Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday October 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Neverlove] Juno what I'm sayin'?

Buck 65 Review

Latest News Headlines
I Will Not Listen to Your MP3s


There is really no nice way to say this, so I’m just going to be blunt about it – I will not listen to your MP3s. There are a myriad of reasons for this; some stem from the way things work in the Hip-Hop world, some stem from personal preference, and some stem from my respect for artistry. I’ve been asked hundreds of times about my non-acceptance of MP3s and every time I respond - “I’ll write a blog about it eventually.” Welcome to eventually. These are the reasons why I delete almost every MP3 sent to me.

Read the full story at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/04/i-will-not-listen-to-your-mp3s.html

Chester French / Clinton Sparks Mixtape - Download April 6


From Giant Step:

To promote their upcoming full-length album Love The Future, Chester French has teamed up with mixtape DJ Clinton Sparks to collaborate on a star-studded mixtape called Get Familiar with Chester French: Jacques Jams Vol. 1, Endurance.  The group has acquired a growing celebrity buzz since Love The Future was recorded, so the new Jacques Jams raises the bar, with guest artists like Diddy, Jermaine Dupri, Pharrell, Janelle Monáe, Bun B, Talib Kweli, The Clipse, Cassie, Solange, and more.


Clinton Sparks & The New Music Cartel Present... Get Familiar with Chester French: Jacques Jams Vol. 1, Endurance will be available for free download April 6th at www.chesterfrench.com/mixtape, www.clintonsparks.com and www.newmusiccartel.com. Also log onto these sites to see behind the scenes footage of studio sessions, photos, the band's performance with Paris Hilton & Clinton Sparks and the mixtape's cover shoot at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.


Check out this video of Chester French on E! (Embed code & full Press Release below)

 




Get Familiar with Chester French- Jacques Jams Vol. 1: Endurance


Chester French & Clinton Sparks prepare the release of a musical masterpiece full of endurance with assistance from Diddy, Pharrell, Jermaine Dupri and more at www.chesterfrench.com/mixtape.


On April 21st Chester French will release their debut album Love The Future (Star Trak/Interscope Records), and in preparation for that event they've decided to treat their current and future supporters to a FREE ALBUM of brand new exclusive records that will tell the Chester French story and leave no doubt that the world must GET FAMILIAR with the greatest new group of 2009.


For the past two months Chester French has been working with Clinton Sparks, one of the world's hottest DJ's/producers, on a full-length mixtape called: Jacques Jams, Vol. 1: Endurance. With nothing but a handful of instruments and some weightlifting equipment, D.A. and Max of Chester French holed up in the woods of Western Massachusetts and created a collection of original tracks, all written, arranged, produced, and engineered by the duo.


Unlike their upcoming album, which includes no guest artists, Jacques James, Vol. 1: Endurance features collaborations with an unprecedented roster of eclectic artists, including Diddy, Jermaine Dupri, Pharrell, Janelle Monáe, Bun B, Talib Kweli, The Clipse, Cassie, Solange, and more. Together, Chester French, Clinton Sparks, and this galaxy of superstars will paint an epic picture of Endurance and Normalcy available for download at www.chesterfrench.com/mixtape. By the end, you will truly understand that Chester French and Clinton Sparks are just three totally normal guys doing totally normal things.


Jacques Jams, Vol. 1: Endurance is unlike a traditional mix-tape wherein a DJ chops up a bunch of new records and throws them on a CD. Clinton Sparks once again has taken mixtapes to a new level complete with skits and interludes that humorously get you familiar with Chester French's story, from Max and D.A.'s freshman year at Harvard to their signing with Star Trak/Interscope records after hip-hop heavyweights like Kanye West competed to sign them in one of the biggest bidding wars in music industry history.


So don't miss out on this exciting and amazing FREE ALBUM available April 6th from three totally normal guys that do totally normal things, available at www.chesterfrench.com/mixtape, www.clintonsparks.com and www.newmusiccartel.com. Also log onto these sites to see behind the scenes footage of studio sessions, photos, the band's performance with Paris Hilton & Clinton Sparks and the mixtape's cover shoot at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

 

New Shyne Mixtape From DJ Furious Styles


From Melanie J:

DJ Furious Styles preps for Shyne release with his own
Delivers 25 to Life plus 9 for Free Download


Having served almost nine years behind bars rapper Jamal 'Shyne' Barrow is set to return to the real world this summer. To celebrate the release of the former Bad Boy, DJ Furious Styles has concocted one of his exclusive mixtapes to bring Shyne back to the forefront of our memories allowing us to reacquaint ourselves with the Brooklyn adoptee yet again.

Laced with tracks from his previous projects released before and during his highly publicized incarceration, 25 to Life Plus 9 is a mixtape not to be slept on as we head into the second quarter. Like anything Furious Styles attaches his name to, the results are always favorable to both the artist and the DJ and this project is no different.

Interwoven with interviews of him speaking on that notorious night back in December of 1999 and all that came along during and after the trial which saw him facing a possible life sentence, 25 to Life plus 9 proves that this entertainer needs to be back where he can be seen and heard.

"Shyne is a MC that lives by a code that is seldom followed by any individual.  It is monumental to hear Shyne's point view on his court case, the shooting and the time that he is serving." - DJ Furious Styles

TO DOWNLOAD 25 to LIFE PLUS 9 PLEASE CLICK ON THE FOLLOWING LINKS

* http://www.sendspace.com/file/xhcdt5 *
* http://rapidshare.com/files/215390986/25_to_Life_Plus_9.zip *

Braille Update - Back Home With Stories to Tell


Hey world, this is Bryan "Braille" with a new update.

First of all, I've been home from the road for a week.  When my wife and daughter picked me up at the airport my daughter was in awe of me.  haha.  She stayed up till midnight the first couple nights and just wanted to play.  It was a blessing for us both.  Gabriella (my daughter) is only 2 years and 4 months old.  She is already singing songs with me - which is amazing because she was diagnosed with mild brain damage at birth.  For the first 6 months her arms were stuck behind her back and she didn't start making noise until 7 or 8 months.  After much prayer and physical therapy she was healed and it blows me away how smart she is.  I was away from my family for 3 weeks but the fruit (the results) of this tour were worth it.  God's timing has been so amazing for us.  My wife is a stay at home mom - so typically the idea of me leaving for 3 weeks wouldn't be very fresh.  But God has prepared us for this time and also provided things in our life that makes this season less intimidating.  Our best friends live next door, we have a great church, we live close to both our families and all those things together helped make this tour possible.

In total - me and S1 did 29 shows in 27 days.  There are so many people to thank and I've done my best to thank everyone in person.  We only stayed in hotels 3 or 4 nights the whole tour.  Every other night someone was opening up their home to us.  During the tour we gave out nearly 5,000 CDs!!!  We performed at prisons, cafes, community centers, churches, bars and shelters.  Needless to say, there are so many people to thank.  I want to take a moment to specifically recognize the promoters, the host homes and everyone who invested into us so that we could print these CDs.  We received so much positive feedback during this trip.  It was such a blessing to be able to give away this new album.  Nearly every show had over 100 people in attendance and we would hand out each CD one by one.  We saw the smiles, we got the hugs and we've heard stories from people who were touched at the shows.  Me and S1 both grew tremendously in our own spiritual lives.  We had no idea what it would be like touring together but we are like family now.  I'm really glad S1 was able to go with me and hopefully we can do some more runs (and some more music) together in the future.

At this point we only have enough CDs for one or two more events.  April is pretty mild but we will be performing at the Peanut Butter and Jelly Party in Nashville, TN.  This event is thrown by Syntax Records and is expected to have over 500 people in attendance during GMA week.  Starting in May the tour schedule picks back up so we plan on printing more CDs in two weeks so that we have them ready for all our shows.  We already have around $3,000 saved up but we are trying to double that number and press a full batch of 10,000 CDs at a cheaper price per unit.  If your interested in getting involved then just hit me up.  Honestly, no pressure at all.  This is something we are willing to put our own money into as well when we can.  By partnering with others who believe in the vision as well - we are able to accomplish more together.  But this is never intended to be a burden on anyone - this is meant to be a blessing for everyone involved.

A few more quick notes and then I'm going to close this out.

1. I want to encourage everyone to check out www.itsnineteen.com.  There is a video player with concert footage from the tour.  There are also some good interviews and reviews that you can check out, as well as a list of stores that carry the album for people who haven't been able to attend a show yet.

2. The "CloudNineteen" album is now on Itunes.  For those of you who already have the record, could you visit Itunes and leave your own personal review of the album?  I'd like to get 30 or 40 reviews at Itunes over the next week.  So yeah... head over there when you get time and drop your thoughts about the record.  The direct link is below, or you can just type "Braille and S1" in the search section of the Itunes stores.

http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=307954377&s=143441

3. I hit the jackpot and received a box full of records that I thought were extinct.  My management company was changing locations and found a stack of "Hiphop Music" 12 inches and "Box of Rhymes" 7 inches.  These have both been sold out for over two years, so I was pretty excited to get some copies back.  If your interested in getting a copy of either then just hit me up.  I only have about 20 of each.

4. New tour dates have been added to www.braillehiphop.com.  I will be in Texas and Nashville in April.  I will be in Oregon, Cali, Oklahoma, Kansas, Indiana, Chicago, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh in May.  If you'd like to set up a show in your area then we can make it happen.

Much love - hope everyone is doing well.  A lot of people have hit me up personally who have been going through some struggles.  I just wanted to let everyone reading this know that I am here for you.  If you ever need someone to talk with or pray with then feel free to hit me up.  One friend lost his step father and we've been talking.  Some guys have been struggling with lust and we've been talking.  It's not just all about the music for me so if you ever want to pick my brain about anything then I'm available.  Peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com
Italian Producer Fabio to Release "Passport" on Babygrande


From Babygrande Records:

ITALIAN PRODUCER FABIO MUSTA
SET TO RELEASE SOLO DEBUT
"PASSPORT" ON BABYGRANDE
RECORDS - MAY 12, 2009


For Immediate Release
March 31st, 2009

Babygrande Records is pleased to announce the signing of Italian producer
Fabio Musta, for his debut album "Passport," due out on May 12th, 2009.
Fabio is a veteran of the hip-hop scene in Italy, and has spent years
working with MCs from all over the globe. A truly international effort,
"Passport" features guest appearances from Jeru The Damaja,
Termanology, T3 of Slum Village, Guilty Simpson, Reks, Strong Arm Steady,
Mainflow & many many more. "With this release, Babygrande will have
released projects with artists and producers from France, Germany and
Italy. This project is a natural extension of the international partnerships that
Babygrande has been exploring over the last 5 years, and Fabio is a perfect
candidate for such a partnership," says Chuck Wilson, Babygrande's CEO.

With his finger on the pulse of the local Italian scene, and never more than a
few "clicks" away from the U.S. indie hip-hop scene, Fabio Musta is perfectly
positioned to push the borders and boundaries of hip-hop, with "Passport."

For More information, click here - http://www.ihiphop.com/fabiomusta .

Fabio Musta
"Passport"
In Stores May 12th, 2009
Babygrande Records

Big Pooh - Delightful Bars LP Comes in 4 Flavors


From Matt at MAC Media:

Big Pooh’s Delightful Bars Will Be Available In Four Different Versions And Features Guest Appearances By Jay Rock, Justus League and Production From Khrysis, Jake One, Illmind, 9th Wonder, Young RJ and OhNo

Big Pooh’s latest vehicle is a street-LP entitled, Delightful Bars, and there will be four different versions of Delightful Bars made accessible, including a special iTunes only version (referred to as the Candy Apple version), which was released on 3-24-09 and the North American retail version of Delightful Bars (referred to as the North American Pie Version) will be released on 5-5-09.

Tracklisting and credits for Big Pooh’s Delightful Bars:

North American Pie Version

1.) North American Pie Intro
2.) The Comeback (produced by Khrysis)
3.) Its A Go f/Torae (produced by Dae One)
4.) Nothing Less f/Ab Soul, Jay Rock & K Dot (produced by Young RJ)
5.) C.O.D. (produced by Mickey Free)
6.) Move f/ Darien Brockington (produced by Phonix)
7.) Something Like Stars f/ Big Treal (produced by Jake One)
8.) Step Up (produced by D.R.)
9.) Reality Check f/ Big Dho, D. Black & Mykestro (produced by Khrysis)
10.) Problems f/ Jozeemo (produced by Illmind)
11.) AMO A SU PAPI DE LA BARRA skit
12.) Roll Call f/  Jozeemo, Chaundon & Joe Scudda (produced by The Co-Op)
13.) The Life f/ Mushinah (produced by Khrysis)
14.) Rearview Mirror (produced by 9th Wonder)
15.) EMPANADA NORTE AMERICANA OUTRO

New Camp Lo Video "On Smash"/"89 of Crime"


From Christian Mariano:

NEW VIDEO
CAMP LO feat. STYLES P
"ON SMASH"/"89 OF CRIME"

prod. SMOKING APPLES / APPLE JUICE KID
dir. COURT DUNN for RESTLESS FILMS

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FHvE2DSul3c .

from STONE AND ROB: CAUGHT ON TAPE
AVAILABLE NOW
* http://tinyurl.com/camplo-stoneandrob *

* www.myspace.com/therealcamplo *
* www.twitter.com/camplo *
* www.camplo.net *

Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me" f/ Phonte & Dminor


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me" feat. Phonte & Dminor      03.31.2009
Kee & Zee Team Up With Phonte and Dminor For Latest Single From Ridin High


The Song:

In an effort to spread the message of uninfluenced and unconditional love, Keelay & Zaire bring us "Alright With Me," the second official single from their debut album, Ridin High. Kee & Zee's smoothed out keys and bouncy bass provide the perfect backdrop for Dminor to spread his wings and take off. A hip-hop/soul vocalist from Los Angeles, Derek "Dminor" Young started his recording career at the age of 7 and has since produced or been featured on projects with artists such as Othello, Supastition, Styles of Beyond, Lovespirals, Muneshine, Emilio "Raks One" Rojas, MF Grimm, Louis Logic, and many more. His soul-filled voice dominates the first two-thirds of the track, as he sings passionately of the feelings he has for his lady, and the lack of interest he has in hearing what anyone else has to say about it; he knows they dig each other and to him that's all that matters. The song concludes with a special cameo from Phonte of Little Brother. Phonte describes his relationship by using the phrase "punch-drunk love;" the type of love where you can't even think straight when you're in the presence of your significant other. Phonte plays on this phrase when he says, "...Punch-drunk love we stay liquored up / 151 proof shining through the sunroof, let your hair down, girl, I gotta give it up to you."

BONUS: Check this video of Keelay & Zaire live from SXSW: http://vimeo.com/3870697 .

The Prelude to Drive EP is now available to download for FREE at the freshly launched MyxMusicLabel.com.

The Background:

Keelay & Zaire are a bi-coastal team that operates with only one concrete rule; creating music with unlimited range. Complementing each other's styles with precision, Kee & Zee work as a sole production machine that spawns gritty classic hip-hop, soulful R&B, and any other medium that requires an exclusive sound from the team. With Keelay out west in San Francisco, and Zaire in the east, holding it down in Virginia, the two have almost unlimited resources from which to draw talent and inspiration. In their debut LP Ridin High, the pair's versatility takes center stage, backed up by a talented cast of emcees and singers including Phonte of Little Brother, Supastition, Blu, Cali Agents, Darien Brockington, Tash of Tha Liks, Saafir, Fortilive, The Park, Emilio Rojas, Surreal ,Slo-Mo, Mario Dones, The A.V.E., J.Fish, Jony Fraze, Whooligan, and Tiffany Paige. Keelay & Zaire's Ridin High will be released on March 10th by MYX Music Label.

About MYX Music:

MYX Music Label began in 2007 by industry veteran Karim Panni of the Boom Bap Project (Rhymesayers Entertainment). MYX Music Label is under the umbrella of MYX TV, which is the only music and lifestyle channel dedicated to the Asian American community. Distributed nationally, MYX TV showcases the hottest major label and independent content as well as dynamic original programming that fuses fashion, comedy, and culture. MYX Music Label integrates the newest technology while developing innovative digital distribution and promotion strategies to service their artists. The MYX Music Label was created for the sole purpose of using the MYX TV visual network platform to promote the finest independent hip-hop and urban music. MYX Music Label's ambitious release schedule for 2009 includes groundbreaking works from production duo Keelay & Zaire, Jern Eye, Fortilive (producer Illmind's hip-hop crew) and exclusive music from the best Asian MC's, DJ's and producers in the compilation 20 C Energizers. Also, adding to their versatility as a label, MYX Music Label DVD releases include The Nutshack, Built From Skratch, Str8 Laced and Slanted Comedy, which features today's top Asian American comedians. For more information on MYX Music Label, please visit http://www.myxmusiclabel.com .

Streams:

Keelay & Zaire - "Alright With Me"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Alright_With_Me.mp3 *

Keelay & Zaire - Live at SXSW
* http://vimeo.com/3870697 *

MYX Music Label and Hip Hop DX Present: The MYX Label Mixtape Mixed by DJ Mere of the Oakland Faders
* http://sharebee.com/cbf40c30 *

Keelay & Zaire - Behind The Scenes of the "Alright With Me" Video Shoot
* http://vimby.com/video/music/us/all/detail/9621 *

Keelay & Zaire - Ridin High sampler by DJ Mere
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Keelay_and_Zaire-Ridin_High_Sampler_by_Dj_Mere.mp3 *

Jill Scott's New Show - No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency


You may have heard our friend The Cancer talking about this on the latest edition of his K4D radio show. Now thanks to the Unsigned Man PR people we've got some more details and a clipping of an article from People Magazine!


From Unsigned Man:

Check out Jill Scott, star of the hot HBO series, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, being named one of TV's Breakout Stars in the new People Magazine!!

Here's a clip of the breakout show, the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vdee9507YVM .

Courtesy Unsigned Man 

Bubba Sparxxx & Greg Street New Compilation


From Koch Records:

BUBBA SPARXXX & GREG STREET IN CONJUNCTION WITH NEW SOUTH ENTERTAINMENT ARE PROUD TO PRESENT

THE NEW SOUTH -- A NEW COMPILATION ALBUM FEATURING SOME OF
THE HOTTEST NEW RAP TALENT FROM ACROSS THE U.S.

ALBUM ALSO FEATURES SUPERSTARS RAY J AND JIM JONES

THE NEW SOUTH IS SET TO BE RELEASED MAY 5TH, 2009


(New York, NY) — New South Entertainment in conjunction with E1 Music (formerly KOCH Records) is proud to announce the release of The New South, a Bubba Sparxxx/Greg Street compilation album, on May 5th, 2009. For the past 2 years, Bubba Sparxxx, one of the most forward thinking rappers to bless the game, has been scouring the U.S. for some of today’s hottest up-and-coming new rappers. His unique style and incredible ears will help make New South one of the freshest compilations in a long time. Bubba has also brought on some special reinforcement by partnering up with Greg Street, one of America’s most influential urban radio personalities.

Along with 7 tracks of his own, including the first single “Beatin’ Down Da Block,” The New South is set to represent hip hop from every major U.S. region, along with some other International surprises.

To hear “Beatin’ Down Da Block,” by Bubba Sparxxx featuring and produced by Dirt Reynolds, please click here:

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/bubbasparxxx/beatindowndablock.mov .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/wmedia/kochent/bubbasparxxx/beatindowndablock.wvx .

“She Got Me Like (Ah S***),” the Bubba Sparxxx track feat. Ray J, got 1.8 million online video views its first weekend online, and can be heard here: 

Download URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/download/kochent/bubbasparxxx/ahhshit.mp3 .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/bubbasparxxx/ahhshit_broadband_aud_stream.mov .

Highlights from the new compilation include bangers from J. Money, one of the hottest artists in the clubs in Atlanta (“First Name Last Name,” currently exploding at WHTA / WVEE), and Kenny Knox , the in demand street artist from St. Louis (“Git Ghetto,” which has been getting regular airplay on WHHL).

Additional tracks on The New South represent the ‘hoods all across the U.S, including the infectious track “Up To No Good” by hot new artist 6’6” 240 feat. Playboy, the underground Atlanta smash “Dump Dat,” by Tight, “Bo Fum” by Hustle Boy feat. Jim Jones, “Caramel Sunday” by Dallas native Dorrough and “Against Da Wall,” a new track by Fatigue (who won B.E.T.’s Freestyle Friday competition).

Producers like the Super Daves, Chason Dreamz, Basement Beats, DJ Monstalung, 95, Aktual, Poli Paul and Shuko are also on board with crazy new beats. 

Sparxxx says, "I know everybody thinks I've just been out getting’ that show money for the past 2 years, and they are right about that. But I've been keepin’ my ear to the streets as I'm hittin’ these cities and connecting with who's hot. Everybody on board for this project has been on the grind for a minute. Me and Greg Street have been talkin about giving independent artists a chance to shine in a major way and this project accomplishes that. This is only the beginning- Street and Bubba gonna keep these comin’. If you got hot music, holla at us. We getting’ Volume 2 ready now."

Bubba first hit the scene in 2001 with his Gold certified album, Dark Days, Bright Nights (which yielded the monster hit “Ugly”), Sparxxx followed up with his genre-bending Deliverance, an album that took many fans by surprise and earned the rapper much critical acclaim for being well ahead of his time thanks to its ground-breaking sound. Bubba’s last album The Charm (released in 2006) spawned the massive hit “Ms. New Booty” which became one of the biggest Ringtones of all time and hit well over 12,000 spins per week at Radio and peaked at #1 at Rap Radio and #7 on Top 40 radio.

Together, Sparxxx’ 3 albums have collectively sold over 1.3 million albums in the U.S. alone. When Sparxxx is on the road, he is checking out what’s bumping in Georgia; what’s banging in the Lou; finding the flow from Florida. With his help, along with New South Entertainment, they have been gathering the hits from East to West!  More info will follow, please book mark www.myspace.com/bubbasparxxx for all the latest announcements.

Bubba is also hard at work on The Impolite Gentleman, his fourth full length album to be released later in 2009 through New South Entertainment/E1 Music.

For more information, go to: www.kochrecords.com or www.myspace.com/bubbasparxxx .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 30th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out All the King's Men's "All the King's Men," Adam Bernard' Adam B Experience #78, Buck 65's "Neverlove" (our featured review), an editorial for The War on Nostalgia, Zach Gase's Aahh Fest 2014 Recap, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #293, Madchild's "Switched On," Royal Flush's "Grand Capo," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 23, 2014 and Wara from the NBHD's "Kidnapped."

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like R.I.P. Praverb. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive