Monday June 26, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

THIS WEEK'S FEATURE

Faith & B.I.G. review

Latest News Headlines
J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla's GATOR$-n-FUR$ Mixshow: DEAD BROKE!


Dead BrokeGator$-n-Fur$ is back! But for how long?

J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla took 2 months off from the Gator$-n-Fur$ Mixshow to promote their Live @ The Liqua Sto album and while the record was fun and fresh, their current situation isn't. Like anything else, money (or lack thereof) has created a rift between these two knucleheads. The economy is screwing just about everybody at the moment and Zone and Chief are just 2 of millions of...screwcipients. In December 2008 they're Dead Broke! But will their financial woes and ensuing beef permanently destroy 21 years of friendship and 18 months of musical partnership? Is this the end of Gator$-n-Fur$? Highly possible. Can they reach an understanding? Let's hope so.

If they don't reconcile and this is the last show, they both want it to be known they greatly appreciate your support over the last 18 months. If they do reconcile, hopefully we'll see them back in the studio together soon. Survive the hard times or suffer with them with the Dead Broke! mixshow. Billionaire or broke, enjoy the mixshow (free download link)

And if you missed the past 2 mixshows with all the Liqua Sto hoopla, here they are...

DRY SPELL (September 2008)

ZOOTED! (August 2008)

And if you hate zshare links and want to download ALL Gator$-n-Fur$ Mixshows in one place, GET EM ALL HERE (UGHH.COM)

Don't spend too much money shopping during the holidays and avoid the text message Noid!

- Drank Collins (J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla's publicist)

--
http://www.myspace.com/jzoneoldmaid
http://www.myspace.com/ladieslovechiefchinchilla
Evidence Hits Road in Support of "The Layover"


Press release courtesy of redmusic.com.

EVIDENCE HITS THE ROAD IN SUPPORT OF HIS NEW 2 DISC SET!

Sunday December 7
Evidence  @ Willies Blues Bar
401 S. Guadalupe Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
$10
 
Monday December 8
Evidence @ University of New Mexico/ Student Union Building Grand Ballroom
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Free to Students/ $10 for Public

Tuesday December 9
Evidence @ Foundations of Freedom
230 Coal Avenue
Gallup, NM 87301
$12
 
Wednesday December 10
Evidence @ Orpheum Theatre
15 West Aspen Ave
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
$13
 
Thursday December 11
Evidence @ The Blunt Club
2155 East University Drive
Tempe, AZ 85281
$10
 
Friday December 12
Evidence @ The Abbey Theatre
530 Main Ave G
Durango, CO 81301
$12
 
Saturday December 13
Evidence @ Headquarters Lounge
19640 North Maricopa Road
Maricopa, AZ 85239
$10
 
Saturday December 20
Evidence @ Club 1428
1428 West Bottoms
Kansas City, MO 64101
$12

Tuesday December 23
Starline with Fashawn
Fresno, CA

THE LAYOVER EP
AVAILABLE AND IN-STORES NOW!!!

Termanology's "How We Rock" Up For Voting


Press release courtesy of Kim Trick:

Termanology’s “How We Rock” Up for Voting on MTVu’s The Freshman!

Termanology – Politics as Usual (ST Records / Nature Sounds)
Release Date: 09/30/08

Termanology’s “How We Rock” featuring Bun B. has burned its way up from the underground onto MTV. The video is up for voting starting today on MTVu’s The Freshman. Only 5 videos make the cut each week, allowing college students to comment and vote on their favorite. The winning video is added to MTVu rotation the following week.

“How We Rock” is the lead single from Term’s latest album, Politics as Usual, which hit stores this September on Nature Sounds Records. The track was produced by DJ Premier, and the video is a who’s who in hip-hop, with cameos from M.O.P’s Lil Fame, Grafh, Consequence, and more, showing Bun B wasn’t alone when he said, “Termanology puts the MC back in MC'ing, he's a breath of fresh air in this dirty game.”

Vote at http://www.mtvu.com/music/freshmen/ .

Leaders of the New School - Sobb Story


Yes, another entry for no reason other than the fact I was nostalgic for this particular song. The video is embedded below. RED LIGHT, GREEN LIGHT, ONE-TWO-THREE!

Food 4 Da Brain - Second Serving


Press release courtesy Noah and Jay Soul.

Hope you're still hungry, as FOOD 4 DA BRAIN ‘THE SECOND SERVING’ is finally ready to burst out the kitchen.
 
FOOD 4 DA BRAIN- ‘The Second Serving’ contains exclusive tracks from some of the best that the UK has to offer including, GHETTO, M9, SHAMELESS, FOREIGN BEGGARS, MANAGE, BRUZA, TERRA FIRMA, VIRUS SYNDICATE, MR TI2BS, FIRST AND LAST, KASHMERE, GHOST, VERB T, MCD & MORE….
 
The latest single ‘BALLISTIC AFFAIRS’ is a tasty musical morsel, cooked up by the UK’s finest SKINNY MAN, who delivers a couple of piping hot verses with DEADLY HUNTA supplying a solid side order on the hook all served over a SHOW N PROVE beat platter.

Food 4 Da Brain is released on the 24th Nov for more info check out: www.f4db.com .
 
Check the link below to see the ‘BALLISTIC AFFAIRS’ animated video. …
 
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXMEWu8miGw *

Avi Does Santogold


Press release courtesy of Shemspeed.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
November 7, 2008

Has the rise of the remix meant the collapse of covers? Avi Fox-Rosen, the folk slingin-americana-song-writer, doesn't think so. In his latest release, Fox-Rosen recreates "Creator," Santogold's searing dancefloor cut that nudges tired styles to the side and extols originality.

Brooklyn based singer/songwriter/guitarist Avi Fox-Rosen is quickly emerging as a distinctive voice in music. Fox-Rosen's two full-length records: "One" and "The Amazing Frozen String Quartet" show the breadth and depth of his song craft and bring the return of true Americana music. The records span a huge range of sounds, textures, emotions, and settings. Ringing acoustic guitars collide with majestic string quartet arrangements; a lilting falsetto is offset by lap steel feedback; poetic musings are painted in simple melodies, rich textures, and danceable grooves.

EPK: www.shemspeed.com/does/avifoxrosen.html .

Avi Fox-Rosen, the folk slingin-americana-song-writer, with tabla and gamelan percussion plus strings replaying Santo Gold's "Creator" inna world-psych style.

Opting not to reassemble the hit from an a cappella and split studio tracks, Fox-Rosen runs his own plays with the vocals and calls on musical pals to add their own interpretations. He brought in multi-instrumental percussionist Jonathan Singer who layers frenetic tabla and gamelan hits with Benjy Fox-Rosen's cello and Balinese horns. The result is more East Village in the late 60s than Brooklyn in the 00s, recalling a time when George Benson recorded a jazz guitar cover of Abbey Road in the album's entirety... in the same year the Beatles released their original.

Avi Fox-Rosen's "Creator" recasts what remakes can be. He brings disparate sounds together in a way that challenges the listener while remaining pleasant, and the comparison with Santogold's original quickly transitions into the realization that this cover does indeed exist unto itself.

It's more East Village in the 60s than Brooklyn today, so dig.

* more info at www.shemspeed.com/creator *

| myspace.com/santogold | myspace.com/frosenox | myspace.com/frozenstringquartet |

Kirby D Waxes Poetic On Prostitutes


When you see an emcee on stage with a sly grin on his face rapping an ode to prostitution with a thumpingly danceable beat behind it you can’t help but take notice. I know I did. The emcee in question was Kirby Dominant and the California native had the crowd hooked with his song about his appreciation for those ladies that partake in the world’s oldest profession. After the show I immediately got in contact with Kirby D to find out more about his music, what inspired the prostitute song, and why you’re more likely to hear Aphex Twin coming out of his headphones than DJ Shadow.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/12/artist-of-week-kirby-dominant.html

FREE MUSIC FRIDAY: Black Friday Edition


SAY IT LOUD - I'M BLACK AND I'M PROUD!

Or at least stores are hoping to be in the black by the time the day is done. For those getting back after a long day of shopping or finishing up a relaxing day of staying home, here is some more free music for your enjoyment.

Arsonists - Created 1998 Mixtape: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=F00NUG9K

I know my underground heads remember these cats. Though they never quite panned out like everyone thought they would, the group had some solid albums. This free mixtape collects various unreleased tracks, singles, b-sides, etc.

Yah Yah - The Canibus Saliva Mixtape: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=8HLAKDX1

How quickly we can forget. Yah Yah was a member of The Outsidaz, the Jersey group who made big waves almost ten years back with an EP and Eminem appearance. The man is making a comeback in the game and this mixtape is here to give you a refresher.

Esham - Detroit Mayoral Campaign Mixtape: http://acidrap.com/

I reviewed this joint a few weeks back and it is a tight little EP. only 5 tracks, but it's free and entertaining. I don't have to tell Esham fans to cop this, but if you've been sleeping on the man now is the time to check him.

Dub MD presents Hip Hop Renatus: http://www.mediafire.com/?m1ntu2mnydm

Underground heads keep rejoicing as the man Dub MD put together a mixtape with some of the hottest up and coming emcees. Included in this mix are Skyzoo, Access Immortal, Supastition, Sha Stimuli and more.

Zion I - The Search and Seizure Mixtape: http://www.zionicrew.com/mixtape/

These Oakland rappers have been putting down for years and managed to walk the fine like between underground, gangsta, hyphy, and any other style thrown their way. Very dope crew and a free mixtape makes them even doper - check them out.

Murphy Lee - Murph or Die Mixtape: http://www.zshare.net/download/50586709d4de6a81/

Showing the mainstream some love now, Murphy Lee was always my favorite Lunatic and he is making a come back this year. His first single has hit the airwaves and this free election themed mixtape is a good re-introduction to Mr. What The Hook Gon' Be.

That's it for this week, but stay tuned next week as we keep trying to give you free music and help you in the recession. For those looking to spend a little dough on music the following sites are having Thanksgiving sales:

Sandboxautomatic.com

Mixunit.com

Rapbay.com

Amazon.com (Top 50 Albums of the year for $5 a piece in DRM-Free MP3 format!)

Skillz Blog On Kanye West


Blog courtesy of Koch Records.

Skillz Blog On Kanye West

Please feel free to post…

 

So Im in Amsterdam and I’m bored as shit cuz its freezing rain outside and I’m listening to beats and what not outta the laptop and I had my instrumental folder on shuffle and I hear a beat I never heard before. I usually know what’s in my ipod( cuz its mine right?) and for some reason its baffling me that I don’t remember where this beat is from. Then it hits me, Its Kanye’s. Then I sit at my laptop and start going thru my library. Now I’ve paid attention to what he’s produced and what he’s put out on his own. From Game to Cons to GLC to Alicia Keys to 88 Keys and to this day I have never heard anyone spit over this track. Why do I even still have it? So I hit the net and do a few more searches and the only thing I haven’t listened to is 808’s. Im sure this beat wouldn’t be on that album. So I come across a MTV blurb where this girl is talking about Ye and how he used to hang at MTV and how he always talked about music and his beats and what not. So that took me back to when I first met him. I was signed to Rawkus and from what I hear they had the chance to sign him and passed on him but shit those dudes passed on Eminem! Well it was a guy there named Howie, I still don’t remember what his title was but he was the one STREET cat that Rawkus had. He knew all the people who for the most part wouldn’t support Rawkus’s music but some how he got them to listen and sometimes play it. So once I got signed I remember he would always ask what VA was like. Yall got hoods down there? Do the Clipse really move white? All kinds of shit, but he was cool( then). Dude used to get head in the office and all kinds of wild shit. So one day he tells me he wants to take me over Kanye’s crib to get some beats. Im like ” Who’s Kanye’? He’s like That Mos’s man. He got some shit. So then on the way to Hoboken he tells me the songs he did and how he’s not really like Jay and them but Jay & then dont fuck with him outside tracks. So I’m like ” Oh, from the Chi, he did H to The Izzo! I remember him from the video showing off his tattoo( for some reason that image was the only one I had). So we get there. An Apartment building and he’s sitting in front of a Roland 1680. A hard disk recorder. I had the same one I had let my man E borrow it. He had headphones on and was doing something with the machine. The apartment had records, sneakers, you know the usual shit. He asked me what kind of shit was I looking for and I told him what I tell every producer …” I don’t know, I just know it when I hear it.” So he played like 20 beats and I only really liked four. They all had samples in em and most of em where those sped up soul joints he used to do back in the day. Anyway he talked about music and this new Hov shit and mostly it was him and Howie talking. I wasnt saying much I was just chilling and cold..the heat wasnt on. Now I aint saying he didnt pay the bill..lol. Im just saying it was cold. So he burns the cd and we get ready to bounce and we’re walking to the door and he says my name ..
ye- Skillz
me- Huh
ye- Can I ask you a favor ,yo?
me- What up?
ye- If you decide to not use any of the beats please don’t rap over em and put em on a mixtape or nothing.
me- Oh! iiight
Ye- I’m for real
me- ummmm..ok
We leave and I ask Howie What was that all about. He explains that niggas just take shit and rap over it and put it out and that has been happening to him lately. I mean I did it with Aaliyah’s song and got pub so I knew exactly when he was talking about. He drops me off at the Time Hotel( with them small ass rooms) and I pop the cd in and listen to the beats again. I came up with a mean hook for one( I don’t have it anymore) wrote something to the last beat on the cd. I remember riding the train back to VA two days later and really wanting to track the song, or at least what I had written. And back in VA in the studio I played the cd and my homies asked who made the beats, I told em Kanye West but I probably wont use em. My man Irv was like” fuck that, we using them joints, lets lay something to it and give it to P Cutta. I took the cd out and changed the subject and started talking about the game the night before. I remembered the look in his eyes(Ye) when he asked me not to do that. I didn’t really know homie but he asked me and I told him I wouldn’t. I felt like if I did then I would be taking food from his mouth ya know? I wouldn’t want anyone to do that to me. I just listened to a interview where he said he doesn’t even listen to rap in his crib. Wow. Things change, People do too. I lost my mom too, so I know his pain when he talks about if he had never left the Chi then she prolly wouldn’t have either. I wonder if he would even know if I rapped over this beat now. Or would he even care? But I said I wouldn’t.

Hip-Hop Shop #13


Tonight on the Hip-Hop Shop we are pre-taped due to turkey day tomorrow (gobble gobble) but normally every week your hosts McFly and Stevie J bring you nothing but the hottest new tracks out today while discussing the latest hip-hop news and topics. Join us every Wednesday night at 10:00 PM EST, 9 Central via blogtalkradio.com/angrymarks and if you miss the live show be sure to look for the replay here on RapReviews or via our sponsor mrobandthecancer.com. The shows are 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com. Enjoy!

Download Here (right click to save)

* Dondria feat. Bow Wow - Boy Stop
* Hurricane Chris - She's Fine
* 88 Keys feat. Kids Incorporated - Stay Up (Viagra) Illmind Yo Business Remix
* Joe Budden feat. The Game - The Future
* Keri Hilson feat. Remo Da Rapstar - Energy (Remix)
* Trick Trick feat. Ice Cube - Let it Fly


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of June 20th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit our goal. Pledge today! You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. This week we have EIGHT new items for you: an editorial on the Xbox One X, the Faith Evans & Notorious B.I.G. album "The King & I," Kool G Rap's "Return of the Don," a MMA Mania interview with Ryan Bader, some unfortunate news about Prodigy (Mobb Deep), a new edition of Who Sampled It Better, the top 15 Busta Rhymes videos and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for June 13, 2017!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Thursday Night AMP from the AngryMarks Podcast Network! We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive