few, which also features lyrical acrobatics from Opio and Pep Love from the iconic west coast collective, Hieroglyphics. Titled ''Girls Gone Wild,'' the song is a precursor to the Chosen Few's upcoming album, New World Symphony, and although it will not be making an appearance on the album, the group is giving it away now to allow listeners an early taste of what to expect from the Bay Area crew. "Girls Gone Wild" doesn't seek to resurrect the ghosts of spring breaks past, but instead touches "on the delicate balance of media influences and personal connections to what defines success for women in the, yet still, inequitable social norms of the world" says Cooper. Featuring production by beat maestro Unjust, "Girls Gone Wild" serves as a worldwide wakeup call to see through the media-manufactured smoke and mirrors, and, adds Unjust, encourages people everywhere to "foster their own individual shine." While rhymes and horns are at the front of this creative storm, at Opio's suggestion the song closes with audio from the movie Fame and the rest, as they say, is history. Chosen Few's New World Symphony will be available on January 9, 2010 via Hiero Imperium Records.

MP3: http://media.audibletreats.com/Chosen_Few-Girls_Gone_Wild_Feat_Opio_and_Pep_Love.mp3 .

The Background:

Chosen Few is Cold Showda, Unjust, Charles Cooper... and You. The mission of the group is to empower listeners and make them realize that they alone have the power to decide what music they listen to, instead of just picking up everything the powers that be are putting down. Originally from Ohio, the crew hooked up with regional talent like Hi-Tek, DJ Kweli, and Slum Village before moving westward to fulfill their musical manifest destiny. Cold Showda and Charles Cooper began their Bay Area careers by performing under the name Greans, collaborating with the likes of Mos Def, Common, Hieroglyphics, Pharcyde, Grandmaster Flash and more, while Unjust used his skills as a graphic artist to work with Dilated Peoples, Little Brother, Strong Arm Steady, Planet Asia, J. Dilla, Nappy Roots, and Dizzee Rascal to name a few. After achieving their respective separate successes, Chosen Few regrouped in 2008 and began building energy towards reviving the emotional range that seemed to missing from lady hip-hop at the time, and thus the idea that was New World Symphony was born. The sound of today's social consciousness is Unjust's soul and psychedelic rock laden beats, Cold Showda's relentlessly aggressive lyrics, and Charles Cooper's masterful saxophone playing and wordplay. Rounding out the album are guest appearances by Del The Funky Homosapien, Pep Love, Rakaa Iriscience, Phat Kat, DJ Babu, Tajai, Opio, Piakahn, Word4Word, and more. As Cooper says, "we are trying to encourage people to stand up, be your own individual and BE one of the chosen few." Become part of the movement at http://wearechosenfew.com and prepare to tune into New World Symphony on February 9, 2010, via Hiero Imperium Records.

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/wearechosenfew .

Bandcamp: http://chosenfew.bandcamp.com/ .

Official site: http://wearechosenfew.com .

Label site: http://www.hieroglyphics.com .

Sade Releases "Soldier of Love," First Single Off New Album


Okay so technically Sade isn't rap, but I've loved her music for over 20 years, and I bet a lot of other hip-hop heads do too. The video is below along with a press release from Giant Step.


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SADE RELEASES NEW SINGLE
OFF FORTHCOMING ALBUM,
SOLDIER OF LOVE

DEC 8, 2009

Today Sade releases the first single from a new album, Soldier of Love. The title track “Soldier Of Love,” which Sade co-produced with Mike Pela, was written by Sade along with longtime collaborators Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman and Paul Spencer Denman. The song, featuring a pulsating and anthemic drum beat along with haunting vocals that Sade is known for, is now set to hit airwaves and will kick off the countdown for Soldier of Love. Recorded in England and set for release worldwide on February 8th, Soldier of Love marks Sade’s first studio album since the multi-platinum release of Lovers Rock in 2000.

The first single “Soldier Of Love” premiered today at 7am EST on www.sade.com .

Known for their one of a kind timeless sound, Sade has enjoyed phenomenal success both internationally and stateside throughout the span of their twenty-five year career. Since the release of their debut album, Diamond Life in 1984 the band has seen all five of their studio albums land in the Top 10 on Billboard’s Top 200 Album Chart selling a total of more than 50 million albums worldwide to date. They’ve been nominated for American Music Awards, MTV Video Music Awards and have won three Grammy Awards – first in 1986 for Best New Artist, then in 1994 for Best R&B Performance By A Duo Or Group for “No Ordinary Love”, and again in 2002 for Best Pop Vocal Album with Lovers Rock.

* WWW.SADE.COM *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive