Wednesday July 26, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Neva Left]

Snoop Dogg "Neva Left" review!

Latest News Headlines
Braille Blog Update


To my friends all over the world!!!

I've kind of fell off the wagon with newsletter updates and stuff.  I honestly had to take a month or two away from "heavy grinding" and focus on other things going on in my life.  The lease on our current residence is up at the end of October, we were considering moving back to Salem Oregon so that we could be close to family - but after further consideration we felt drawn in a different direction.  We actually started toying with the idea in 2008 but decided to stay settled in Oregon.  None the less, we feel like it's time for a move - and after exploring our options we feel peace about packing up and heading for San Marcos, CA.  Might seem like a random location but there are many draws.  First of all, the majority of my business partners and the people who have strongly supported my career all exist in the San Diego region.  (San Marcos is about 35 minutes north from Diego).  Syntax Records (www.syntaxrecords.com), Jedidiah Clothing (www.jedidiahusa.com), The Glue Network (www.thegluenetwork.com) and NOTW Clothing (www.notw.com) are all located near by.  I've also been fortunate to be booked for concerts in California 10 or 12 times this year and all the events have been successful.  Beyond that, we enjoy the weather and have a lot of friends that we've met over the years.  We are sad to move away from family, away from the local music scene in Portland (THANKS!!!!  you can trust I will be back) and our home church Solid Rock (www.ajesuschurch.org)!!!  Thankfully we already have a church home that we intend to plug into.  We have visited The Movement Church (www.themovement.org) 4 or 5 times in the last year and we've always felt a strong connection.  So yeah, a lot of excitement involved in the whole situation.  I will obviously be back in the Northwest very often, weather to visit family or rock shows.  The Northwest will always be a huge part of who I am (spent 90% of my life here so far).

I could pretty much end this newsletter on that note but I got a few more updates.

1. Support literacy among the blind - buy a Braille silver dollar coin today!!!!  I had the pleasure of attending the National Federation of the Blind Youth Slam.  I hosted the talent show and performed for over 200 kids.  I would feel really encouraged if 50 people or more bought coins within the next month just based on reading this newsletter.  Go to this link to learn more -
https://catalog.usmint.gov/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10001&catalogId=10001&identifier=4000

2. The Sojourn album "Sojournalism: The Summer Articles" is coming right up.  We had a slight manufacturing delay, just making sure the artwork printed correctly but we should have CDs on hand very soon.  The release date was intended to be September 1st but it will be pushed back one or two weeks max depending on the retailer.  We are very excited to share this Sojourn album with everyone - and once my family gets settled in Cali we plan to re-focus the label and start hitting it hard again.

3. My tour schedule in October is gonna be pretty official.  Check it out below

Oct. 1-3 (A3C Festival in Atlanta)
Oct. 4th (CrossOver Church in Tampa, FL)
Oct. 7th-9th (Poh-Hop Portland Hiphop Festival)
Oct 10th (Cali show - still pending)
Oct. 15th (Baltimore - still pending)
Oct. 16th (Pittsburgh, PA)
Oct. 17th (Toledo, OH)
Oct. 18th (Indianapolis)
Oct. 19th (St. Louis - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 20th (Springfield, MO - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 21st (Oklahoma City)
Oct. 23rd (Albuquerque, NM - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 24th (Phoenix, AZ - AVAILABLE)
Oct. 25th (San Diego)

after that, we will fly home - finishing packing up our stuff and prepare to drive the moving truck!!!!  There is also a Halloween show in Seattle and a special show in Portland in the works at the very end of the month.

4. I have a few more "Blessed Man" shirts left.  If your interested then hit me up.  I also printed some new "B-Boy Karate Kid" shirts that are available as well.  I will have pictures up at all my social networks - twitter.com/braillehiphop, facebook.com/braillehiphop and myspace.com/braillehiphop

5. We have officially given out 15,000 copies of the "CloudNineteen" CD.  Pretty amazing.  We are trying to raise money to print another 1,000 copies for our road trip in October.  If you'd like to help us with that then hit me up.  If you'd like to support us during this transition (move) then picking up a t-shirt or something would be helpful.  WORD UP

6. I have about 80% of my new album "Audibly Enhanced Dreams" written.  There is no official release date planned yet but I will be spending a week in Syntax Studios this September to finish most of the recordings.

THANKS to everyone for the support, encouragement and so forth.  We are entering a new season and the possibilities are wide open.  My ultimate goal is to just be faithful over the territory GOD places me in, to give him the glory and be a good steward over the resources he places in my possession.  MUCH LOVE.  peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com
The Art of Hip Hop This Weekend


Hello folks...the Art of Hip Hop Festival weekend kicks off tomorrow, so be sure to check the full schedule of events at and get out to enjoy the festivities.

We're holding a contest and giving away 5 tickets to this Saturday's Buckshot concert at Nietzsches. Details on entering are at the end of this email.

If you hadn't seen it, this past Sunday Buffalo News had a great feature on the Art of Hip Hop and its founder Edreys aka Billy Drease Williams. You can read both articles online at ARTIST CHAMPIONS LOCAL HIP HOP SCENE and ART OF HIP HOP AT A GLANCE.

That's about it for now, thanks for the continued support, we'll see you this weekend.

Peace and Blessings

DTR45 Staff and Artists

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k52/deepthinka/ahhposterweb.jpg

-------------------

******BUCKSHOT CONCERT CONTEST**********
It's quite easy to win. Saturday night's sound provider, DJ CUTLER, has a new mix out, entitled "ULTIMATE BREAKS AND BEATLES". It will be available starting this weekend and the cover artwork is below. Simply email mail@dtr45.com naming FIVE NON-BEATLES depicted in the collage.

 THE FINE PRINT:
#1 MUST BE 21+ TO ENTER
#2 ANSWERS MUST BE EMAILED TO MAIL@DTR45.COM TO BE CONSIDERED
#3 EVENT STAFF/ARTISTS/SPONSORS ARE INELIGBLE
#4 FIVE WINNERS WILL BE RANDOMLY SELECTEDFROM ALL CORRECT ENTRIES
#5 ALL EMAILS MUST BE RECIEVED BY SATURDAY AUGUST 29 AT 12AM.
#6 WINNERS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY EMAIL AND TICKETS WILL BE HELD AT THE DOOR THE NIGHT OF THE EVENT.

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k52/deepthinka/breaksandbeatles.jpg

One Be Lo Signs Album Deal With MYX Music Label


From Audible Treats:

One Be Lo Signs Album Deal With MYX Music Label + MP3     08.26.2009
Michigan Emcee Joins Bay Area Label, Prepares B.A.B.Y. For February 2010 Release


(August 26, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) Bay Area-based MYX Music Label is proud to announce the signing of One Be Lo for his newest album, B.A.B.Y. The album, set for a February 2010 release, includes features from Royce Da 5'9, Freeway, Zion I, Phonte, Jean Grae, and more.

The partnership with the Bay Area label is a new step for One Be Lo, and one the Pontiac, Michigan emcee looks forward to. One Be Lo says, "I'm excited to get MYX Music Label involved with this next album - it already feels more like a family than a business. I've recorded and toured with Karim in the past, so I know he understands the artist perspective. MYX is an up-and-coming label that understands how to market records in today's media." One Be Lo's new album, B.A.B.Y. (an acronym meaning Being A Black Youth), is not only autobiographical of the rapper as a youth in Pontiac Michigan, but focuses on the many experiences in school, amongst peers, family, the army, crime, and much more all across America, and is a multi-media project encompassing music, film, books, clothing, and toys.

For MYX Music Label head Karim Panni, signing One Be Lo is also an exciting development and a welcome addition as the label continues to assert itself as one of the premier, rising independent hip-hop labels. Panni says, "We're honored to be able to add One Be Lo to the MYX Music Label squad. B.A.B.Y. is a gigantic record, and Lo is making the most important music of his career. His grind and track record speaks for itself. We're really trying to build up a roster of people making great music - hip-hop that can stand the test of time. Music that makes a difference, and One Be Lo fits that mold."

One Be Lo first hit the hip-hop scene in the late '90s as OneManArmy, one half of the short-lived yet critically acclaimed duo Binary Star. Many regard Binary Star's second LP, Masters of the Universe, as an underground classic - the album sold over 30,000 units independently and can be found today on eBay for upwards of $350. In 2005, One Be Lo resurfaced on Fat Beats Records as a bona fide solo artist with S.O.N.O.G.R.A.M. The album moved over 22,000 copies, becoming one of the year's most successful independent hip-hop releases. In 2007, One Be Lo released his sophomore LP as a solo artist, titled R.E.B.I.R.T.H., with a host of big-name producers ranging from Jake One to Vitamin D. One Be Lo has shared the stage with hip-hop giants KRS-One, Rakim, and the Wu-Tang Clan, and has toured the nation with Brother Ali, Soul Position, and Zion I. In 2010, One Be Lo looks to continue an already successful independent career with his new album, B.A.B.Y., which will be released February 2010 via MYX Music Label.

Although not featured on B.A.B.Y., check out a new song from One Be Lo, "Pigs" featuring Mike Posner: http://media.audibletreats.com/One_Be_Lo-The_Pigs_feat_Mike_Posner.mp3 .

Also, MYX Music Label recording artist, Kam Moye (a.k.a. Supastition), and longtime producer DJ D.R. have been selected by Complex Magazine and Grey Goose Vodka as the North Carolina representative for their Rising Icons campaign. This is a huge opportunity and we truly need everyone’s support to bring this home. The winner gets a live performance on BET’s Rising Icons special. Complex Magazine and Grey Goose will be organizing a showcase for Kam Moye and D.R. in Charlotte next month providing the attendees with FREE Grey Goose vodka and much more.

All you have to do to support is signup for the site and vote for KAM MOYE and D.R. on the microsite. Please forward to anyone who supports good music or ReTweet the info on Twitter. Any support will be much appreciated. You may vote at http://www.Complex.com/GreyGoose. To vote, just go to the page and click on “VOTE FOR KAM MOYE” and “VOTE FOR D.R.”. It will ask you to enter your email address and additional info.

About MYX Music:

MYX Music Label was founded in 2007 by industry veteran Karim Panni of the Boom Bap Project (Rhymesayers Entertainment). MYX Music Label is under the umbrella of MYX TV, which is the only music and lifestyle channel dedicated to the Asian American community. Distributed nationally, MYX TV showcases the hottest major label and independent content as well as dynamic original programming that fuses fashion, comedy, and culture. MYX Music Label integrates the newest technology while developing innovative digital distribution and promotion strategies to service their artists. The MYX Music Label was created for the sole purpose of using the MYX TV visual network platform to promote the finest independent hip-hop and urban music. MYX Music Label's ambitious release schedule for 2009 includes groundbreaking works from production duo Keelay & Zaire, D.Black, Jern Eye, and Kam Moye aka Supastition. Also, adding to their versatility as a label, MYX Music Label DVD releases include The Nutshack, Built From Skratch, Str8 Laced and Slanted Comedy, which features today's top Asian American comedians For more information on MYX Music Label, please visit http://www.myxmusiclabel.com .

Streams:

"Pigs" feat. Mike Posner: http://media.audibletreats.com/One_Be_Lo-The_Pigs_feat_Mike_Posner.mp3 .
Twitter: http://twitter.com/OneBeLo .
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/One-Be-Lo/22788354664 .

Potluck and D12 Kick Off 'Dazed and Dirty’ Tour


From Kerosene Media:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Potluck and D12 Kick Off 'Dazed and Dirty’ Tour


The reunited D12 and Humboldt County hip-hop duo Potluck have kicked off the “Dazed and Dirty” Tour, which is scheduled to crisscross the country through the end of September. Underrated from Potluck has offered the following update from the road:

"The tour has been fantastic so far. The combination of Potluck and D12 fans is creating massive energy every night," says Underrated. "Because both groups have different styles of hip-hop and it's keeping the show fresh and drawing all different groups of fans to these shows. This tour offers a little something for anyone who is fan of hip-hop."

The reunited D-12, also known as the dirty dozen, is a collection some of the best Detroit-based rappers including Bizarre, Swift, Kon Artis, Kuniva and Eminem. D12 released a series of highly successful albums including their 2001 debut, "Devil's Night" and 2004's "D12 World", both of which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200. The tour is the first time the Detroit based group will hit the road since the death of founding member Proof.

Crowned the hip-hop royalty of Humboldt, CA, Potluck’s infectious brand of rhyme has been reigniting an otherwise extinguished hip-hop game. The group released a series of independent albums that are now considered underground classics, before joining forces with Suburban Noize Records and releasing their new album “Pipe Dreams”. Since then Potluck has soared to the upper echelon on the hip-hop underground touring and collaborating with everyone from E-40 and Tech N9ne to hip-hop legends like X-Clan and Jurassic 5.

D12 & POTLUCK "DAZED & DIRTY" TOUR:
Aug 21 - Lake Elsinore CA @ Trevi Entertainment Center
Aug 22 - Orangevale CA @ Boardwalk – CA
Aug 23 - Arcata CA @ Arcata Community Center
Aug 27 - Seattle WA @ El Corazon
Aug 28 - Bellingham WA @ Wild Buffalo
Aug 29 - Portland OR. @ Wonder Ballroom
Aug 31 - Salt Lake City UT @ Murray Theater
Sept 01 - Denver CO @ Cervante's Ballroom
Sept 02 - Lawrence KS @ Granada Theater Kansas
Sept 03 - Tulsa OK @ The Marquee
Sept 04 - Denton TX @ R. Bar
Sept 05 - Houston TX @ House of Blues
Sept 06 - New Orleans LA @ House of Blues
Sept 08 - Atlanta GA @ Apache Café
Sept 09 - Charlotte NC @ Amos' Southland
Sept 10 - Richmond, VA @ Canal Club
Sept 11 - Scranton PA @ Clarion Hotel
Sept 12 - Worcester MA @ The Palladium
Sept 13 - New Haven CT @ Toad's Place
Sept 15 - Baltimore, MD @ Sonar
Sept 16 - Cleveland, OH @ Peabodys
Sept 17 - West Dundee, IL @ Clearwater Theater
Sept 18 - Columbus, OH @ Skullys
Sep 19 - Indianapolis IN @ Music Mill
Sept 20 - Grand Rapids, MI @ The Intersection
Sept 22 - Davenport, IA @ Red Stone Room
Sept 23 - Maplewood, MN @ The Rock
Sept 24 - Milwaukee, WI @ Miramar Theatre
Sept 25 - East Lansing, MI @ Small Planet
Sept 26 - Detroit MI @ Eagle Theatre

###

* www.potluckmusic.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

CunninLynguists Give Away Free "Don't Leave" MP3


More free music! Nobody can turn that down right? Oh yeah, everybody gives away free music these days... but CunninLynguists are a step above and beyond "everybody" so you should still check this one out.

 

CunninLynguists - Don't Leave (When Winter Comes) ft. Slug of Atmosphere
Download the free MP3 here

C-Murder Gets 10 More Years Tacked On His Sentence


Unless he can get some phone time in the day room, we won't be hearing new raps from C-Murder any time soon. UDubNews reports that incarcerated rapper Corey Miller has received additional jail time for his role in a nightclub shooting just a week after getting a life sentence on murder charges. Miller was sentenced to ten more years on two unrelated attempted murder charges but will receive time served for his years of imprisonment while awaiting trial. Hold your head up C.
J-Zone's Had It With Fake Facebook Thugs


Good afternoon.

This week I decided to go half and half. For those that are getting weary of the junior high cafeteria antics of Facebook, this one is for you...

FACEBOOK THUGS

It's getting troublesome people. I'm ready to re-install my land line and cancel all other forms of communication. If I get one more Farmville or Mafia Wars Application invite from a grown a** man, I'm going back to dial up internet too.

And on a lighter note...for those that appreciate diggin in the crates/ hunting for records (or those that did before the ipod killed off all the stores), here are some of my top stories/ adventures from 22 years of record collecting.

J-ZONE'S TOP 10 ADVENTURES IN DIGGIN'


This one has gotten some high profile feedback, good to see people still actually appreciate liner notes, album covers and bouts with respiratory trouble, haha.

Enjoy,

J

--
http://www.danteross.com/blogs/jzone
http://www.myspace.com/jzoneoldmaid
Hip-Hop Videos - Pace Won, Trae, Bekay, Smif N Wessun


Got the Wednesday, hump day, middle of the work week blues? Let these new hip-hop videos be the cure for what ails you! Let's start with the banging boom bap beats and oddly engaging rap flow of Mr. Green & Pace Won on "She Can Be So Cold."

For a laugh, RubyHornet and DJ JS-1 have compiled their list of "The Top Ten Greatest Sell-Outs."

The animated ABN adventures of Trae Tha Truth are back with the show AFTER the show!

Our friend Trends just threw his newest song "I'm Just Playing" up on YouTube.

Here's Bekay with his new video for "I Am" and "Brooklyn Bridge" - some dope shit you can't miss!

Hip-Hop Shop favorite Sandpeople have just released an official music video for "Hate Aside."

Last but not least here's Smif N Wessun performing "Sound Bwoy Bureill" live with Jahdan Blakkamoore. Enjoy!

CT Hip-Hop's Identity Crisis


The other day an editor (not my editor at the Weekly) gave me an assignment I'm really not looking forward to. He wants his writers to put together their top 10 albums of the decade.

I started sifting through a decade's worth of CDs, or at least the ones I felt might qualify for such a list. When it came to hip-hop, I noticed this decade, more than any other, has seen a huge variety of styles. At the start of it we had Eminem and Nelly, decidedly different emcees, ruling the charts. We moved on to 50 Cent and Lil' Jon and then took a funky turn with Gnarls Barkley, all the while acts like Jay-Z seemed ever-present.

This got me to thinking about Connecticut hip-hop and how a decade of randomness uncannily parallels our own scene. While variety may be the spice of life, it's not the best way to build a scene, and Connecticut's scene seems to suffer from an eternal identity crisis.

Read the full story at FairfieldWeekly.com.

Media Release: Thundamentals Launch New Single


From Obese Records:

For immediate release: August 25th, 2009

THUNDAMENTALS LAUNCH NEW SINGLE “MOVE IT UP” AT SYDNEY’S CLUB77


Explosive Blue Mountains crew Thundamentals are debuting their brand new single "Move It Up" on August 28th @ Club77 in Sydney. This infectious song is the first single to drop from their anticipated debut full length album Sleeping On Your Style (due September 18th).

After the success of their 2008 self titled EP, Thundamentals embarked on tours across the country playing shows with Pegz, Spit Syndicate and Dialectrix before embarking on a massive 2009 tour with Astronomy Class.

Sleeping On Your Style was produced by Thundamentals’ own DJ Morgs and Tommy Fiasko. Sharing mic duties once again is Jeswon MC and Tuka who round out the crew.

The single launch will be the first chance you get to check out the song performed live alongside new tunes from the album. Come and check out the show and don't get caught sleeping on their style!

THUNDAMENTALS

"Move It Up" single launch
August 28th @ Club77 (Darlinghurst)
Sydney, NSW
w/ Nikkita, Daily Meds, Host Manifest, DJ Diaz, Mathijs
Tickets: $10 + BF via Moshtix ($15 on the door)

You can check out the album artwork for the new album right here: http://www.twitpic.com/f6zky .

If you can’t get to the show, stay tuned as you’ll your chance to hear the single online very soon!


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for July 25th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit the target goal. You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. This week we have EIGHT new items for you: AUXX's "23/09," a new editorial on the SNES Classic, Madchild's "The Darkest Hour," Snoop Dogg's "Neva Left" (our featured review), SZA's "Ctrl," a list of the top 10 UGK (and Bun B) videos, Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 18, 2017 and WSIB #8 for "Ready or Not Here I Come."

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends The C-List Podcast from the AngryMarks Podcast Network! We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive