Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Free Get Busy Committee Download


For Immediate Release:

GET BUSY COMMITTEE'S SELF-RELEASED UZI DOES IT AVAILABLE FOR FREE, OR IN COLLECTIBLE UZI-SHAPED USB FORMAT

 Former major-label rappers self-release using Topspin, INgrooves, and independent promotion

 Half Get Busy Committee's new album Uzi Does It made available for free to anyone who shares with friends, album sold as an inexpensive digital download, CD, or Uzi-shaped 2GB USB flash memory drive on October 27th, available at iTunes, Amazon, etc on November 10th.


 
Los Angeles, CA (October 27th, 2009) - Hip hop group Get Busy Committee have released "the hip hop album of the year", Uzi Does It, in an innovative way, giving away half the record for free to anyone who shares the record on their blog, MySpace, Twitter, or Facebook, and are selling the album in a variety of innovative formats, starting with a 2GB flash memory drive in the shape of an Uzi submachine gun (gun will be introductory-priced at $20).  Starting on November 10th, the album will be aggressively priced less than $6 at digital retailers worldwide including iTunes and Amazon.

Get Busy Committee features Ryu (Styles of Beyond, Demigodz) and Apathy (Demigodz, Army of the Pharaohs).  Tracks are produced by Apathy as well as rapper and super-producer Scoop Deville, known for his work recently with Snoop Dogg, The Game, Clipse, and many others.  Scoop, who is the son of rapper Kid Frost, also lends verses to half the songs on the album.

Download the album and get the flash drive from http://GetBusyCommittee.com, an innovative Web site which features not only direct sales but also tight integrations with Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, and YouTube, encouraging fans to share their thoughts, photos, and videos regarding Get Busy Committee.  The Web site also contains a special section for DJs to download acapellas versions of the singles for remixing as well as clean versions of the songs for college radio DJs.

"Remember the first time you heard the first Guns n Roses record?  That's what this is like." - Apathy

"Uzi Does It is the hip hop album of the year, it's no wonder GBC is making so much noise without the help of a major label." - Mike Shinoda, Linkin Park

"For real this album is so good." - Rob Dyrdek

"Get Busy Committee is a great example of how a band can creatively use the power of the MySpace platform to market their music and lifestyle, engaging a savvy music audience." - Courtney Holt, President, MySpace Music

"INgrooves is proud to be working with Get Busy Committee's fantastic new release that is sure to connect with legions of passionate music fans.  I am certain our various retail and promotional partners around the world will be eager to share it with their customers." - Robb McDaniels, President and CEO, INgrooves

"We're making sure we connect with anyone interested in Get Busy Committee, giving them incentive and simple ways to share with others, and allowing them to buy the music in unique, collectible, valuable formats which flow from the creativity of the artists." - Ian Rogers, CEO, Topspin

"Selling records is just like selling houses.  Or at least I hope it is." - Dutch Markgraf, Manager, Get Busy Committee



Get Busy Committee Biography, Photos, Links: http://GetBusyCommittee.com/press


For more information or a review copy of the album, contact:

Greg Miller
Big Hassle Media
Phone: 310.428.2064
Email: greg@bighassle.com / greg@gm-pr.net
Gucci Mane Takes Over The 2009 BET Hip-Hop Awards


On the heels of his 2009 BET Hip Hop Awards performances, Atlanta's Gucci Mane prepares his first major label release, "The State Vs. Radric Davis"
 
 
 
Press Release From Warner Bros. Records:

GUCCI MANE’S FIRST MAJOR LABEL RELEASE
THE STATE VS. RADRIC DAVIS OUT DECEMBURRR 8, 2009
 
MTV POLLS ARE IN: GUCCI MANE IS ONE OF THE HOTTEST MC’S IN THE GAME

October 28th, 2009: Burbank, CA:


So Icey/Asylum/Warner Bros. Records are pleased to announce the release of Gucci Mane’s first major release, The State Vs. Radric Davis.  The long-awaited album will make its way into stores DecemBURRR 8, 2009.
 
The State Vs. Radric Davis comes after a slew of independent releases, mixtapes and features over the past few years. It brings together some of the best production work from Polow Da Don, Drumma Boy, Sean Garrett, Mannie Fresh and others.  Confirmed features so far include Usher, Lil Wayne, Soulja Boy and So Icey Entertainment family OJ Da Juiceman and Waka Flocka.
 
The news comes on the heels of the rapper being named the #6 Hottest MC currently in the game by MTV staffers and fans (see link below).  The network justifies the decision in stating “no artist this year has more effectively merged the underground with the mainstream. He's broken through in '09 and shined through the clouds of controversy that have continued to dampen his career.”


2009 has been a very busy year for the Atlanta native. Bridging the gap between the streets and mainstream, Gucci Mane elevated his profile by appearing on four Top 20 singles this summer including Mario’s “Break Up,” Trey Songz’ “LOL” feat. Soulja Boy, and landing the feature on Mariah Carey’s “Obsessed” remix and his own first single “Wasted”.  Gucci Mane has been seemingly everywhere with more than 150 songs on over 40 different mixtapes and albums.  
 
Despite his success, Gucci Mane remains true to his underground cult following who continue to demonstrate their devotion to the battle-tested hero.  His set-up single “Wasted” feat Plies with OJ Da Juiceman on the remix is the rapper’s most successful single to date. The song is currently nestled in at #2 on the  urban mainstream radio chart and, with over 15 million plays on MySpace, it is currently the #5 most streamed song on all of MySpace. Gucci’s next single from the new album is “Spotlight” which features 5-time Grammy Award winning R&B singer Usher and promises to capitalize on the rapper’s momentum in the mainstream and will surely be a strong, radio-ready follow-up for his ever-growing audience. While Gucci continues to release mixtapes, including his latest The Cold War series, the new album will contain ALL new never before heard music and will include not only the mainstream hits, but also a slew of street anthems from Drumma Boy, Zaytoven, and Fat Boi.

Gucci Mane first came onto the scene in 2005 with his smash single “So Icey” featuring Young Jeezy off his debut album, Trap House.  Disputes over the song’s rights resulted in a well-publicized and deadly beef between the two artists and would be the source of legal headaches for years to come.  His follow-up album Back to the Trap House spawned the hit “Freaky Gurl” which peaked at #12 on the Billboard Hot Rap Tracks.
 
DJ Khaled Releases Single w/ Drake, Jeezy, Rick Ross, Usher


From Gio at E1:

October 28, 2009
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

DJ KHALED DROPS BRAND NEW SINGLE “FED UP” FEATURING USHER, DRAKE, RICK ROSS AND YOUNG JEEZY

KHALED PREPPING NEW ALBUM, “VICTORY,” TO BE RELEASED IN EARLY 2010


(New York, NY) – Hip Hop icon, label owner, A&R executive and Miami radio personality DJ Khaled is at it again as he unleashes his much anticipated new single today! The new smash-in-the-making banger “Fed Up,” features Usher, Drake, Rick Ross and Young Jeezy.

“Fed Up” is the first official single/look from Khaled’s forthcoming new studio album Victory which will be released in early 2010.

To hear “Fed Up” featuring Usher, Drake, Rick Ross and Young Jeezy, click here: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/djkhaled/fedup_clean.mov .

DJ Khaled says, This is excitement!!!! This is a movvvvvvie!! God is so good!! This is a hit record! ‘VICTORY’ coming soon! I work so hard to make this happen for us the people. We The Best!!!!!”

Previous Khaled blockbuster hits have included platinum certified monsters like “I’m So Hood” and Gold singles “Out Here Grindin’” and “We Takin’ Over.”

Victory will be DJ Khaled’s fourth studio album.  To date, Khaled has sold over 750,000 via E1 Music (formerly KOCH Records).

About E1 Entertainment

E1 Entertainment (AIM: ETO) is a leading independent entertainment content owner that acquires film, television and music rights and exploits these rights in all media in more than 190 countries.  The company currently operates in Canada, the U.S., the UK, Holland and Belgium through its four primary businesses units: E1 Television, E1 Films, E1 Music and E1 Distribution.  These businesses collectively represent E1’s extensive expertise in film distribution, television and music production/distribution, Kids content, Licensing and Distribution. E1’s content library includes more than 3,700 feature films, 2,700 hours of original television programming and 15,000 music tracks.

Public Enemy Redefines the Music Business


From The Wonder TwinZ:

PUBLIC ENEMY
REDEFINES THE MUSIC BUSINESS... AGAIN !!

"It starts with the fans first, then the artists create from there."
- Chuck D.


Become a Believer in Public Enemy’s next record here www.SellABand.com/PublicEnemy .

Iconic hip hop group Public Enemy led a new revolution in the music business when it announced a partnership with SellaBand.com on October 6th to finance the recording of their next album through "fan funding". Now only two weeks after making that announcement, Public Enemy has raised over $50,000 from over 700 fans in 50 countries. Public Enemy is the first established act to sign up with SellaBand, which has found great success with independent artists since its European launch in 2006.

Public Enemy is aiming to raise $250,000 in increments of $25.00. Fans will not only receive an exclusive, numbered copy of the album but will also share in the revenues from this upcoming recording.

“SellaBand's financial engine model goes about restructuring the music business in reverse,” says PE frontman Chuck D. “It starts with fans first, then the artists create from there. The music business is built on searching for fans and this is a brand new way for acts to coming to create a new album with fans first, already on board.”

The $250,000 will be used to:

    * A: fund the complete recording costs and expenses for its next album and
    * B: Fund a strategic marketing plan for the worldwide release of the SellaBand album in 2010.

Want to be a part of history and be a part of changing the music industry forever? Become a Believer in Public Enemy’s next record here www.sellaband.com/publicenemy .

Think you can make records just as hot or hotter than Public Enemy? Sign up as an Artist and state your case to over 60,000 music investors here www.sellaband.com .

New Videos - Sha Stimuli, Cormega, Dorrough, El Da Sensei


It's that time again for some new hip-hop videos from the RapReviews newsfeed! This week among others we're starting with Sha Stimuli featuring Freeway - "Move Back."

Next up is Benz with "It's a Drought."

We've also got Triple C's featuring Young Jeezy with "Erryday."

Don't be afraid to let Cormega take you on a "Journey."

Here's a new Dorrough music video for "Wired to the T."

Last but not least is El Da Sensei with a trailer for his new "Money" EP. Thanks for checking out the videos on the RR newsfeed!

Guru Announces European Tour Dates From 8.0 Tour


From Yo! PR:

Guru Announces European Tour Dates From 8.0 Tour

On the heels of their critically acclaimed, internationally successful album "Guru 8.0 Lost & Found", the legendary Guru, founder of GangStarr and Jazzmatazz, hit producer Solar and the 7 Grand family are announcing the second leg of an eagerly awaited European tour.

The Guru 8.0 Tour 2009 concerts will be the must see shows for every Hip-Hop fan as Guru and Solar hit the stage to perform hits from their latest project "Guru 8.0 Lost & Found". Both will be touring Europe from November 10 till November 17 to bring Hip-Hop fans overseas the realest Live Hip-Hop on the planet!

"Hip-Hop fans in Europe appreciate REAL Hip-Hop and that's why touring overseas is a great joy for us! We are excited to return to Germany after our 2009 Summer tour," says legendary rapper Guru.

The European tour will see Guru and Solar perform in Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, Spain and Slovenia. They will be supported by DJ heavyweight Doo Wop.

Tour Dates:

Nov. 3 La Bellevilloise - Paris, France
Nov. 4 L’affranchi - Marseilles, France
Nov. 6 Kafe Antzokia - Bilbao, Spain
Nov. 7 Charada - Madrid, Spain
Nov. 8 Bikini - Barcelona,  Spain           
Nov. 10  Mannheim, Germany - Enjoy Jazz Festival
Nov. 11  Innsbruck, Austria - Max Events
Nov. 12  Ljubljana, Slovenia - Kino Siska
Nov. 13  Zurich, Switzerland - Moods
Nov. 14  Dortmund, Germany - Domicil
Nov. 16  Hannover, Germany - Jazz Club
Nov. 17  Rostock, Germany - Zwischenbau

Guru and Solar's current release "Guru 8.0 Lost & Found" has been highly anticipated and gives a whole new definition for real Hip Hop in 2009. The album is Hip-Hop in its purest form and it received rave reviews worldwide. Spearheaded by the hit single "Lost and Found", the project is a "5 Star" album and a must have for the true Hip-Hop heads.

"Guru 8.0 Lost & Found" is available now on iTunes, Amazon and a retail store near you.

AUDIO: Guru - Lost and Found
Clean: www.zshare.net/audio/66447953030d5ef6 .
Dirty: www.zshare.net/audio/6644865740e35d5c .
Intrumental: www.zshare.net/audio/6644884364743540 .

VIDEO: Guru - Lost and Found
YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=izGIG5FujNg .
WorldStarHipHop: www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshh5DU7Y05gCIzTp6ia .

Neosonic Productions - Ink Is My Drink Deluxe Edition


More big news from K-Murdock:

Ink Is My Drink - Deluxe Edition 

Now available through all major digital music retailers is the repackaged DELUXE EDITION of our 2006 album, "Ink is My Drink".  This version features the original 12 songs and their respective instrumentals along with some cool new artwork!  I posted up the "IIMD" instros myself earlier this year for FREE, and i'm sure there are still circulating links to them out there on the internet, but for those who really wanna support indie artist like us, this is your best option as we are doing this without the help of Rawkus!  Stay tuned for the deluxe editions of both "The Scenic Route" and "A Mind on a Ship Through Time" as well.

K

PURCHASE LINKS:




--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Swollen Members Leak 'Cross Fire' Featuring Talib Kweli


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release
 
Swollen Members Leak 'Cross Fire' Featuring Talib Kweli, Krondon, Phil Da Agony & Tre Nyce

***
 
Swollen Members have leaked the track “Cross Fire,” featuring Talib Kweli, Krondon, Phil Da Agony and Tre Nyce, online at http://www.zshare.net/download/6754234555b1c801/ . The track appears on Swollen Members’ new album, “Armed To The Teeth”, which features guest appearances by Tech N9ne, Everlast and Slaine from La Coka Nostra, Glasses Malone, and Talib Kweli.
 
"When we found out there was a chance we could get Talib Kweli on a track we jumped at the opportunity," commented Prevail. "We linked up with Talib, as well as Krondon and Phil The Agony, when we recorded the track. We have the highest respect for all three of those artists and I think the track is a classic example of the lost art of the posse cut."
 
SWOLLEN MEMBERS TOUR DATES:
Oct 27 - Flagstaff, AZ @ Orpheum Theatre
Oct 30 - Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
Oct 31 - Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
Nov 02 - Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Nov 03 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Nov 04 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Nov 05 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Nov 06 - Bend, OR @ Domino Room
Nov 07 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theater
Nov 08 - Seattle, WA @ Neumo's
Nov 09 – Nanaimo, BC@ Queens
Nov 10 – Victoria, BC @ Elements
Nov 11 – Whistler, BC@ Moe Joe’s
Nov 12 – Vancouver, BC@ The Red Room on Richards
Nov 13 – Kamloops, BC@ Chrome City Night Club
Nov 14 – Lethbridge, ALTA@ Blarney Stone
Nov 17 – Calgary, ALTA@ Back Alley
Nov 18 – Edmonton, ALTA@ U of Alberta
Nov 19 - Sylvan Lake, ALTA @ Chef Francisco
Nov 21 – Winnipeg, MB@ Pyramid
Nov 23 – Fort Frances, ONT@ Townshend Theatre
Nov 24 – Thunder Bay, ONT@ The Roxy
Nov 25 – Sault Ste Marie, ONT@ Canadian Nightclub
Nov 26 – Cobalt, ONT@ Cobalt Classic Theatre
Nov 28 – Ottawa, ONT @ Ritual Nightclub
Dec 02 – Toronto. ONT @ Lee’s Palace
Dec 03 – Waterloo, ONT @ Starlight
Dec 04 – St Catherines, ONT@ Mikado
 
###

* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #27!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "Do you know how many times I've referred to one of my podcasts as a classic? Zero, that's how many times. OK, so I didn't really count, but I'm assuming it's either zero, or a really really low number. It's not that I don't think each and every one of my podcasts are great, it's just that after five years of radio and now a year of doing podcasts I know the word classic should be reserved solely for the nights when absolutely every aspect of the show is "on." That being said, from the music to the mic breaks, this episode of The Adam B Experience is truly a classic. Enjoy! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check out ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #53 - Brand New For You!


You won't hear a lot of talking from me on Hip-Hop Shop 53 this week, but that's because I'm letting the new songs and artists we debut do it for me! You'll hear from TYPE 4, Diamond District, Top Cat and Postal among others, plus we close the show with Saigon paying tribute to his mom (R.I.P.) If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so distribute the show and tell your friends to check us out every week at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* TYPE 4 - Written in Red
* Diamond District - Hologram
* Top Cat f/ 4ize, Senor Kaos - You Can Find Me on Twitter (Remix)
* Brown Bag AllStars - What It's All About
* Armageddon (formerly of Terror Squad) - It's Over
* Postal - Royal Rumble
* Saigon - My Mommy


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive