Wednesday August 24, 2016
Feature of the Week

[Rare Play Volume 1] P-P-P-P-P-P-Premier

ScHoolboy Q review

Latest News Headlines
PR: Macsen Apollo - "Matters of the Heart" (EP)

From Wanja Large:

PR: Macsen Apollo - "Matters of the Heart" (EP)

Artist: Macsen Apollo
Location: Oakland, California
Genre: Hip Hop, Rap
EP: "Matters of the Heart"


About the EP:

“Matters of the Heart” is about Life and Love, about Trust and Betrayal. It is about those kind of relationships we all have experienced at one point in life.

Starting with the Aagee (Compund 7) produced track “Around the world” Macsen Apollo takes you on a journey, an emotional one, so real that you can relate to each and every line: "We can go around the world girl, just for one night", a song about the admiration you can feel for a person when you first meet, whose company you want to enjoy for a short enough time to leave them with untarnished memories. Very different from "Like this", a love story, about a connection so strong that it can take you to the moon and back. Yet producer Daniel J kept the sounds light for this to be a joint you can vibe out to in the sunshine.

After the love story, just like in real life, come the "Problems" which is a song about heartache, the pain you feel when you loose a woman you love, about the mistakes that lead to this loss and how it makes you feel in the end. About realizing mistakes you made when it's too late, and how you don't know what you have until it's gone. And a lot of times problems lead to "Heartbreaks", which is Macsen Apollo's true story of betrayal and hurt. The lies a woman told which eventually had to come to light and led to a dramatic break-up. Arranged beautifully by Kev Choice and accompanied by cuts from DJ Quest.

The EP is closed by "City Girl", which is a tale of friendship and admiration, the fragile kind of love that feels like a crush, the one you want so bad but just can't be because of the circumstances you are in.

In the end Macsen Apollo proves to be a real Emcee, a real person who is not afraid to share his life, his feelings and his experiences with anyone who wants to listen. “All Rap, No Gimmicks”.

Video "Like This":

Video: iLLA - "BlakaBlaka"

From BF Blasts:

Video: iLLA - "BlakaBlaka"

MP3: The Groundbreakers - "Sleepless"

From Wandering Worx Music:

MP3: The Groundbreakers - "Sleepless"

stream/download at .

This is a free download from Vancouver, Canada's only boom-bap band The GroundBreakers (Attikus, GBoXX, Backbone, Babie Paul The Breakcharmer, and DJ Leaf). This feel-good five-man hip hop band lays down velvety flows over this REL!G!ON produced single. The track is available through Wandering Worx Music.

Video: Big Hud - "For All Y'all" (KIXPO 2011)

From Big Hud:

Video: Big Hud - "For All Y'all" (KIXPO 2011)

MP3: Trek Life "What It Is" (Apollo Brown RMX)

From Mello Music Group:

MP3: Trek Life "What It Is" (Apollo Brown RMX)

There's palm trees, gangbangin, and the best smoke, but there's so much more to the West Coast – Cali's elite emcee Trek Life opens a new realm in Golden State Hiphop.
Today the first single, What It Is (Apollo Brown Remix), was released from his upcoming project Wouldn't Change Nothing. Detroit producer Apollo Brown  approached the track by trying to craft an entirely new sound from the Oddisee original in an effort to compliment Trek's agressive flow.  Trek Life commented after hearing the finished track: "What It Is is one of the rawest tracks I ever recorded, it's crazy that Apollo made it even MORE RAW!"
The upcoming album is a remix project that gives new producers a take on last summer's Oddisee collaboration "Everything Changed Nothing".  The new project contains production from Apollo Brown, J Bizness, ST/MiC, MarvWon, Has-Lo, Captain, Slimkat78, Duke Westlake, A3, Bombay, and of course long time friend and collaborator Oddisee.  Look for the new album at itunes next Tuesday July 12th!  

Enjoy & Feel Free To Share!
Free Download (Mp3): Trek Life "What It Is" (Apollo Brown Remix): .

MP3: Project Pat - "Flashin"

From Dove @ Tygereye:

MP3: Project Pat - "Flashin"


Project Pat "Flashin'" 
produced by DJ Paul and Juicy J 
for Hypnotize Minds

Pete Marriott (feat. Full Time Grind) - "The Champ Is Here"

From Lucas @ Coalmine:

MP3: Pete Marriott (feat. Full Time Grind) - "The Champ Is Here"

Pete Marriot featuring Full Time Grind - 'The Champ Is Here' (Digi 12") by Diamond Music Group

"The Champ Is Here [Pete's Golden Age Remix]":
Bandcamp: .

The Champ Is Here (Complete Digi 12")
iTunes: .

MP3: Tony Yayo f/ Problemz, Styles P - "Dead Rappers"

From J-Ronin:

MP3: Tony Yayo f/ Problemz, Styles P - "Dead Rappers"

* *

BEAT BUTCHA IS A PRODUCER FROM THE UK AND PART OF THE ALL ELEMENTS CREW   - His instrumental Cd - "Raw and Uncut" is out now

After years of establishing himself as one of leading producers in the UK hip hop scene, Beat Butcha has been working hard on solidifying his name in the US. Via a wide range of work producing for Sean Price, Tony Yayo, Danny Brown, Havoc of Mobb Deep, Mac Miller, Canibus, Souljah Boy, and many more.
'Raw and Uncut' is the first in a series of instrumental compilations, containing 20 fresh previously unreleased instrumentals versions to tracks he produced for the likes of Tony Yayo, Havoc (of Mobb Deep), Sean Price, Agallah, Jaz O,  Lil Eto, Sav Killz and plenty more.
The release is available from iTunes, Amazon, Bandcamp and relevant digital retailers, physical CDs are also available from selected retailers.

MP3: Cali Swag District - "Still Ain't No Fun" (Snoop Remake)

From J Melo:

MP3: Cali Swag District - "Still Ain't No Fun" (Snoop Remake)

319 Music Group (home to Cali Swag District and more) is prepping for the release of there label compilation album, "Cali Swag District Presents: 319" coming soon. Here goes the first single off the record by Cali Swag District, TY Dolla$ign & Smitty Boy, "Still Ain't No Fun", a remake of the classic west coast record by Snoop Dogg, Tha Dogg Pound & Nate Dogg.

Artists: Cali Swag District, TY Dolla$ign & Smitty Boy
Song: Still Ain't No Fun
Download link: .
Album: Cali Swag District Presents: 319

Video: Random, Mr. Miranda & More - Writers Guild Preview

From Random a/k/a Mega Ran:

Video: Random, Mr. Miranda & More - Writers Guild Preview

Writers Guild Preview Trailer from Random aka MegaRan.

The Writers Guild is a new collective consisting of MC Pennywise, Mr. Miranda, RoQy TyRaiD, Random (Mega Ran) and Roknowledge. The era of the Guild begins with a flurry of new music promised starting this today at

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to for the week of August 23rd, 2016!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. This week we've got EIGHT ITEMS for you to enjoy: DJ Premier's "Rare Play Volume 1" (our featured review), an editorial on The Top Ten De La Soul Videos, Funky DL's "The Jazz Lounge," J57's "The Analog Tape 3," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #389, results from "Who Sampled It Better?" #1, Tone Atlas' "Hors D'oeuvres EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 16, 2016!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment. also recommends Over the Top Radio #379 from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting!!

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive