Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Free Golden Gate Park Show 8/30 w/ Hieroglyphics, Blackalicious & More


From Lucy at Elemental Consulting:

Niamaj is performing this weekend at Bang the Drum, celebrating the 25th Anniversary  of the world’s longest-running hip-hop show: The Drum on KZSU Stanford

Kevvy Kev & The Drum Posse present:
Bang the Drum
August 30th, 2009 1-5pm
Peacock Meadow in Golden Gate Park
Free!!! All Ages!

Naughty by Nature, Tash (The Alkoholics), Speech (Arrested Development), Hieroglyphics, Blackalicious, Q-Bert, Zumbi, Kung Fu Vampire, Motion Man, The Rec League, Jihad From Third Sight, The Bayliens, Davey D, Mark Spitz, D-Sharp, Prohoezack, Niamaj, DJ I-Cue, Subverse, D.U.S.T.,  Sellassie, Radioactive. Hosted by Flossafee

Q-Tip Celebrates Michael Jackson Tomorrow


From Lynnette at Red Music:

Q-Tip Presents: Long Live The King!

A Birthday Celebration for Michael Jackson


Saturday, August 29th

Nokia Theatre

1515 Broadway at 44th


***TOMORROW Q-TIP PAYS HOMAGE TO MICHAEL JACKSON

ON WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN HIS 51ST BIRTHDAY

WITH NEVER BEFORE HEARD REMIXES AND EXCLUSIVE VIDEO FOOTAGE***


“Michael Jackson was a huge influence on my music and was an inspiration to me and so many others.”

-Q-Tip


“KAMAAL THE ABSTRACT”

IN STORES

SEPTEMBER 15TH


* www.REDMusic.com *

* www.REDurbanmusic.com *

* www.twitter.com/HipHopMusicHead *

Neosonic Productions - Back in the Game Mixtape


From our good friend K-Murdock, who will be appearing on Hip-Hop Shop this Sunday at 9 PM EST, 8 Central - don't miss it!


Here's another dope mixtape that just got released featuring another unreleased Panacea track, "The Pack-Up Line". This time round, the good folks at Funkadelic Freestyles have teamed up with RappersiKnow.com to bring you the 2nd of 3 mixtapes to help kick off the fall. "Back In The Game" is mixed by DJ MAF and features 22 exclusive joints from some of progressive hip-hop's best! Some of you all may even recognize the beat on "The Pack-Up Line" from my album, "Mood Muzik Vol. 1 (Seasons)", but truth be told, this song was recorded around the same time we were making "Ink is My Drink" in 2k5. This track along w/ 8 others will be on our forthcoming "Corkscrew Gaps" EP! Special shouts to my man JBenOK & the homie FWMJ for including us in the mix...


--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
About Those Predicting Gloom & Doom...


Nowadays it seems every former millionaire associated with the music industry is outside their place of work ringing a bell and wearing a sandwich board that reads “The End Is Near.” Their claims are more than a little exaggerated. Just because artists and industry types can no longer enjoy all the excesses of life doesn’t mean the music industry is dying. I do believe an end is near, but rather than the end of the music industry, I think it’s the end of the opulent lifestyles that so many once associated with being in the music industry.

Read the full story at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/08/about-those-predicting-gloom-doom.html

Braille Blog Update


To my friends all over the world!!!

I've kind of fell off the wagon with newsletter updates and stuff.  I honestly had to take a month or two away from "heavy grinding" and focus on other things going on in my life.  The lease on our current residence is up at the end of October, we were considering moving back to Salem Oregon so that we could be close to family - but after further consideration we felt drawn in a different direction.  We actually started toying with the idea in 2008 but decided to stay settled in Oregon.  None the less, we feel like it's time for a move - and after exploring our options we feel peace about packing up and heading for San Marcos, CA.  Might seem like a random location but there are many draws.  First of all, the majority of my business partners and the people who have strongly supported my career all exist in the San Diego region.  (San Marcos is about 35 minutes north from Diego).  Syntax Records (www.syntaxrecords.com), Jedidiah Clothing (www.jedidiahusa.com), The Glue Network (www.thegluenetwork.com) and NOTW Clothing (www.notw.com) are all located near by.  I've also been fortunate to be booked for concerts in California 10 or 12 times this year and all the events have been successful.  Beyond that, we enjoy the weather and have a lot of friends that we've met over the years.  We are sad to move away from family, away from the local music scene in Portland (THANKS!!!!  you can trust I will be back) and our home church Solid Rock (www.ajesuschurch.org)!!!  Thankfully we already have a church home that we intend to plug into.  We have visited The Movement Church (www.themovement.org) 4 or 5 times in the last year and we've always felt a strong connection.  So yeah, a lot of excitement involved in the whole situation.  I will obviously be back in the Northwest very often, weather to visit family or rock shows.  The Northwest will always be a huge part of who I am (spent 90% of my life here so far).

I could pretty much end this newsletter on that note but I got a few more updates.

1. Support literacy among the blind - buy a Braille silver dollar coin today!!!!  I had the pleasure of attending the National Federation of the Blind Youth Slam.  I hosted the talent show and performed for over 200 kids.  I would feel really encouraged if 50 people or more bought coins within the next month just based on reading this newsletter.  Go to this link to learn more -
https://catalog.usmint.gov/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&identifier=4000

2. The Sojourn album "Sojournalism: The Summer Articles" is coming right up.  We had a slight manufacturing delay, just making sure the artwork printed correctly but we should have CDs on hand very soon.  The release date was intended to be September 1st but it will be pushed back one or two weeks max depending on the retailer.  We are very excited to share this Sojourn album with everyone - and once my family gets settled in Cali we plan to re-focus the label and start hitting it hard again.

3. My tour schedule in October is gonna be pretty official.  Check it out below

Oct. 1-3 (A3C Festival in Atlanta)
Oct. 4th (CrossOver Church in Tampa, FL)
Oct. 7th-9th (Poh-Hop Portland Hiphop Festival)
Oct 10th (Cali show - still pending)
Oct. 15th (Baltimore - still pending)
Oct. 16th (Pittsburgh, PA)
Oct. 17th (Toledo, OH)
Oct. 18th (Indianapolis)
Oct. 19th (St. Louis - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 20th (Springfield, MO - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 21st (Oklahoma City)
Oct. 23rd (Albuquerque, NM - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 24th (Phoenix, AZ - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 25th (San Diego)

after that, we will fly home - finishing packing up our stuff and prepare to drive the moving truck!!!!  There is also a Halloween show in Seattle and a special show in Portland in the works at the very end of the month.

4. I have a few more "Blessed Man" shirts left.  If your interested then hit me up.  I also printed some new "B-Boy Karate Kid" shirts that are available as well.  I will have pictures up at all my social networks - twitter.com/braillehiphop, facebook.com/braillehiphop and myspace.com/braillehiphop

5. We have officially given out 15,000 copies of the "CloudNineteen" CD.  Pretty amazing.  We are trying to raise money to print another 1,000 copies for our road trip in October.  If you'd like to help us with that then hit me up.  If you'd like to support us during this transition (move) then picking up a t-shirt or something would be helpful.  WORD UP

6. I have about 80% of my new album "Audibly Enhanced Dreams" written.  There is no official release date planned yet but I will be spending a week in Syntax Studios this September to finish most of the recordings.

THANKS to everyone for the support, encouragement and so forth.  We are entering a new season and the possibilities are wide open.  My ultimate goal is to just be faithful over the territory GOD places me in, to give him the glory and be a good steward over the resources he places in my possession.  MUCH LOVE.  peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com
The Art of Hip Hop This Weekend


Hello folks...the Art of Hip Hop Festival weekend kicks off tomorrow, so be sure to check the full schedule of events at and get out to enjoy the festivities.

We're holding a contest and giving away 5 tickets to this Saturday's Buckshot concert at Nietzsches. Details on entering are at the end of this email.

If you hadn't seen it, this past Sunday Buffalo News had a great feature on the Art of Hip Hop and its founder Edreys aka Billy Drease Williams. You can read both articles online at ARTIST CHAMPIONS LOCAL HIP HOP SCENE and ART OF HIP HOP AT A GLANCE.

That's about it for now, thanks for the continued support, we'll see you this weekend.

Peace and Blessings

DTR45 Staff and Artists

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k52/deepthinka/ahhposterweb.jpg

-------------------

******BUCKSHOT CONCERT CONTEST**********
It's quite easy to win. Saturday night's sound provider, DJ CUTLER, has a new mix out, entitled "ULTIMATE BREAKS AND BEATLES". It will be available starting this weekend and the cover artwork is below. Simply email mail@dtr45.com naming FIVE NON-BEATLES depicted in the collage.

 THE FINE PRINT:
#1 MUST BE 21+ TO ENTER
#2 ANSWERS MUST BE EMAILED TO MAIL@DTR45.COM TO BE CONSIDERED
#3 EVENT STAFF/ARTISTS/SPONSORS ARE INELIGBLE
#4 FIVE WINNERS WILL BE RANDOMLY SELECTEDFROM ALL CORRECT ENTRIES
#5 ALL EMAILS MUST BE RECIEVED BY SATURDAY AUGUST 29 AT 12AM.
#6 WINNERS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY EMAIL AND TICKETS WILL BE HELD AT THE DOOR THE NIGHT OF THE EVENT.

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k52/deepthinka/breaksandbeatles.jpg

One Be Lo Signs Album Deal With MYX Music Label


From Audible Treats:

One Be Lo Signs Album Deal With MYX Music Label + MP3     08.26.2009
Michigan Emcee Joins Bay Area Label, Prepares B.A.B.Y. For February 2010 Release


(August 26, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) Bay Area-based MYX Music Label is proud to announce the signing of One Be Lo for his newest album, B.A.B.Y. The album, set for a February 2010 release, includes features from Royce Da 5'9, Freeway, Zion I, Phonte, Jean Grae, and more.

The partnership with the Bay Area label is a new step for One Be Lo, and one the Pontiac, Michigan emcee looks forward to. One Be Lo says, "I'm excited to get MYX Music Label involved with this next album - it already feels more like a family than a business. I've recorded and toured with Karim in the past, so I know he understands the artist perspective. MYX is an up-and-coming label that understands how to market records in today's media." One Be Lo's new album, B.A.B.Y. (an acronym meaning Being A Black Youth), is not only autobiographical of the rapper as a youth in Pontiac Michigan, but focuses on the many experiences in school, amongst peers, family, the army, crime, and much more all across America, and is a multi-media project encompassing music, film, books, clothing, and toys.

For MYX Music Label head Karim Panni, signing One Be Lo is also an exciting development and a welcome addition as the label continues to assert itself as one of the premier, rising independent hip-hop labels. Panni says, "We're honored to be able to add One Be Lo to the MYX Music Label squad. B.A.B.Y. is a gigantic record, and Lo is making the most important music of his career. His grind and track record speaks for itself. We're really trying to build up a roster of people making great music - hip-hop that can stand the test of time. Music that makes a difference, and One Be Lo fits that mold."

One Be Lo first hit the hip-hop scene in the late '90s as OneManArmy, one half of the short-lived yet critically acclaimed duo Binary Star. Many regard Binary Star's second LP, Masters of the Universe, as an underground classic - the album sold over 30,000 units independently and can be found today on eBay for upwards of $350. In 2005, One Be Lo resurfaced on Fat Beats Records as a bona fide solo artist with S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M. The album moved over 22,000 copies, becoming one of the year's most successful independent hip-hop releases. In 2007, One Be Lo released his sophomore LP as a solo artist, titled R.E.B.I.R.T.H., with a host of big-name producers ranging from Jake One to Vitamin D. One Be Lo has shared the stage with hip-hop giants KRS-One, Rakim, and the Wu-Tang Clan, and has toured the nation with Brother Ali, Soul Position, and Zion I. In 2010, One Be Lo looks to continue an already successful independent career with his new album, B.A.B.Y., which will be released February 2010 via MYX Music Label.

Although not featured on B.A.B.Y., check out a new song from One Be Lo, "Pigs" featuring Mike Posner: http://media.audibletreats.com/One_Be_Lo-The_Pigs_feat_Mike_Posner.mp3 .

Also, MYX Music Label recording artist, Kam Moye (a.k.a. Supastition), and longtime producer DJ D.R. have been selected by Complex Magazine and Grey Goose Vodka as the North Carolina representative for their Rising Icons campaign. This is a huge opportunity and we truly need everyone’s support to bring this home. The winner gets a live performance on BET’s Rising Icons special. Complex Magazine and Grey Goose will be organizing a showcase for Kam Moye and D.R. in Charlotte next month providing the attendees with FREE Grey Goose vodka and much more.

All you have to do to support is signup for the site and vote for KAM MOYE and D.R. on the microsite. Please forward to anyone who supports good music or ReTweet the info on Twitter. Any support will be much appreciated. You may vote at http://www.Complex.com/GreyGoose. To vote, just go to the page and click on “VOTE FOR KAM MOYE” and “VOTE FOR D.R.”. It will ask you to enter your email address and additional info.

About MYX Music:

MYX Music Label was founded in 2007 by industry veteran Karim Panni of the Boom Bap Project (Rhymesayers Entertainment). MYX Music Label is under the umbrella of MYX TV, which is the only music and lifestyle channel dedicated to the Asian American community. Distributed nationally, MYX TV showcases the hottest major label and independent content as well as dynamic original programming that fuses fashion, comedy, and culture. MYX Music Label integrates the newest technology while developing innovative digital distribution and promotion strategies to service their artists. The MYX Music Label was created for the sole purpose of using the MYX TV visual network platform to promote the finest independent hip-hop and urban music. MYX Music Label's ambitious release schedule for 2009 includes groundbreaking works from production duo Keelay & Zaire, D.Black, Jern Eye, and Kam Moye aka Supastition. Also, adding to their versatility as a label, MYX Music Label DVD releases include The Nutshack, Built From Skratch, Str8 Laced and Slanted Comedy, which features today's top Asian American comedians For more information on MYX Music Label, please visit http://www.myxmusiclabel.com .

Streams:

"Pigs" feat. Mike Posner: http://media.audibletreats.com/One_Be_Lo-The_Pigs_feat_Mike_Posner.mp3 .
Twitter: http://twitter.com/OneBeLo .
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/One-Be-Lo/22788354664 .

Potluck and D12 Kick Off 'Dazed and Dirty’ Tour


From Kerosene Media:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Potluck and D12 Kick Off 'Dazed and Dirty’ Tour


The reunited D12 and Humboldt County hip-hop duo Potluck have kicked off the “Dazed and Dirty” Tour, which is scheduled to crisscross the country through the end of September. Underrated from Potluck has offered the following update from the road:

"The tour has been fantastic so far. The combination of Potluck and D12 fans is creating massive energy every night," says Underrated. "Because both groups have different styles of hip-hop and it's keeping the show fresh and drawing all different groups of fans to these shows. This tour offers a little something for anyone who is fan of hip-hop."

The reunited D-12, also known as the dirty dozen, is a collection some of the best Detroit-based rappers including Bizarre, Swift, Kon Artis, Kuniva and Eminem. D12 released a series of highly successful albums including their 2001 debut, "Devil's Night" and 2004's "D12 World", both of which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200. The tour is the first time the Detroit based group will hit the road since the death of founding member Proof.

Crowned the hip-hop royalty of Humboldt, CA, Potluck’s infectious brand of rhyme has been reigniting an otherwise extinguished hip-hop game. The group released a series of independent albums that are now considered underground classics, before joining forces with Suburban Noize Records and releasing their new album “Pipe Dreams”. Since then Potluck has soared to the upper echelon on the hip-hop underground touring and collaborating with everyone from E-40 and Tech N9ne to hip-hop legends like X-Clan and Jurassic 5.

D12 & POTLUCK "DAZED & DIRTY" TOUR:
Aug 21 - Lake Elsinore CA @ Trevi Entertainment Center
Aug 22 - Orangevale CA @ Boardwalk – CA
Aug 23 - Arcata CA @ Arcata Community Center
Aug 27 - Seattle WA @ El Corazon
Aug 28 - Bellingham WA @ Wild Buffalo
Aug 29 - Portland OR. @ Wonder Ballroom
Aug 31 - Salt Lake City UT @ Murray Theater
Sept 01 - Denver CO @ Cervante's Ballroom
Sept 02 - Lawrence KS @ Granada Theater Kansas
Sept 03 - Tulsa OK @ The Marquee
Sept 04 - Denton TX @ R. Bar
Sept 05 - Houston TX @ House of Blues
Sept 06 - New Orleans LA @ House of Blues
Sept 08 - Atlanta GA @ Apache Café
Sept 09 - Charlotte NC @ Amos' Southland
Sept 10 - Richmond, VA @ Canal Club
Sept 11 - Scranton PA @ Clarion Hotel
Sept 12 - Worcester MA @ The Palladium
Sept 13 - New Haven CT @ Toad's Place
Sept 15 - Baltimore, MD @ Sonar
Sept 16 - Cleveland, OH @ Peabodys
Sept 17 - West Dundee, IL @ Clearwater Theater
Sept 18 - Columbus, OH @ Skullys
Sep 19 - Indianapolis IN @ Music Mill
Sept 20 - Grand Rapids, MI @ The Intersection
Sept 22 - Davenport, IA @ Red Stone Room
Sept 23 - Maplewood, MN @ The Rock
Sept 24 - Milwaukee, WI @ Miramar Theatre
Sept 25 - East Lansing, MI @ Small Planet
Sept 26 - Detroit MI @ Eagle Theatre

###

* www.potluckmusic.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

CunninLynguists Give Away Free "Don't Leave" MP3


More free music! Nobody can turn that down right? Oh yeah, everybody gives away free music these days... but CunninLynguists are a step above and beyond "everybody" so you should still check this one out.

 

CunninLynguists - Don't Leave (When Winter Comes) ft. Slug of Atmosphere
Download the free MP3 here

C-Murder Gets 10 More Years Tacked On His Sentence


Unless he can get some phone time in the day room, we won't be hearing new raps from C-Murder any time soon. UDubNews reports that incarcerated rapper Corey Miller has received additional jail time for his role in a nightclub shooting just a week after getting a life sentence on murder charges. Miller was sentenced to ten more years on two unrelated attempted murder charges but will receive time served for his years of imprisonment while awaiting trial. Hold your head up C.

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive