Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
E-40's Official "Earl" Video


From Audible Treats:

E-40 - "Earl" Official Video 12.09.2008
"Now they know my name all across the world / They say 'Earl!'"

The Videos:


In "Earl," E-40 keeps it plain and simple, but that doesn't mean he's turned down the badass factor one bit. He's still a real boss and in this video he doesn't need much to show it. All it takes is a shot of him absolutely ruling a crowd, rapt with attention and getting stoked off 40 water's latest joint. He's rattling off rhymes about his humble beginnings; coming up from the Yay Area, just a kid named Earl living the street life, selling that "girl" (aka yeyo). But now that his name's world renowned, 40's telling kids and adults alike to stay on track and keep out of the drug game: "Im tryna teach the youth to be lawyers and play sports / instead of in and out of courts / and back and forth to prison / utilize they skills and stay up out the system."

Also, don't forget about the Retwittered: The Break Ya Ankles Remix Contest: http://www.loud.com/contest/break-ya-ankles-remix .

Contest Instructions and Rules: http://www.loud.com/contest/break-ya-ankles-remix .
MySpace.com: MySpace.com/E40 / Imeem.com: Imeem.com/artists/e-40 .
Serato: http://www.serato.com .
Ableton: http://www.ableton.com/newsletter .

Streams:

"Earl"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ot2rMRNnvw *

"Poor Man's Hydraulics"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTEjOQ4lv1I *

"Break Ya Ankles" Featuring Shawty Lo & Diamond REMIX
* http://media.audibletreats.com/E40-Break_Ya_Ankles_Remix_feat_Diamond.mp3 *

"Break Ya Ankles" Featuring Shawty Lo
* http://streamos.wbr.com/qtime/wbr/e40/audio/e40_001_break-ya-ankles-clean_128.mov *
* http://streamos.wbr.com/wmedia/wbr/e40/audio/e40_001_break-ya-ankles-clean_128.wax *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8LUHC4yxj4 *

E-40 Explains "Hustle"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AADSIRO7fI *

E-40 Explains "Ambassador"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQ0Vbi7EfJw *

E-40 Explains "Poor Man's Hydraulics"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCG_CT7JM5I *

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #7!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "It's officially the holiday season, which means we're spending too much money, giving dollar bills to guys with buckets and bells, and attempting to pretend that we like Little Drummer Boy and Silent Night as they get played ad nauseam on in-store loops. Good news - there's none of that in this week's installment of The Adam B Experience. What I do have is a bunch of great music, including two holiday themed jewels by Chaz Kangas that everyone is sure to enjoy. I also have news on artist that you heard here first that has just been nominated for a Grammy. As always, feedback is welcome, just hit me up at AdamB@RapReviews.com. Enjoy the show!" The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com so no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check it out at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

PreZZure - Sampling Superhero Talks Solo Debut


PreZZure is an emcee and producer that I’ve been running into a lot lately, both at concerts and online. Based out of Queens, New York, PreZZure caught my ear thanks to two mind blowing tracks, “Lost My Mind,” which is off of his upcoming album and features a sample from one of my favorite t.A.T.u. songs, “All The Things She Said,” and his beat for the AOK Collective theme, which features a sample from the theme from Sesame Street. In addition to being an emcee and beatsmith, PreZZure is also currently a college student majoring in Commercial Photography and a mentor with the Optimus Academy where he teaches junior high and high school students how to write songs. This week I caught up with PreZZure to find out more about the art of sampling, some of his favorite collaborative experiences, and what’s up with his “Bacon” nickname.

Read the full story at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/12/artist-of-week-prezzure.html

Common's "UMC" Streams on MySpace Before it Hits Stores in 12/19


According to Common's MySpace blog, Common will follow the footsteps of Kanye West, Akon, T-Pain, Beyonce and more to stream his entire album on his MySpace page a weekend for his fans before the release date (December 9) so that the fans can preview it. But here's an interesting catch though - MySpace Music will also team with Amazon for a special $3.99 deal to buy the entire album from Common's MySpace (www.myspace.com/common) starting album release date.

Hold up - $3.99?! Not $12 or, even better, $19.98 with additional taxes?! C'mon now what can get better than that?! I'm down with supporting artists, especially when it's for de CHEAP. Take advantage of this time, ladies and gents, because no one knows how long this deal will last.

Party Arty of D.I.T.C./Ghetto Dwellas Dies


Party Arty, member of the well-known hip-hop collectives D.I.T.C. and Ghetto Dwellas, recently passed away on Thursday, December 4.

It was reported that he had passed away with undisclosed health complications, according to inside sources.

Party Arty is remembered for first appearing as a protege of A.G., of Show Biz & A.G., then appearing on many D.I.T.C. releases. He later released singles with his partner-in-rhyme D-Flow as Ghetto Dwellas on Get Dirty Records.

Arty has worked with many well-known and legendary producers such as DJ Premier, Madlib, Show and Lord Finesse, as well as appearing on many albums by Fat Joe and O.C.

Arty is the second member of the D.I.T.C. to have untimely passed away. The first is the late Big L, with whom Arty has appeared with alongside Lord Finesse, Microphone Nut, Y.U., Grand Daddy I.U. and Jay-Z on "Da Graveyard," from L's 1995 critically-acclaimed album "Lifestyles Ov Da Poor and Dangerous."

RapReviews.com sends our condolences to the family, friends, fans, and the D.I.T.C./Ghetto Dwellas crew.

New Grandmaster Flash Album f/ Snoop, Busta, Q-Tip


Press release courtesy of Stephen B. at !K7 Records:

New Grandmaster Flash Album f/ Snoop, Busta, Q-Tip & More
For Immediate Release:

-----
The wait is over. The first major Grandmaster Flash studio album for 20 years has now been completed and is due for release on Flash’s Adrenaline City Entertainment label and Strut Records in Spring 2009. Entitled The Bridge: Concept Of A Culture, the album is the result of two years’ solid writing and recording. “As a DJ, I’ve been blessed to see many different people, places and styles,” Flash explains. “The album title represents all the bridges I’ve crossed worldwide.”

The album features a stellar line-up of guest vocalists and MCs with Busta Rhymes, Snoop Dogg, Q-Tip, KRS-One, Big Daddy Kane among the many contributing tracks and guest verses.

The Bridge: Concept Of A Culture will be released on March 3rd 2008.

Tracklisting:

1. "Welcome"
2. "Shine All Day" (Feat. Q-Tip, Jumz, & Kel Spencer)
3. "We Speak Hip Hop" (Feat. KRS-One, Afasi, Kase-O, Maccho, Abass)
4. "Here Comes My DJ" (Feat. DJ Kool & DJ Demo)
5. "Bounce Back" (Feat. Busta Rhymes)
6. "Swagger" (Feat. Red Café, Snoop Dogg & Lynn Carter)
7. "What If" (Feat. KRS-One)
8. "Unanswered (Interlude)"
9. "Tribute To The Breakdancer" (Feat. MC Supernatural)
10. "Grown & Sexy" (Feat. Mr. Cheeks)
11. "When I Get There" (feat. Big Daddy Kane & Hedonis Da Amazon)
12. Connection (Interlude)
13. "I Got Sumthin' To Say" (Feat. Lordikim, J-Flo & Almighty Thor)
14. "Can I Take You Higher" (Feat. Mr. Cheeks, Granmaster Caz & Tito)
15. "Unpredictable" (Feat. Syndee & Big Daddy Kane)
16. "Those Chix" (Feat. Byata, Princess Superstar & Hedonis Da Amazon)
17. "Bronx Bombers" (Feat. Lordikim, Almighty Thor & Mann Child)
18. "Zuka The Sound" (Interlude)
19. "Oh Man" (Feat. Syndee & Natacha Atlas)
Make Your Own Animated Akon Music Video


Courtesy of Ayal and Loud.com:

AKON'S NEW ALBUM FREEDOM IS IN STORES NOW!!

iTunes / Amazon

NEW YORK, NY (December 4, 2008) — With the release of Akon's newest album Freedom (SRC/UniversalMotown), in stores now, you will get to interact with this superstar in a whole new way! GoAnimate.com announces a partnership with international singer-songwriter, record producer, Akon. On Goanimate.com, users can create custom, movie-style animations with Saturday morning cartoon characters, politicians and celebrities, and now- Akon is added to the list!

GoAnimate.com users can create their own animations and music videos featuring hits from Akon's newly released and highly anticipated album, Freedom. GoAnimate.com will provide all the necessary tools to create your own unique Akon animations. The fun characters, music sets, emotions, actions, and songs can be easily accessed in the Akon Channel on the website's homepage.

The news doesn't stop there! Akon fans will have the chance to win an autographed copy of Freedom by creating an animation using Akon's hit songs, characters, and assets. Your video will automatically be entered in a contest, and the winning animations will be posted on Akononline.com, MySpace.com/Akon, Loud.com and UniversalMotown.com. For more contest details log on to .

"We are thrilled to have found an innovative partner that gives Akon fans a creative way to interact with their favorite artist and each other," said Ayal Kleinman, VP Marketing and New Media. "The GoAnimate software is the perfect tool to enable all music fans to express themselves on the web without extensive internet knowledge and skills."

"We are very pleased to announce this partnership with music superstar Akon," says Stone Newman, Senior VP of Licensing and Business Development for GoAnimate.com. This partnership marks our first music license and allows us to reach a completely different fan base. "GoAnimate.com gives Akon fans the chance to actively interact with one another.”
About GoAnimate, Inc.
GoAnimate was created by a bunch of guys who love animation and want to enable everyone with the ability to animate! Our world is made up of great stories and GoAnimate provides an outlet for everyone and anyone to share their sentiments, sagas and satires with the universe. Headquartered in New York, GoAnimate has offices in the San Francisco Bay Area and Hong Kong. The creators of GoAnimate have a wide range of expertise spanning from animation and programming to marketing and web solutions.
About Akon
In 2007, Akon became the first artist in music history to hold simultaneous No.1 and No. 2 positions on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart twice. Akon also won the 2007 American Music Award for Best Male Soul/R&B Artist and was honored three times at the World Music Awards. He has achieved gold and platinum certifications in twenty-three countries with the album KONVICTED and its singles -- the No. 1 hits "Don't Matter," and Grammy nominee "I Wanna Love You;" along with the No. 2 Grammy-nominated "Smack That" featuring Eminem. Akon's first album was the two-million-selling SRC/Universal Motown 2004 release TROUBLE, which included the worldwide smashes "Locked Up" and "Lonely."

About SRC Records
SRC Records (Street Records Corporation), founded in 2002, is a record label created by former Loud Records CEO Steve Rifkind, and is distributed by the Universal Motown Records Group. The label broke four artists in its first three years with the multi-platinum David Banner, Terror Squad, Remy Ma, and Akon. SRC's first release, David Banner's "Mississippi: The Album", spawned the top 10 hit "Like a Pimp," which went on to Gold status worldwide. SRC also showed immediate success in 2002, with Terror Squad's gold selling album "True Story," which featured the number one single "Lean Back." Akon's debut album "Trouble," sold four million copies world-wide, paired by the top single "Lonely." His sophomore album "Konvicted," had instant success when it debuted on November 14, 2006, which spawned the top singles "I Wanna Love," and "Smack That." Within weeks after the release, the album reached double platinum status worldwide, and received 2 Grammy nominations for "Smack That." SRC Records albums released in 2008 include David Banner The Greatest Story Ever Told, Shontelle's Shontelligence, and Akon's Freedom. New artist releases slated for 2009 include the web phenomenon Asher Roth, Tami Chynn, Melanie Fiona, O'neal McKnight, and Corte.

//////////////////////////////
////////////////////////
Ayal Kleinman
VP, New Media & Marketing
SRC Records / Loud.com / SRC Marketing

Yak Ballz Official Music Video Premiere


Press release courtesy of Yak Ballz:

What up everyone? This is the premiere of my first music video! It's for the song "Dirt Empire" on Scifentology II and it is produced by Aesop Rock.

The Link...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKwfJ_JRE-Y

It was done by a production company called Charlex and I couldn't be more grateful to have such a talented group of people to work on what I think is one of coolest things I have ever been a part of in terms of my career. It's been a long time coming and I'm really happy with the result. I hope you will be as well. Special thanks the good people at Charlex, to my friend and brother Michael Schaeffer for hooking this thing up, and Jonathan "JC" Cannon who conceptualized and directed it. Enjoy "Dirt Empire" and pick up your copy of Scifentology II if you haven't yet.

Feel free to pass it on. If you have a blog or know someone that does, post away!

We need as many comments as possible to help climb the YouTube Charts so leave one and while you're at it, rate it 5 stars, favorite it, and subscribe to Yak Ballz TV.

Best,

Yak

--
Yak Ballz
Scifentology II OUT NOW!
www.myspace.com/yakballz
www.youtube.com/yakballzTV SUBSCRIBE!

Illa J - "DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett


From Audible Treats:

Illa J - "DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett      12.04.2008
"Baby why you fightin' the feelin' / With your body all nice and appealin'"


The Song:

Illa J's in the mood for love, and there are no flowers and lacey hearts involved. "DFTF" is is one carnal joint. In this raunch-tastic track, Illa tries to convince one of the club honeys he's had his eye on to join him for an evening of good, wholesome fun. Yeah, that's a flat-out lie. Let the chorus speak for itself: "Baby why you fightin' the feelin' / With your body all nice and appealin' / Baby take my hand / I'ma give you a night to believe in / By the end we'll be bitin' and screamin' / A nice evening." Well, it may not be a candle-lit dinner or a box of chocolates, but hey, we're not complaining. How could anyone not fall victim to the mellowed-out, hazy, dream-like Dilla beat, perfect for a little modern romance (::wink wink, nudge nudge::)?

The Background:

When Jay Dee passed away from complications relating to lupus in February 2006, he left behind an extraordinary legacy of production work, including hits for Common, Janet Jackson, and Busta Rhymes. One mother lode of previously untouched beats dates from his time working on the Pharcyde's sophomore album, Labcabincalifornia (Delicious Vinyl, 1995). As Delicious Vinyl owner and founder Michael "Mike Floss" Ross explains: "From '95 through '98 Jay Dee was my go-to guy for hot beats and remixes. He was always making beats, always. So there was a select amount of tracks that he composed for me during that time, tracks as good as anything he'd done, only they never got used. When I finally met Illa J last year, I gave him a CD containing those unreleased beats."

In a case of pure serendipity, 21 year-old Illa J had just relocated from Detroit to Los Angeles and constructed a studio built using Jay Dee's recording equipment. He dubbed it Yancey Boys Studios in tribute to their fraternal bond. "Dilla was 12 years older than me," Illa J says. "So back in the day in Detroit I was just a little kid, sitting on the stairs in our house, watching him make those first beats for Slum Village. I always felt my brother's tracks and had an instinct for what I wanted to do over them." When Illa J set to work in early '08 recording the album, the project flowed quickly as he entered the proverbial can't miss zone. The name of the studio rightly became the title of the finished album, Yancey Boys, available online and in stores everywhere on Delicious Vinyl Records.

"DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Illa_J-DFTF_feat_Affion_Crockett.mp3 *

Illa J & Aaron LaCrate freestyle
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vHp4hzV9L0 *

Illa J MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/illajmusic *

Delicious Vinyl MySpace page:
* http://www.myspace.com/deliciousvinylrecords *

Label site:
* http://www.deliciousvinyl.com/ *

Loud.com Congratulates Round 10 Producer Winner M16!!!


From Loud.com:

Round 10 Producer Winner - M16

New York, NY (December 3, 2008) - Loud.com, what it is!!! After a long and tough preliminary competition, we’ve finally begun the second season of The Finalists! For those not familiar, this year, one emcee will win $100,000 and a record deal and one producer will win $15,000 and a three-song production deal from SRC Records & Universal Motown.

Our Finalists in Season 2 come from all over the country, and carry with them varying levels of acclaim. To see them in person and get a feel for how they've been moving up to this point, get over to The Official Finalists Season 2 Kyte Channel and see who’s doing what! Unfortunately, as often happens in this business, we've had to adjust to a few last-minute situations, and are working to solidify the two final spots. We will announce a complete list of candidates on Thursday. For now, however, here are the winners from the first eight rounds:

   1. Jouce The Artists – Palmdale, California
   2. Yung Jerz – Wayne, New Jersey
   3. Obae – Lakewood, Colorado
   4. Knonam – Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
   5. LF Daze – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
   6. Del Bugotti – Haverstraw, New York
   7. Angel Da Kid aka Garcy Vega – Lawrence, Massachusetts
   8. Homeboy Sandman – Queen, New York

And not to be forgotten, we would like to congratulate our Round 10 Winner M16thabeatking! His Atlanta bounce had heads in the building nodding and is a welcome addition to this new part of our contest. We will be announcing the full list of our producer Finalists on Thursday, as well! Their battle will begin in January 2009 and will include three specific challenges sure to test their skills and creative mind. For anyone who likes dope beats, THIS IS NOT TO BE MISSED!!

Now, a few other quick items of note:
***

SRC Records CEO Steve Rifkind Talks The History of Loud Records

    * He talks about going from being a marketing service to a label, hearing Wu Tang for the first time and his favorite part of the job
    * He’s going to be one of these rapper’s new boss!

***

Peter Rosenberg Signs On As Host With Loud.com!!

    * Hot 97 DJ and Radio Personality Peter Rosenberg will be hosting The Finalists Season 2 for Loud.com
    * Controls one of the biggest radio markets in the world
    * Avid supporter of indie hip-hop and the culture overall
    * Check out Real Late and Juan Epstein on Hot 97!!


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive