Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday January 28, 2015
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[B4.DA.$$] Not bad at all Joey!

Joey Bada$$ review

Latest News Headlines
Slaughterhouse Heading Out on European Tour


Crooked I, Royce Da 5'9", Joe Budden and Joell Ortiz will be heading out to Europe as the crew has announced their European tour

This is in support of their Slaughterhouse album.

"The stage will be brought down like it always is," Joe Budden announced in a statement. "This is what we live for, see you there."

For the dates and locations of the tour, check below.


Wednesday, January 20 Amsterdam, Holland Melkweg
Friday, January 22 Hengelo, Holland, Metropool
Saturday, January 23 Stockholm, Sweden Gota Kollare
Sunday, January 24 Warsaw, Poland, The Fresh
Wednesday, January 27 Copenhagen, Denmark, Loppen
Thursday, January 28 Bergins Norway, Verftet
Friday, January 29 Trondheim, Norway, Kjopmannagata
Saturday, January 30, Oslo, Norway, Bla
Sunday, January 31 Helsinski, Finland Virgin Oil Co.
Tuesday, February 2 Prague, Czech Republic Lucerna Music
Wednesday, February 3 Budapest, Hungary A38
Thursday, February 4 Vienna, Austria, Planet
Friday, February 5 Zürich, Switzerland Dynamo
Saturday, February 6 Biel, Switzerland Coupole

Source: HipHopDX

RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) Show This Saturday


From ProTalent:

This Saturday, January 9th 2010 RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) will perform their first show in over 8 months as the two veteran emcees have been focusing on their solo ventures. This show will be a prelude of things to come as they have announced more shows, more records, and touring in 2010. Make sure you come out and support this event. PROMO VIDEO for January 9th show in Worcester, Ma.

RADIx LIVE ON STAGE JANUARY 9th 2010
THE LUCKY DOG
89 Green Street
Worcester, MA
Doors@ 9PM
Flyer Below
PROMO VIDEO


Quite Nyce - Through My Eyes



SEEK - Separation

SEEK Debut LP featuring EDO G, Esoteric, and amazing production. To Purchase CLICK HERE

Quite Nyce - Through My Eyes Digital Release (2ND Solo Release)
To Purchase CLICK HERE

Pharrell Williams Writes Original Music For "Despicable Me"


From Jane Kim:

“I love cartoons and animation, and I’ve never seen such incredible 3-D CGI.  To score Despicable Me along with Hans and Heitor and write original songs for the film is a dream come true.” - Pharrell Williams

PRESS RELEASE:

GROUNDBREAKING ARTIST PHARRELL WILLIAMS
TO WRITE ORIGINAL SONGS FOR
UNIVERSAL PICTURES AND ILLUMINATION ENTERTAINMENT’S UPCOMING 3-D CGI FEATURE,
DESPICABLE ME


Williams Will Also Compose the Film Alongside Oscar®-Winning Composer
Hans Zimmer and Heitor Pereira

UNIVERSAL CITY, CA – January 5, 2010 – It was announced today that three-time Grammy Award winner and internationally renowned singer, songwriter, producer and designer Pharrell Williams will write original music for Universal Pictures and Illumination Entertainment’s upcoming 3-D CGI feature Despicable Me.  This marks the first time The Neptunes and N.E.R.D. artist will compose music for a film.  He is joined in the feature’s composition duties by Oscar® winner Hans Zimmer and Heitor Pereira.

Despicable Me, which stars the vocal talents of Steve Carell, Jason Segel, Russell Brand, Will Arnett, Kristen Wiig, Danny McBride, Miranda Cosgrove, Jack McBrayer, Mindy Kaling, Jemaine Clement and Julie Andrews, arrives in theaters on July 9, 2010.

In addition to the title track for Despicable Me, which debuted with the feature’s teaser trailer, Williams has already begun to write the film’s orchestral score as well as several other songs to be incorporated into the score.  Chris Meledandri (Ice Age, Ice Age 2: The Meltdown, Robots, Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!) is producing Despicable Me through his new company – Illumination Entertainment, which has a longterm partnership with Universal to deliver live-action and animated all-audience films for the Universal slate.

About his involvement in the project, Pharrell Williams said: “I love cartoons and animation, and I’ve never seen such incredible 3-D CGI.  To score Despicable Me along with Hans and Heitor and write original songs for the film is a dream come true.”

“Pharrell is one of the most important contemporary songwriters, Hans is one of the truly great film composers and Heitor is the next generation of Hans’ protégés.  This is an extraordinary teaming of talent,” said Meledandri.  “With every note they write, our film is being enriched.” 

About Despicable Me

In a happy suburban neighborhood surrounded by white picket fences with flowering rose bushes, sits a black house with a dead lawn.  Unbeknownst to the neighbors, hidden beneath this home is a vast secret hideout.  Surrounded by a small army of minions, we discover Gru (voiced by Steve Carell), planning the biggest heist in the history of the world.  He is going to steal the moon (Yes, the moon!) in Universal’s new 3-D CGI feature, Despicable Me.

Gru delights in all things wicked.  Armed with his arsenal of shrink rays, freeze rays and battle-ready vehicles for land and air, he vanquishes all who stand in his way.  Until the day he encounters the immense will of three little orphaned girls who look at him and see something that no one else has ever seen: a potential Dad.

The world’s (second) greatest villain has just met his greatest challenge: three little girls named Margo, Edith and Agnes. www.despicable.me .

About Universal Pictures

Universal Pictures is a division of Universal Studios (www.universalstudios.com).  Universal Studios is part of NBC Universal, one of the world’s leading media and entertainment companies in the development, production and marketing of entertainment, news and information to a global audience.  Formed in May 2004 through the combining of NBC and Vivendi Universal Entertainment, NBC Universal owns and operates a valuable portfolio of news and entertainment networks, a premier motion picture company, significant television production operations, a leading television stations group and world-renowned theme parks. NBC Universal is 80% owned by General Electric, with 20% controlled by Vivendi.

###

DESPICABLE ME - In Theaters July 9, 2010!

Website: www.despicable.me .

Facebook: www.facebook.com/DespicableMe .

Blockhead Preps New Solo Album "The Music Scene" for 1/12


From Terrorbird Media:

Blockhead Preps New Album!
"The Music Scene" is Out January 12th on Ninja Tune


New York hip hop producer Tony Simon aka Blockhead returns with his third and best instrumental album for Ninja Tune.

Blockhead has long made beautiful, emotive music based around the hip hop template, but on "The Music Scene" he elevates his craft to another level. Tony puts it down to the use of Ableton, which means that rather than working from "one basic beat and building off it" (the standard hip hop model), he has begun stringing together multiple beats and weaving them together into increasingly complex, surprising and satisfying pieces of music. As he himself puts it, "I made each song a little more of a musical journey than anything I have ever done before."

Blockhead's ambition to "tell stories without words" is evident from opener "It's Raining Clouds" onwards. The tune starts off as classic downtempo and ends up almost drum and bass, the music having changed and fallen away, echoing back through itself and feeding into previous themes at least three times. It's an epic in an album of epics.

At the heart of the record is the remarkable "The Daily Routine" - an exploration of drug addiction (based around a found recording of drug addicts arguing), Blockhead says "it's pretty much the creepiest song I've ever made." "Four Walls," meanwhile aims a musical broadside at the current vogue for autotune. "Which One Of You Jerks Drank My Arnold Palmer" is huge ambient space rock hip hop. "The Prettiest Seaslug" is Bahia-beat on opium. "Tricky Turtle" begins as afro-blaxpoitation, turns into a voodoo orgy and ends somewherte in the Middle East. "Farewell Spaceman" starts off sounding like an outtake from "Bewitched" and ends as an ecstatic, chugging flight off into the stars.

While "The Music Scene" represents a development in Blockhead's work, he still holds true to his basic beliefs about music and rhythm. When not working on his new album he has been providing production for Aesop Rock, DJ Signify, Joanna Erdos and many more, plus remixes for Yameen and Chin Chin, amonst others. Whereas the music scene is "a bastardized version of something that was already watered down," Blockhead's "The Music Scene," like his career as a whole, is "the opposite of that." By re-working, chopping and melding samples, by blending them together, Blockhead restores rather than dilutes their purity.

Blockhead
'The Music Scene'
OUT 1/12
Ninja Tune

Tracklist:

1. It's Raining Clouds
2. The Music Scene
3. Only Sequences Change
4. Which One Of You Jerks Drank My Arnold Palmer?
5. Attack The Doctor
6. The Prettiest Sea Slug
7. The Daily Routine
8. Tricky Turtle
9. Four Walls
10. Pity Party
11. Hell Champ
12. Farewell Spaceman

Pre-Order Link: http://www.ninjatune.net/ninjashop/search.php?text_search=blockhead&cat=&type=LP&by=6&code=ZEN149#ZEN149 .
(limited sticker set included with cd preorder)

Blockhead on Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/theblockishot .
Ninja Tune: http://www.ninjatune.net/home/ .

WEB - Return Of The Bad Guy (Open Bar Season)


From WEB:

This is the first installment of my new weekly freestyle series with Kevin Nottingham titled, "Open Bar Season". I will be dropping one per week for the next 52 weeks. Nothing more to it than that really. WEB & I.D.e.A's Marvelous World Of Color coming soon!

WEB- RETURN OF THE BAD GUY (OPEN BAR SEASON WEEK 1)- http://www.zshare.net/audio/7075824846fef0db/
Wes Fif - "I'm Tellin Ya" Music Video


Remember Wes Fif's "Tiger Woods? He's back with another new song!

MC LARS: "Reaping Beauty" f/ Beefy, Random and Tina Root


From Random a/k/a Mega Ran:

MC LARS: "Reaping Beauty" f/ Beefy, Random and Tina Root

Wordsmith's "Vintage Files Ep 1 - Vintage Video Shoots"


Wordsmith's "Vintage Files Ep 1 - Vintage Video Shoots"

Here is a little behind the scenes footage of Wordsmith's first "Vintage Experience" Album Photo Shoot with NU Revolution Entertainment LLC. Photographer Trey P. It also includes a recent "Vintage Clothing Limited" Photo Shoot, so stay tuned to more "Vintage Files" Videos in preparation for Wordsmith's next mixtape "Vintage Vault" online February 9th, 2010 and his debut album "Vintage Experience" online March 2010.

4-Ize Taking Hip Hop Hostage with Classic Example


From Dennis Paredes:

Illuminated Animal, 4-Ize is taking Hip Hop hostage with new video: Classic Example
 
With the release of 4-ize’s recent project “Illuminated Animals," the inner beast is shining as 4-Ize sets to take Hip Hop hostage with the release of a new video for the song “Classic Example.”
 
Produced by Wu Tang’s Rza, the song was originally used by Raekwon feat Ghostface Killah and Method Man titled “New Wu."  4-Ize, along with Señor Kaos and Punchlyne, used the instrumental as a promo record for Atlanta's DJ Rasta Root “Classic Example” Sirius/XM satellite radio show.  After being premiered by DJ Rasta Root, hitting the Internet, and being well received on various Hip Hop Blogs, “Classic Example” went on to become a favorite in the underground scene.
 
With the help of Atlanta, GA based audio/video film team “Studio 8,” the "Classic Example" video is completed and will be released on January 18th, 2010.

For your review, here is the promotional trailer for the Illuminated Animals album currently available for download at www.4ize.com as well as a sneak peak of the “Classic Example” video.

* http://www.bit.ly/6I0XyP *

If you haven't already heard "Illuminated Animals" head over to 4ize.com to download.

Blestenation Release "Blackout" Video f/ Travis Barker


From Kerosene Media:

Blestenation Release Video For ‘Blackout’ Featuring Blink 182’s Travis Barker
***
 
New York hip-hop trio Blestenation has released their video for the track “Blackout” featuring Blink 182’s Travis Barker online at www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5JTV0nY48c. The track will be featured on Blestenation’s debut album "Mbugout City", which hits stores on February 23rd, 2010 through Suburban Noize Records.
 


"’Blackout’ is one of my favorite songs on the album.  My man Lonnie and I were in the studio together for about fifteen minutes and came up with the track, then he laid down the hook.  Later on some of our people sent it to Travis Barker who had been a big fan of our 'FAM3 mixtape'.  He laid down live drums and sent me the files and we worked it in to the song. He was real cool about it," commented FAFU from Blestenation. "The song is about waking up after a night of debauchery and not really remembering what had happened or how you ended up where you ended up. It's something a lot of us can relate to."
 
Blestenation have been destroying the world of underground hip-hop on tour with the likes of Bone Thugs -N- Harmony, Scarface, Killah Priest, and the Warped Tour. The group was previously signed to Geffen Records, but their reckless behavior got them kicked off of the Warped Tour, into fist fights inside the Sony Music offices, and booted out of the Teen Choice Awards after an altercation with American Idol's Ryan Seacrest.
 
###
 
* www.MySpace.com/Blestenation *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of January 27th, 2015!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we've got TEN new items for you! Check out Adam Bernard's Joey Batts interview, Body Count's "Manslaughter," an editorial on the Top Ten Hip-Hop Sports Videos, Coolzey's "Sleight of Hand" - an RR EXCLUSIVE premier, Joey Bada$$' "B4.DA.$$" (our featured review), Kenn Starr's "Square One," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #310, Trinidad James' "The Wake Up EP" and the Trinidad James Release Party, and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for January 20, 2015!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for articles like Video: Mad Dukez - "At the Top". RapReviews.com also recommends the AMP w/ Shane Strickland from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive