Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday October 25, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
Seņor Kaos - When Southern Hip-Hop Drops Swag and Gets Lyrical


The stereotypes of southern rappers are that of excessive jewelry, loud lyrics, and general shouting about nothing. Thankfully, Atlanta emcee Señor Kaos represents none of the above. Maybe it’s because he was literally born into Hip-Hop with his father being a DJ, B-Boy and emcee in the early 80's. Maybe it’s because he cut his teeth in street ciphers where skill was of the utmost importance. Maybe it’s because he hasn’t spent his entire life in the south. Whatever the reason, Señor Kaos is a part of the subsection of southern Hip-Hop that is the complete opposite of what people assume the genre to be and his brilliant new mix-CD, Swagger is Nothing, Talent is Everything, is a testament to that. This week I caught up with Señor Kaos to find out more about both him and his music, some of the misconceptions outsiders have about the southern Hip-Hop scene, and the very unique collaboration he’d love to see happen.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/02/artist-of-week-senor-kaos.html

Braille "CloudNineteen Update" - 5,000 and Counting


From Braille:

Hey Hey

This is just a quick update with some AWESOME praise reports.

1.      We’ve already raised enough money to manufacture and give away 5,000 copies of the “CloudNineteen” album.  This is enough records for the first leg of our tour which can be viewed at www.braillehiphop.com.  We are doing shows all over Oregon, Washington, California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas.  Many of the shows are free and our album is free at every single event!!!!  We have gigs scheduled at correctional facilities, homeless shelters, Salvation Army centers, churches, bars, colleges, skate parks and more.  We have literally made ourselves available for any type of opportunity that comes our way.  It’s been really exciting watching it all come together.

2.      We got our first two reviews and they are both extremely positive.  It’s really encouraging that this record is already getting such a good response.  We had no idea how people would respond to this album but even our close friends have been saying it’s our best work so far.  Check out the two review links below

http://cantstopfanatics.blogspot.com/2009/02/symbolic-gestures.html

http://www.dasouth.com/component/content/article/31-reviews/538-braille-and-s1-cloudnineteen?directory=180

  3. There are a lot of layers to this initiative and things can get a bit confusing.  Ultimately, this record is free and we will be giving out free copies to everyone in attendance at every one of our concerts.  However, we can’t really afford to send free copies in the mail to everyone who never makes it to a show because that would just get out of control.  (maybe next album).  This album won’t be in stores, but we are partnering with a handful of online shops to offer a RETAIL version of the record for people who either want to support us personally or who won’t be able to make it out to a concert.  So far there are 4 on-line stores taking pre-orders.  The profits from the CD sales are the only profits that S1 and myself will be making.  Since we are giving the album away at all our shows, we won’t be able to benefit from the traditional MERCH pipeline that keeps many artists alive on the road.  We could just make the record free digitally and we are willing to do that as well but I personally am still from the frame of mind that actually owning the CD is a little more special then just a download link.  Maybe CDs will be completely dead in a couple years, but in the meantime I still like unwrapping the package, reading the insert and getting the FULL audio quality rather then just having MP3s.  If your like me and won’t be able to make it to a show then here are some stores where you can order yourself a copy of “CloudNineteen”.  If you’re a regular shopper at any of the stores below then I suggest buying it from that spot because your purchase not only supports the artists, but it also supports the store.  If your not sure which store to get it from then maybe just put all 4 of the names in a hat and draw one.  You can also expect the album to be for sale at www.ughh.com within the next couple days.


http://www.thebus-shop.com/index.cfm

http://360vinyl.com/?mainURL=%2Fstore%2Fitem%2F2vx88%2FUpcoming_Releases%2FBraille_and_S1.html%3Fitem_id%3D2vx88

http://sphereofhiphop.myshopify.com/collections/frontpage/products/braille-and-s1-cloudnineteen

http://www.qualityjunk.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=987

4.      It’s 4 AM in the morning and I’m about to get a couple hours of rest before leaving to San Diego for a week.  I’m going to spend some time at Syntax Studios and start recording my NEXT solo record titled “Audibly Enhanced Dreams”.  I know that sounds crazy, but basically I will be touring non-stop for 3 or 4 months so I figured I should at-least lay down the foundation for my next record so that I have time to analyze it and make it RIGHT for a potential FALL release on Syntax Records later this year (God willing).  I’m excited to go to San Diego because I’m also going to meet up with Sojourn and I was just listening the FINAL MIX of his album “Sojournalism: The Summer Articles” which is scheduled to drop in May 2009.  We will be leaking a song before the end of this month (I promise).  To top all that off, I have Feb. 16th, 17th and 18th blocked out to get in the lab with Lightheaded and start working on our third record together titled “Lo-Fi Heights”.  It’s a busy time but I’m getting prepared for this new season in my life and I feel free right now.  I’ve let go of a lot of my worries and stresses – I just want to use my life to bring glory to God.  I’m pushing myself and giving the best effort possible.  Plus, whenever I get tired I just rest  and hang out with my family. I feel totally re-energized whenever I'm around them.  My daughter is such a joy to be around and my wife is the perfect helpmate for me.  She supports me, checks me when I need to be checked, and walks with me on this journey every step of the way.

MUCH LOVE YA”LL.  Hope to see you soon on the road.  Check out all the tour dates.  The Braille and S1 “CloudNineteen” tour starts Feb. 25th.  We will even be shooting TWO music videos during the tour so you might end up in one if you come to a show.

P.S. – if there are any typos or grammar errors then please have grace on me.  It’s now 4:30 am, I’m tired and I was never good at grammar or spelling in the first place.  If it wasn’t for spell check ya’ll would get a taste of how badly I can jumble words.

Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com

Rapper Mike Jones Finds His "Voice" on April 14


From Mike Jones and Jackie O:

RAPPER MIKE JONES RETURNS WITH NEW ALBUM
‘THE VOICE,’ ON APRIL 14


Southern star to release most creative album to date

Listen to the current single, “Next to You,” now!

(New York, NY) Feb 4 – The wait is finally over! Mike Jones, Houston’s self-proclaimed ‘President,’ will release his second full album, The Voice, April 14, 2009 on Ice Age/Swishahouse/Asylum.

Featuring the smash singles “Cuddy Buddy,” “Drop & Gimme 50” and “Next to You,” The Voice has been heavily anticipated by fans and industry insiders alike.

“This album is what I wanted my first album to be,” says Jones. “On ‘The Voice,’ I’m showing more of myself to the world, more of my writing skills and my personality…”

For more info on Mike Jones, visit www.myspace.com/mikejones .

ABOUT MIKE JONES

You could say that Mike Jones has ‘finally found his voice’ in the years since he first emerged on the music scene in 2005 with a platinum grill and an infectious call-and-response slogan (‘Who? Mike Jones!’). These days, the Houston-born rapper is more mature and focused; he’s making business deals and giving back to his community. And on his sophomore album The Voice (Ice Age/Swishahouse/Asylum), he wants you to know that there’s more to Mike Jones than ‘tippin’ on four fours.’

“This album is what I wanted my first album to be,” says Jones. “On ‘The Voice,’ I’m showing more of myself to the world, more of my writing skills and my personality. There are many sides to Mike Jones and I want my fans to get to know all of them.”

Surely, fans are already familiar with Jones’ playful side, which he readily displays on The Voice, especially on the song “Drop & Gimme 50” (feat. Hurricane Chris), a Southern-style party anthem sure to inspire the next dance craze.

It’s also no secret that Mike Jones has a thing for the ladies. On the slow jam-inspired track “Cuddy Buddy,”, Jones raps his penchant for no-strings flings over a Keith Sweat “How Deep Is Your Love” sample. The guitar-laden “Next to You” further demonstrates Jones’ devotion to the girl in his life that “keeps it true.”

Still, The Voice isn’t all lovey dovey. Jones flexes his lyrical chops on the street banger “Done Did It” (feat. Lil Wayne):

“I see these haters tryin’ to set me up
Plot on me to wet me up
They mad at me because I run H-town and I ain’t lettin’ up
I can’t let up  ‘cause I’m a playa
H-town, I’m the mayor
Switched it up to president
My car shine like peppermint
Bentley on them fours, got ‘em coming to my residence…”

Fans have been anxiously waiting for an album like this from Jones, ever since his break-out single “Still Tippin’” introduced the world to Houston’s style of cruising in tricked out “slabs.” But Jones wasn’t exactly an overnight success. Back in 2001, he started his own independent record label, Ice Age Entertainment, with money he had saved to pay for beats and studio time. As he began promoting his music on the streets, to DJs and at strip clubs, word spread fast about the enterprising rapper and it wasn’t long before Jones had a deal with local hit-making label Swishahouse. Jones released a series of independent albums and mixtapes under Swishahouse, and the sizeable following he garnered in the South and Mid-West landed him a deal with Warner/Asylum. His 2005 national debut Who is Mike Jones? sold over 1.5 million copies, and in 2007 he returned with the EP American Dream, which was accompanied by a straight-to-DVD movie of the same name.

Over the years, when Jones wasn’t recording in the studio or performing on stage, he was securing business ventures like his recent partnership with ProConcept Marketing Group to release his own line of Cognac called “House of Dobbe’.” He’s also actively involved in his charities Ice Age for Kids and the American Dream Foundation, through which he’s hosted community youth events and supported Hurricane Katrina relief efforts.

Indeed, there’s more to Mike Jones than the “good life” he often raps about. And with The Voice, you’ll hear the creativity and evolution of a young man who has something to say.

Trends "I'm So Mean" Produced by Black Milk


Hey what's up beautiful people?
 
I want to really take time out and thank all of you for your support. I feel artist are so into themselves sometimes that they forget to thank the people that appreciate their art.
 
Check out my new track "I'm So Mean"
 
Click here to check it out
 
 
 I also want to thank you for checking out my new mixtape "The Invisible Man" It got over 1000 downloads in just 2 days.
 
Thank you
 
If you didn't get a chance to check it out here it is. Click the link to download.
 
 
Thanks again
 
Trends
GCE News: Big R CD, Tha Message Mag & More


From GodChaserz.com:

GodChaserz Entertainment News Feb, 2009

BIG R IS ON THE MOVE

Big R is gearing up for his new album "Rated R" & a video
shoot for his latest single "I TRIED". Look for both the album
and video in March. If you want to sample Big R's music, download his
single "I'm Back in the Name of Jesus" from Itunes. Also
check out Big R on myspace.com/BigBigR

READYWRITER IS AT IT AGAIN

ReadyWriter is now working on his upcoming album entitled "The Gift" look
for the release of the new album late in 2009. Keep him in your
prayers we know the Lord is going to do a awesome work. If you don't
have ReadyWriter's album Conduit already, pick it up now on Itunes,
Amazon.com, GodChaserz.com or Thebus-shop.com.

NO ESCAPING BRINSON

Check out the Jan – March 09 issue of Tha Message Magazine. GodChaserz
Entertainment was shown a lot of love. Brinson is featured with an
article about prison ministry.  He also receives a great album review for "Escaping Me".
Pick up a copy of Tha Message Mag at http://www.themessagemag.com.
Also, peep the new album review of Escaping Me on the banging site Da south:
http://dasouth.com/album-reviews/520-brinson-escaping-me


SOLAR POWERED VIDEO MAKES AIRWAYS

The "Solar Powered" music video will soon air on "All Eyes on Me TV"
in Houston, TX. The video is now playing on "The Holy Hip Hop Hour" in
Sanford, CT, "Who R U? TV" in Tulsa, OK, and "The Hip Hop Soda Shop" in
Tampa, FL. Praise God! The video will also premiere on a national station very soon.
Stay tuned....

WANT TO BOOK BRINSON?

If so, contact Virtuous Promotions @ (904) 629-1378
or the contact page of GodChaserz.com

IN CLOSING

In these uncertain times keep your heart, mind, and will grounded in
Jesus Christ. He is truly our solid foundation. With the wide spread
talks of the economy, unemployment, crime, etc. Jesus is our source and
safety. He truly cannot fail us ...Ever. So while the world is in
shambles let your light shine while you rest in the hands of Christ.


Have a great weekend,
GodChaserz Entertainment

 

A-FS Press Release


From ArtistPR.com:

Los Angeles, CA. February 2, 2009

Straight from The Dirty....Jersey that is!!! We present to you "A-FS 201-973", A-FS is no stranger to the struggles & hustles of the gutta, raised in Jersey City, N.J. As a teenager he spent alot of his time on Martin Luther King, Jr. drive a.k.a. Jackson Ave. in the greenville section. As he calls it, he was learning for all the hard lessons that would come up in his life in the future, such as ending up homeless during a cold winter for 7 months. When A-FS is asked how does it feel to go from down to lower he says "Struggle means strength! Just when you think life can't get no harder, you will be prepared for when it does get harder!"

A-FS has been rapping for 20 years and has been putting down tracks since '97, independently releasing two solo albums available through all major online music stores such as ITunes, Rhapsody, amalgamdigital.com and CD Baby. He's also been getting into the field of production for 5 years now, and within those five years A-FS has also took on the tasks of engineering, mixing, graphic design as well as hosting and producing his own t.v. and radio show on local community stations seen & heard in southern California and plans on keep it moving, signed or unsigned, A-FS holds weight! Period! www.myspace.com/afs201973 & 201973.com.

The Loud.com Rapper and Producer Winners


From www.loud.com -

New York, NY (February 5, 2009) – After seven months of intense competition, SRC Records CEO Steve Rifkind and Loud.com have formally announced the winners of Loud.com's $100,000 Rapper Challenge and their $15,000 Producer Challenge. Underground mainstay Kaze from North Carolina and Philadelphia upstart LF Daze split the grand prize for the Rapper Challenge, each getting record deals with SRC Records, while luminous producer J Cardim took home the grand prize and three-song deal for the Producers.

Both contests were run concurrently, but operated as separate entities. Each contest featured 10 rounds, with a single round consisting of one week for submissions and one week for voting. Thousands of rappers and producers went head-to-head for the 10 Finalist positions available in each contest, and the competition was heavy throughout. Once the Rapper and Producer contest each had their 10 Finalists, challenges were set before them to determine who wanted the grand prize more. Tasks for rappers ranged from creating a song and video to throwing a show, while Producers were faced with software and remix challenges. And even as the contest was going on, collaborations and communication were happening organically between other users of the site.

“We want people to feel like they can succeed at Loud.com,” CEO Joe Safina, said. “We are a site where people can come to have fun, to network, to get opinions and promote themselves, to gather ideas and information. We’re backed by a major label and Steve Rifkind, and we’re doing good things. This is the place for upcoming artists to be, and we’re seeing a successful new business model for the music industry emerge while we’re doing it.”

With the site continuing to evolve on both the technology and editorial fronts, Safina and Rifkind expect the site’s community to continue working together and support each other’s efforts, using the tools in front of them. The groundswell effect served Loud Records incredibly well during the 90’s, and that approach hasn’t changed with the latest digital incarnation.

“Loud.com is the only place on the web where independent artists can find major label support,” Safina said. “Congratulations to our winners and everyone that participated. The industry will certainly see what we’re bringing to the table in 2009.”
#

LOUD.COM, backed by Steve Rifkind and SRC Records, is an on-line, social hip-hop community that features exclusive video interviews, industry-related Q&A’s, insightful articles and exclusive blogs, and is the biggest sponsor of competitions for unsigned artists and producers on the web. Registration is open to everyone. Users have the ability to upload their own music and videos or download professional beats from Hip Hop’s hottest producers (placements with 50 Cent, Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Busta Rhymes, Lil Jon and many more) and use an on-line recording studio to compete for $100,000 and a record deal during contest times with SRC Records (Akon, David Banner, Asher Roth, Shontelle, Melanie Fiona). LOUD.COM has also featured a Producer contest, which gave away $15,000 and a three-song production deal. Past winners and associates of Loud.com have worked and made connections with Ski Beats, Matthew Santos, Psycho Les, Quran Goodman, Lil Wayne and many others. Log on and get involved now!

Kaze - "Spirit of '94" (produced entirely by 9th Wonder) Available Now At Amazon.com

J. Cardim - "Your Favorite Rapper's Favorite Producer" Hosted by DJ Envy Available Now At iTunes, Visit www.dicemusicgroup.com For Links And Info!
***

LF Daze - Philadelphia, PA

    * Emcee/Producer, worked with Lil Kim, Cease and more
    * Co-sign from multi-platinum producer Quran Goodman
    * True underground success story

***

Kaze - Raleigh, NC

    * Former member of The Rawkus 50
    * Released an album "Spirit of '94" with 9th Wonder
    * Toured With Gza, Souls of Mischief, opened for G-Unit and many more

***

J Cardim - New York, NY

    * Produced for Lil Wayne, Cassidy, Fat Joe, Styles P, Paul Wall Red Café, Sheek Louch, Little Brother, Jae Millz, Gorilla Zoe, Saigon, Uncle Murda and more
    *  Diverse, consistent, hard-hitting and sample-free beats

Mr. Bobby Lopez Press Release


From ArtistPR.com:

Los Angeles, CA. February 2, 2009
 
Born and raised in the City of "Souf Land" (Ft. Smith, AR), Mr. Bobby Lopez "America's Favorite Cool Guy" is one of Arkansas' premier rap artist and entertainers. He began his career in 1996 rapping over popular hip hop instramentals with answering machines and tape recorders. Now more the ten years, 23 states, and a half a million people later Mr. Bobby Lopez "America's Favorite Cool Guy" continues to dominate his region. Influences such as Outkast, T.I., Jay-Z, Ludacris and 50 Cent as well as being the co-originator of the Dusty Souf movement and Arkansas' grit and gloss style of music is what makes Mr. Bobby Lopez: America's Favorite Cool Guy. With the help of his brother II Tre and good friend LS(Lord Soldier), Mr. Bobby Lopez "America's Favorite Cool Guy" has taken the rap scene on his side of the state to unparralled heights. Along with groups like Tripple Threat, Souf Land, and Drop Squad Boiz; artist like II Tre and Lord Soldier, Mr. Bobby Lopez "America's Favorite Cool Guy" has raised the bar and set the standard for Arkansas Hip Hop and entertainment. Feel free to holla at "America's Favorite Cool Guy", Mr. Bobby Lopez at www.myspace.com/mrbobbylopez .

Chamillionaire's "I Am Legend" Coming Soon


From Nancy B:

Chamillionaire's "I Am Legend" Coming Soon

As you all know, January was a crazy month for Chamillionaire. There was the drop of Mixtape Messiah 6, which fans came out in droves at every in-store to support (in some instances causing Fire Marshall issues), the judging of the MLK High School Battle of the Bands, the victory over 97.9 The Box's J-Mac at his Fly Rydes in-store, his role as Co-Grand Marshall of the Houston MLK Grande Parade (which drew a record 350,000 spectators) and his trip to D.C. to witness the historic Inauguration of President Obama.

Much of what went down was documented in true Chamillitary fashion and you can witness some of it for yourselves with the links below -

I AM LEGEND part 1
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3KrlBpAYz8 *
 
I AM LEGEND part 2
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0A4ef4_3HE *
 
I AM LEGEND Part 3
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs7ZBcy65HI *
 
BATTLE OF THE BANDS - TRAE THA TRUTH AND CHAMILLIONAIRE
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9ViTuVTbMQ *
 
I Am Legend mixtape coming soon! Anyone who remembers DJ Rapid Ric's 50 Greatest Bun B Verses mixtape will know that this latest "Greatest Verses" installment will be pure fire. An instant classic!

For all 5 installments of Chamillionaire's Inauguration Blog (courtesy of Houston Press) the links are below -

    * http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/01/chamillionaires_inaugural_diar.php *
    * http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/01/chamillionaires_inaugural_diar_1.php *
    * http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/01/chamillionaires_inaugural_diar_2.php *
    * http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/01/chamillionaires_inaugural_diar_3.php *
    * http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/01/chamillionaires_inaugural_diar_4.php *

Zion I Announce Remix Contest For "DJ DJ"


Press release courtesy of the !K7 Label Group.

Party People,
-----
As part of their plan to Take Over the airwaves in '09, Zion I want to give their fans a chance to get in on some of the spoils.  Next week the duo will be launching a remix contest using an innovative new widget from MixMatchMusic that gives fans access to the stems, or individual parts that make up their track "DJ DJ."  Remixers can create a new version of the song, upload it to the widget, vote on their favorites, and embed their versions wherever they like.  There's even a basic production interface for users who don't have professional remixing software.  

Zion I will be choosing three of their favorites for a variety of prizes including track placement on Zion I web pages and mixes, rare Zion I merchandise, autographed discography, & more.  Look for details coming soon on the group's site (http://www.zionicrew) and check out the video introduction below.  The TakeOver will be out February 17th on Gold Dust.

The album version of "DJ DJ" can be heard at: http://www.zshare.net/audio/540396103aec1a77/


For More Info, Check Out:

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive