Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday November 28, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dettwork SouthEast] Speakin' with a SouthEast twang.

Blak Twang review

Latest News Headlines
We Are Travis Porter - Episode 1


From Street Executives:

We Are Travis Porter - Episode 1

Green Tea - Dew Drops in the Garden x Ninja Scroll


From Plug Label:

Green Tea - Dew Drops in the Garden x Ninja Scroll

R.I.P. Teddy Pendergrass


Late tonight we received word that Teddy Pendergrass had passed away, a story that's now been confirmed by multiple sources including The Globe and Mail in Canada. The soulful singer first found fame as a member of Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes, then went on to a solo career in the 1970's that saw him release one platinum album after another of subtle yet powerful R&B. A tragic car accident in 1982 left Teddy partially paralyzed, yet he continued to sing and record and even performed at Live-Aid in 1985 from a wheelchair. In the decades that followed his Teddy Pendergrass Alliance advocated for equality and equal opportunity for all disabled people, showing that Mr. Pendergrass could inspire not just with his voice but through deed and action. And now another of the greatest singers of the last 50 years is gone far too soon. R.I.P. Teddy Pendergrass, you will be missed. Our condolences to your family, your friends and your many fans around the world - including me.
Video - Donny Goines, Bobby, Esso and Malik 16 Freestylin


From Melanie Cornish:

Video - Donny Goines, Bobby, Esso and Malik 16 Freestylin

Bobby, Donny Goines, Esso and Malik 16 Freestyle Part 1 from Melanie Cornish on Vimeo.

Bobby, Donny Goines, Esso and Malik 16 Part 2 from Melanie Cornish on Vimeo.

Bisco Smith - "Broadcast Live" (Remix of "Wear You Out")


From Audible Treats:

Bisco Smith - "Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out")      01.13.2010
Bisco Brings Own Touch To Classic TVOTR Track


The Song:

"Don't know what you need or where its gonna lead, but right here I got my moment to breathe."

As a preemptive strike before next week's release of his new album, The Broadcast, Bisco Smith is releasing a new track. This is no ordinary leaked track however; it's special for a couple of reasons. It's the first time Bisco has produced a song and released it to the world, and second, it's a remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out" with new lyrics. For Bisco, the remix serves as a summation of the themes that he touches on in The Broadcast. "I'm a big fan of the group, but it was the lyrics of "Wear You Out" that inspired me to begin chopping up and reimagining the TVOTR track. The line 'I'm forgetting to breath' reminded me how creating music is my time to breathe after being caught in the day to day grind of New York City." Apparently Bisco has been doing a lot of "breathing" as the run up to the release of his sophomore full length album has been filled with immense creativity in the form of numerous remixes, videos, and multi-media elements (see links below). "Broadcast Live" is the perfect sonic appetizer for the January 19th release of The Broadcast.

Bisco Smith's second full-length album The Broadcast will be available January 19, 2010.

"Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out") (single artwork above): http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Broadcast_Live-TV_On_The_Radio_Remix.mp3 .
The Broadcast teaser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQXp5XGmAh8 .

The Background:

Bisco Smith moved to NYC 10 plus years ago from Connecticut and quickly made a name for himself DJ'ing at clubs, distributing mixtapes, performing at open mics, and in graffiti circles. His debut release, The Basics EP (2006), gained the favorable attention of music critics and his subsequent release, The Stay Up Project mixtape (2007) was downloaded over 5,000 times. Bisco's penchant for capturing our chaotic reality with his narratives, images, and collaborations has earned him a reputation as one of the most honest and creative artists of today. Going beyond music, Bisco Smith is also an accomplished graphic artist. He's done cover art, designed promotional materials and spearheaded art direction for artists such as Aesop Rock, The Perceptionists, C-Rayz-Walz, Murs, El-P, and others. His art has been featured in several magazines and art house coffee table books and in galleries, such as Danny Simmon's Rush Arts Gallery. 2008 was a big year for Bisco. He released the critically acclaimed album When Electric Night Falls (Embedded Music), toured the US, and performed at CMJ, SXSW, Scribble Jam, and NXNE. Since the start of 2009, Bisco has already released a multimedia project entitled The Strange Love Project, and is now preparing for the release of The Broadcast. It is clear that he shows no sign of slowing down. He spends his time designing everything from record covers to websites, painting walls, participating in art gallery shows, and mentoring the city’s youth with art and music, all the while transmitting top quality music to the world. Prepare to tune into Bisco Smith's forthcoming LP, The Broadcast, available January 19, 2010.
Streams:

"Broadcast Live" (Remix of TV On The Radio's "Wear You Out"): http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Broadcast_Live-TV_On_The_Radio_Remix.mp3 .

"Railroads" Turnbull Green Remix: http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Railroads_Remix.mp3 .

The Broadcast teaser video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQXp5XGmAh8 .

Neosonic Productions - USB Cards vs. CDs


From K-Murdock:

I have gotten lots of mixed feedback every since i announced last week that my next solo project, "Piano-rama", was being released on USB cards for its physical format.  I completely understand the fact that people still collect CDs (hell, im one of them), BUT, its a matter of beng forward-thinking and really accepting what will soon be the future physical format for ALL music!  I even recently pleaded with the head of Tasteful Licks Records about possibly doing a limited run of CDs & Vinyl, and while those options haven't been ruled out yet, i think its important to reiterate the fact that USB cards offer so much more by way of bonus content than CDs.  Aside from the actual album, you'll also be getting: high-res pics for wallpapers as well as videos that give u an insider look into the creation of the album without having to go to YouTube for it... PLUS, if u really want it on a CD, simply burn the songs to one!  Here are some pics of how the USB cards for the album will look, hopefully these get you all hyped like they do me!

1.26.2010
K






--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

Dan-e-o Live in Concert Tonight @ Ram in the Rye


From Dan-e-o:

Toronto! Your bro Dan-e-o is back doing what he does best...rockin’ the
mic live!

Tonight, Dan-e-o takes to the stage to headline a FREE night of live
hip-hop at Ryerson University’s Ram In The Rye!

Located at 55 Gould Street in Downtown Toronto, this FREE show will also
feature performances by Crateology and Notes To Self. Show starts at 9pm
sharp.

Performing both classic cuts and bangin' joints from the new “Dilla Pickles”
mixtape, Dan-e-o’s live show is a can’t-miss!


Download "Dilla Pickles" FREE right HERE:
http://www.dan-e-o.com/DillaPickles.zip

Check out its first video, "Break It Down":
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlQWyTxt_90

AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECK DAN-E-O OUT HERE...
WEBSITE: http://www.dan-e-o.com
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/daneo10
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-e-o/177676081413
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/daneo10
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: http://www.youtube.com/donfaraldo
IMEEM: http://www.imeem.com/dan-e-o
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/daneo
THA O SHOW: http://www.thaoshow.com
ONLINE STORE: http://www.maplemusic.com/dept.asp?dept_id=2316

Wyclef Jean's Statement on the 7.0 Haiti Earthquake


Wyclef Jean       Statement By WYCLEF JEAN On Haiti Earthquake
(Wednesday, January 13, 2010 - Sunshine, Sachs & Associates)

NEW YORK - The following is a statement by Wyclef Jean on yesterday's magnitude 7.0 earthquake outside Port-au-Prince, Haiti:

"Haiti today faced a natural disaster of unprecedented proportion, an earthquake unlike anything the country has ever experienced.

The magnitude 7.0 earthquake - and several very strong aftershocks - struck only 10 miles from Port-au-Prince.

I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this tragedy worse. The over 2 million people in Port-au-Prince tonight face catastrophe alone. We must act now.

President Obama has already said that the U.S. stands 'ready to assist' the Haitian people. The U.S. Military is the only group trained and prepared to offer that assistance immediately. They must do so as soon as possible. The international community must also rise to the occasion and help the Haitian people in every way possible."

Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text "Yele" to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit www.Yele.org and click on DONATE.

Geddy a/k/a Armageddon's "It's Over" Music Video


You heard it on Hip-Hop Shop now watch the video and enjoy!

New Blueprint Album in February


From Blueprint:

A couple years back I released a free ep called Blueprint vs Funkadelic. It was something I did for fun in the studio and to kind of pay tribute to a band who I had recently rediscovered thru the wonders of vinyl. A lot of artists and producers do “mashups”, where they take existing vocals and put them over something else, but I try to do this series of record differently, by writing original material and not recycling rhymes. If you haven’t checked out Blueprint vs Funkadelic before please check it out and get ready for the next installment.

I’ve decided to do this again, but using music from The Who. Blueprint Who will be released sometime in February. The promo version will be free to download, and the delux version will come with a free poster, sticker, as well as the instrumentals. Stay tuned for more specific details.

Thanks for the support!

* http://www.printmatic.net *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of November 25th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TWELVE new items for you! Check out Blak Twang's "Dettwork SouthEast" (our featured review), a Bill Cosby editorial, Jack Jetson's "The Adventures of Johnny Strange," Jister & The Lion Ranger's "Absurdism," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #301, Jesal Padania's UK Hip Hop Month 2014 outro, Professor Green's "Growing Up In Public," Rashenal's "Life Learner," Rick Ross' "Hood Billionaire," Tinie Tempah's "Demonstration," Too Many T's "Running Wild EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 18, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cool C's incarceration update. RapReviews.com also recommends AMP w/ Paul O'Brien from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive