Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday September 23, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Seen It All] His autobiography.

Jeezy Review

Latest News Headlines
Kirby D Waxes Poetic On Prostitutes


When you see an emcee on stage with a sly grin on his face rapping an ode to prostitution with a thumpingly danceable beat behind it you can’t help but take notice. I know I did. The emcee in question was Kirby Dominant and the California native had the crowd hooked with his song about his appreciation for those ladies that partake in the world’s oldest profession. After the show I immediately got in contact with Kirby D to find out more about his music, what inspired the prostitute song, and why you’re more likely to hear Aphex Twin coming out of his headphones than DJ Shadow.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/12/artist-of-week-kirby-dominant.html

FREE MUSIC FRIDAY: Black Friday Edition


SAY IT LOUD - I'M BLACK AND I'M PROUD!

Or at least stores are hoping to be in the black by the time the day is done. For those getting back after a long day of shopping or finishing up a relaxing day of staying home, here is some more free music for your enjoyment.

Arsonists - Created 1998 Mixtape: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=F00NUG9K

I know my underground heads remember these cats. Though they never quite panned out like everyone thought they would, the group had some solid albums. This free mixtape collects various unreleased tracks, singles, b-sides, etc.

Yah Yah - The Canibus Saliva Mixtape: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=8HLAKDX1

How quickly we can forget. Yah Yah was a member of The Outsidaz, the Jersey group who made big waves almost ten years back with an EP and Eminem appearance. The man is making a comeback in the game and this mixtape is here to give you a refresher.

Esham - Detroit Mayoral Campaign Mixtape: http://acidrap.com/

I reviewed this joint a few weeks back and it is a tight little EP. only 5 tracks, but it's free and entertaining. I don't have to tell Esham fans to cop this, but if you've been sleeping on the man now is the time to check him.

Dub MD presents Hip Hop Renatus: http://www.mediafire.com/?m1ntu2mnydm

Underground heads keep rejoicing as the man Dub MD put together a mixtape with some of the hottest up and coming emcees. Included in this mix are Skyzoo, Access Immortal, Supastition, Sha Stimuli and more.

Zion I - The Search and Seizure Mixtape: http://www.zionicrew.com/mixtape/

These Oakland rappers have been putting down for years and managed to walk the fine like between underground, gangsta, hyphy, and any other style thrown their way. Very dope crew and a free mixtape makes them even doper - check them out.

Murphy Lee - Murph or Die Mixtape: http://www.zshare.net/download/50586709d4de6a81/

Showing the mainstream some love now, Murphy Lee was always my favorite Lunatic and he is making a come back this year. His first single has hit the airwaves and this free election themed mixtape is a good re-introduction to Mr. What The Hook Gon' Be.

That's it for this week, but stay tuned next week as we keep trying to give you free music and help you in the recession. For those looking to spend a little dough on music the following sites are having Thanksgiving sales:

Sandboxautomatic.com

Mixunit.com

Rapbay.com

Amazon.com (Top 50 Albums of the year for $5 a piece in DRM-Free MP3 format!)

Skillz Blog On Kanye West


Blog courtesy of Koch Records.

Skillz Blog On Kanye West

Please feel free to post…

 

So Im in Amsterdam and I’m bored as shit cuz its freezing rain outside and I’m listening to beats and what not outta the laptop and I had my instrumental folder on shuffle and I hear a beat I never heard before. I usually know what’s in my ipod( cuz its mine right?) and for some reason its baffling me that I don’t remember where this beat is from. Then it hits me, Its Kanye’s. Then I sit at my laptop and start going thru my library. Now I’ve paid attention to what he’s produced and what he’s put out on his own. From Game to Cons to GLC to Alicia Keys to 88 Keys and to this day I have never heard anyone spit over this track. Why do I even still have it? So I hit the net and do a few more searches and the only thing I haven’t listened to is 808’s. Im sure this beat wouldn’t be on that album. So I come across a MTV blurb where this girl is talking about Ye and how he used to hang at MTV and how he always talked about music and his beats and what not. So that took me back to when I first met him. I was signed to Rawkus and from what I hear they had the chance to sign him and passed on him but shit those dudes passed on Eminem! Well it was a guy there named Howie, I still don’t remember what his title was but he was the one STREET cat that Rawkus had. He knew all the people who for the most part wouldn’t support Rawkus’s music but some how he got them to listen and sometimes play it. So once I got signed I remember he would always ask what VA was like. Yall got hoods down there? Do the Clipse really move white? All kinds of shit, but he was cool( then). Dude used to get head in the office and all kinds of wild shit. So one day he tells me he wants to take me over Kanye’s crib to get some beats. Im like ” Who’s Kanye’? He’s like That Mos’s man. He got some shit. So then on the way to Hoboken he tells me the songs he did and how he’s not really like Jay and them but Jay & then dont fuck with him outside tracks. So I’m like ” Oh, from the Chi, he did H to The Izzo! I remember him from the video showing off his tattoo( for some reason that image was the only one I had). So we get there. An Apartment building and he’s sitting in front of a Roland 1680. A hard disk recorder. I had the same one I had let my man E borrow it. He had headphones on and was doing something with the machine. The apartment had records, sneakers, you know the usual shit. He asked me what kind of shit was I looking for and I told him what I tell every producer …” I don’t know, I just know it when I hear it.” So he played like 20 beats and I only really liked four. They all had samples in em and most of em where those sped up soul joints he used to do back in the day. Anyway he talked about music and this new Hov shit and mostly it was him and Howie talking. I wasnt saying much I was just chilling and cold..the heat wasnt on. Now I aint saying he didnt pay the bill..lol. Im just saying it was cold. So he burns the cd and we get ready to bounce and we’re walking to the door and he says my name ..
ye- Skillz
me- Huh
ye- Can I ask you a favor ,yo?
me- What up?
ye- If you decide to not use any of the beats please don’t rap over em and put em on a mixtape or nothing.
me- Oh! iiight
Ye- I’m for real
me- ummmm..ok
We leave and I ask Howie What was that all about. He explains that niggas just take shit and rap over it and put it out and that has been happening to him lately. I mean I did it with Aaliyah’s song and got pub so I knew exactly when he was talking about. He drops me off at the Time Hotel( with them small ass rooms) and I pop the cd in and listen to the beats again. I came up with a mean hook for one( I don’t have it anymore) wrote something to the last beat on the cd. I remember riding the train back to VA two days later and really wanting to track the song, or at least what I had written. And back in VA in the studio I played the cd and my homies asked who made the beats, I told em Kanye West but I probably wont use em. My man Irv was like” fuck that, we using them joints, lets lay something to it and give it to P Cutta. I took the cd out and changed the subject and started talking about the game the night before. I remembered the look in his eyes(Ye) when he asked me not to do that. I didn’t really know homie but he asked me and I told him I wouldn’t. I felt like if I did then I would be taking food from his mouth ya know? I wouldn’t want anyone to do that to me. I just listened to a interview where he said he doesn’t even listen to rap in his crib. Wow. Things change, People do too. I lost my mom too, so I know his pain when he talks about if he had never left the Chi then she prolly wouldn’t have either. I wonder if he would even know if I rapped over this beat now. Or would he even care? But I said I wouldn’t.

Hip-Hop Shop #13


Tonight on the Hip-Hop Shop we are pre-taped due to turkey day tomorrow (gobble gobble) but normally every week your hosts McFly and Stevie J bring you nothing but the hottest new tracks out today while discussing the latest hip-hop news and topics. Join us every Wednesday night at 10:00 PM EST, 9 Central via blogtalkradio.com/angrymarks and if you miss the live show be sure to look for the replay here on RapReviews or via our sponsor mrobandthecancer.com. The shows are 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com. Enjoy!

Download Here (right click to save)

* Dondria feat. Bow Wow - Boy Stop
* Hurricane Chris - She's Fine
* 88 Keys feat. Kids Incorporated - Stay Up (Viagra) Illmind Yo Business Remix
* Joe Budden feat. The Game - The Future
* Keri Hilson feat. Remo Da Rapstar - Energy (Remix)
* Trick Trick feat. Ice Cube - Let it Fly

Retwittered: The Break Ya Ankles Remix Contest


From Audible Treats:

E-40 Fans Invited to Submit Best Remix Tracks For Retwittered: The Break Ya Ankles Remix Contest on LOUD.COM      11.26.2008

Producer of Best Remix Will Be Flown To Bay Area To Work with In-Person with E-40 and Son Droop-E While 2nd and 3rd Place Winners Will Receive A Full Serato Scratch Live Set-Up And Ableton Live Software, Respectively


(November 26, 2008 - New York, NY) To celebrate the release of E-40’s 14th studio album The Ball Street Journal on November 25th, LOUD.com and Warner Bros. Records are proud to present Retwittered: The Break Ya Ankles Remix Contest. LOUD.com and Warner Bros. urge all budding producers and E-40 fans to submit their best remix of the hit song “Break Ya Ankles” to LOUD.com. E-40 will personally choose one winner, who will fly to The Bay Area to meet with the legendary hip-hop star and his son Droop-E in the studio. In addition, the winner will broadcast live backstage at an E-40 show using a Nokia Kyte phone. The second place winner will receive the complete Rane Serato Scratch Live set-up, which bridges the worlds of vinyl and digital audio files and while the third place winner will receive a copy of Ableton Live 7 LE, which provides musicians an intuitive interface and professional features for recording, songwriting, remixing, and DJ’ing.

Interested participants are directed to download the a cappella of “Break Ya Ankles” here: http://www.loud.com/contest/break-ya-ankles-remix, produce their own original beat, and submit their entry to the LOUD.com community. In addition to the prizes mentioned above, LOUD.com will interview the winner, post a webisode compiling footage from their studio and show experience, and post the winning remix on their homepage, E-40.com, and MySpace.com/E40.

E-40 is a rap innovator, a business-savvy tycoon, and one of the music industry’s most consistent success stories. The man with the terrific tongue returns with his most polished product to date, the imaginatively titled The Ball Street Journal. "This traces everything from the beginning to now," E-40 explains. “I’ve been through hard times and I've been through good times. It's like a discography of my life." The Ball Street Journal hit the streets on 11/25 on Warner Brothers / Sick Wid It Records. Retwittered: The Break Ya Ankles Remix Contest closes on December 9th and the lucky winner will be announced on December 30th. Good luck - but don't get it twittered!

Contest Instructions and Rules: http://www.loud.com/contest/break-ya-ankles-remix .
MySpace.com: MySpace.com/E40 / Imeem.com: Imeem.com/artists/e-40 .
Serato: http://www.serato.com .
Ableton: http://www.ableton.com/newsletter .

About LOUD.com
LOUD.COM was founded by SRC Records CEO Steve Rifkind and entrepreneur Joe Safina and is the online home of the Online Rap Battle and the Producer Challenge, which offers all registered users of LOUD.com the opportunity to download professional beats from hip-hop’s hottest producers for just .99 cents, use a unique online recording tool to craft their songs and have them judged by celebrity producers. One winner will receive $100,000 and a record deal with SRC Records, home of multi-platinum artists such as Akon and David Banner.

DTR45 Announces Latest Roster Additions


DTR45 Announces Latest Roster Additions

DTR45 announced today the signing of two prolific hip hop artists from different sides of the continent.

Bay Area based emcee Paulie Rhyme, who has had a working relationship with DTR45 since 2000 and has toured with the label several times (including 2006’s Guy on the Touch Tour and 2008’s Green Giants Tour), recently signed a multi-year management deal which includes touring, promotion and publicity efforts.  Paulie Rhyme, born Paul Richardson, is one of the hardest working indie acts in the industry, having toured consistently for 3 years on several continents, founding his indie imprint Browntown Wreckords, and releasing several projects to high acclaim—both as a solo act and with groups Public Radio and Finless Brown. He also recently started the new group, Miles Outside; a cross genre, boundary-pushing band which describes itself as an aural explosion enveloping every musical genre you've experienced glued together on hip hop construction paper using an alternative paste. 

Says Paulie Rhyme: “I have worked with DTR on and off since 2000 first in Cleveland and then in the Bay. I have watch the company evolve, grow, and find success while staying true to themselves. We are both dedicated to making quality music, increasing our presence on the national scene, and taking our message to the next level. After working for years as separate entities, it felt right to take the next step and make our relationship official.”

Also signing a multi-year deal is Ottawa-bred, Montreal-based emcee/producer Devin Atherton. Using his surname as his stage, Atherton is a consummate professional and has taken the Canadian scene by storm. A one-man hip hop machine, Atherton currently writes, produces, and performs all of his own music; has toured extensively, received several awards, and been featured at Candian  Music Week and NXNE. Founder of his imprint Vinyl Tap Music, Atherton is partners with Toronto-based duo The Leathers with cohort P-Brain. The duo will be releasing a leather-bound 7” record in 2009.

Atherton commented, “I knew that this was the right step for me considering the amount of effort and work Tone and DTR45 have already put in for me. I’ve heard that the hardest thing in the world to do is to find someone who believes in you. DTR45 believes."

For more info on either artist, log on to www.dtr45.com, www.paulierhyme.com or www.vinyltap.ca .

LOUD.com Presents: The Finalists - Year 2


From Loud.com:

LOUD.com Presents: The Finalists - Year 2

IT BEGINS AGAIN! For our second year, Loud.com is giving away $100,000 & a record contract with SRC / Universal Motown. AND one producer will win $15,000 & a production deal with the label.... ...Loud.com's Finalists 2 is about to start next week, and we have an official video trailer for it!   If you can show this some love, I'd appreciate it.  Some of the more notable finalists include Curren$y, Homeboy Sandman, Iron Solomon, Knonam (done tracks with Eyedea, Royce Da 5'9, Brother Ali) and LF Daze (used to produce for Lil Kim and a few others - but he raps, too).  Thanks man, let me know!

Loud.com

...The official trailer for the Loud.com Finalists 2 is here!  Check out the ten rappers that made the finals as we get underway on December 2nd.  Be sure to watch in the new year for the debut of our producer challenge.  Register and login to vote and be a part of choosing the next superstar on the SRC roster!

Check It Out On Loud.com.

Jake One - The Truth DVD


From Critical Marketing and Media:

JAKE ONE - THE TRUTH DVD
Seattle Super-producer calls on Rik Cordero to direct debut video from White Van Music
London, England November 25th 2008


Having premiered yesterday on MTV2 and mtvU, Jake One's debut video from his critically acclaimed album White Van Music, released through Rhymesayers Entertainment, is already making its way around the internet having been featured on some of Hip-Hop's most prominent online portals.

The Truth, directed by the highly esteemed video producer, Rik Cordero and the crew of Three 21Media, was shot on location in Philadelphia and Minneapolis. This successful union is also responsible for the up and coming sophomore video from the album Trap Door which features MF Doom.

Please use the following link to post to blogs and sites

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WokfJUK0nAk *

Akon to Perform MySpace Release Show


Press release courtesy of Tito Belis and BigHassle.com.

AKON TO PERFORM MYSPACE MUSIC RELEASE SHOW AT CHINA CLUB IN NEW YORK CITY ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2008
 
NEW ALBUM "FREEDOM" IN STORES, ONLINE, AND ON SLOTMUSIC CARDS AND PLAYERS ON DECEMBER 2nd VIA UPFRONT/SRC/UNIVERSAL MOTOWN RECORDS


MySpace Music is proud to announce that Akon will be performing a free show for his MySpace friends at China Club in New York City on Monday, December 1, 2008 - a show being powered by AT&T. Doors for the 21+ Release show will be at 8 p.m., and admittance will be handled on a first-come, first-served basis with a printout of each person's profile displaying Akon in their top eight.
 
An internationally recognized, Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum selling artist, producer, entrepreneur, and philanthropist, Akon is one of the most influential voices in music today. In addition to having two multi-platinum albums, 21 songs on the Billboard Hot 100, Gold or Platinum status in over 23 countries, and over 145 guest appearances with artists such as Michael Jackson and Gwen Stefani to his credit, Akon is the only artist to ever accomplish the feat of holding both the number one and two spots simultaneously on the Billboard Hot 100 charts twice.
 
In addition to his accolades, on November 19, 2008 Akon announced that his third album, "Freedom," will be available on "slotMusic™, a new form of DRM-free MP3 music on a microSD card beginning Tuesday, December 2nd - the same date his album will be released digitally and on CD. The new slotMusic card will give fans a chance to enjoy Akon's album in a variety of ways and on a host of devices - from their microSD-enabled mobile phones to their computers and MP3 players. Going beyond the original thirteen songs that are on the CD version of the album, the slotMusic "Freedom" card will carry a mini-documentary video on Akon's life and influences, the new video for "Right Now (Na Na Na)," and exclusive hi-res images and songs including fellow SRC artist Tami Chynn's debut single "Frozen" featuring Akon.

Please visit Akon's MySpace page to preview his new album "Freedom" before it hits stores 12/2 starting this Friday 11/28: http://www.myspace.com/akon .

For more information on MySpace Music Release Shows, please visit: http://www.myspace.com/hiphop .

China Club
268 W. 47th St.
New York, NY 10036
(212) 398-3800
* http://www.chinaclubnyc.com *
 
About MySpace Music:
MySpace Music is a landmark joint venture among MySpace, The EMI Group, SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, and Sony ATV, and whose independent music distribution partners include The Orchard, IODA, Alternative Distribution Alliance, RED, Fontana, and Caroline. MySpace Music offers an ever-growing catalog of freely streamable audio and video content, user-friendly e-commerce solutions, personal music players, and user and artist playlisting. MySpace Music aims to empower major, independent, and unsigned artists to monetize their content through multiple revenue streams.by allowing the MySpace community to freely stream premium content in an ad-supported environment, purchase MP3s and ringtones, create and share playlists, and ultimately buy merchandise, concert tickets, and other digital and physical goods.  MySpace Music also connects artists and fans in the offline arena through various concert series and live events including Secret Shows, MySpaceLIVE!, Transmissions, The Release, Front to Back and The List.

Loud.com Round 10 Rapper Winner is Iron Solomon


From Loud.com:

Round 10 Rapper Winner - Iron Solomon

New York, NY (November 25, 2008) - HIP-HOP! Loud.com, The Finalists 2 is at long last upon us! The last emcee and the last producer have been chosen and we are only seven days away from making history once again. To everyone that participated along the way, both artists and supporters, we applaud you for your efforts and constant elevation – that’s what hip-hop has always been about. We encourage you to register, login and vote to be a part of helping SRC chose the next artist to be welcomed into the family. One rapper is going to be a record deal and $100,000 richer, and one producer is going to have $15,000 and a three-song production deal in his pocket, too. So if you aren’t already… get familiar.

Before we get to the particulars, though, Loud.com would like to formally congratulate our Round 10 Rapper Winner, Iron Solomon! The battle legend was at the top of the leaderboard and came with some bangers, but the competition was heavy! We’d be remised if we didn’t shout out Kaze and Silent Knight for their extraordinary effort. Big ups to everyone that came out for Round 10!!

Brand new to the Loud.com Finalists 2 this year will be the addition of Nokia Kyte Channels! Follow our competitors live as they make their way through the various challenges we’ve set for them. This is real-time interaction and access like never before. If you see they need some help, hit them up and offer it one-to-one! We’d also like to announce that we have a special guest producer providing beats for our Finalists! He’s produced for 50 Cent, Nas, De La Soul, Planet Asia, E-40 and MF Doom, so we’re happy to have him onboard! Check back next week and find out who it is…

Now, a few other quick items of note:

PRODUCERS! Round 10 Voting IS COMPLETE!

    * A winner will be announced December 2nd
    * Submissions are now closed until the next competition!
    * Someone is going to win this contest and be $15,000 richer with a sweet production deal from SRC/Universal Motown!!

***

Official Loud.com Finalists 2 Trailer!

The Loud.com Finalists 2 Official Trailer

    * Check out the trailer and get a preview of the rappers who will be competing for $100,000 and a record deal
    * Finals start December 2nd
    * Catch all our Finalists live via Nokia Kyte phones!
    * Watch for the announcement of our special guest producer... he's a MONSTER!!


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 23rd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. R.I.P. Praverb. This week we have TEN new items for you: a new editorial on refugees, Ariana Grande's "My Everything," Gripp's "Ansible," Happy Tooth & Dug's "W.H.Y.G.O.D.W.H.Y.," Jeezy's "Seen It All: The Autobiography" (our featured review), Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #292, NjS' "Soular Power," VISUAL's "Supreme Science," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 16, 2014 and WestsideGunn's "Hitler Wears Hermes Deluxe."

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates - and once again R.I.P. Praverb. RapReviews.com also recommends OTR w/ Mia Yim and Leva Bates from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive