Monday October 16, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dopp Hopp]

Doppelgangaz review!

Latest News Headlines
DTR45 Announces Latest Roster Additions


DTR45 Announces Latest Roster Additions

DTR45 announced today the signing of two prolific hip hop artists from different sides of the continent.

Bay Area based emcee Paulie Rhyme, who has had a working relationship with DTR45 since 2000 and has toured with the label several times (including 2006’s Guy on the Touch Tour and 2008’s Green Giants Tour), recently signed a multi-year management deal which includes touring, promotion and publicity efforts.  Paulie Rhyme, born Paul Richardson, is one of the hardest working indie acts in the industry, having toured consistently for 3 years on several continents, founding his indie imprint Browntown Wreckords, and releasing several projects to high acclaim—both as a solo act and with groups Public Radio and Finless Brown. He also recently started the new group, Miles Outside; a cross genre, boundary-pushing band which describes itself as an aural explosion enveloping every musical genre you've experienced glued together on hip hop construction paper using an alternative paste. 

Says Paulie Rhyme: “I have worked with DTR on and off since 2000 first in Cleveland and then in the Bay. I have watch the company evolve, grow, and find success while staying true to themselves. We are both dedicated to making quality music, increasing our presence on the national scene, and taking our message to the next level. After working for years as separate entities, it felt right to take the next step and make our relationship official.”

Also signing a multi-year deal is Ottawa-bred, Montreal-based emcee/producer Devin Atherton. Using his surname as his stage, Atherton is a consummate professional and has taken the Canadian scene by storm. A one-man hip hop machine, Atherton currently writes, produces, and performs all of his own music; has toured extensively, received several awards, and been featured at Candian  Music Week and NXNE. Founder of his imprint Vinyl Tap Music, Atherton is partners with Toronto-based duo The Leathers with cohort P-Brain. The duo will be releasing a leather-bound 7” record in 2009.

Atherton commented, “I knew that this was the right step for me considering the amount of effort and work Tone and DTR45 have already put in for me. I’ve heard that the hardest thing in the world to do is to find someone who believes in you. DTR45 believes."

For more info on either artist, log on to www.dtr45.com, www.paulierhyme.com or www.vinyltap.ca .

LOUD.com Presents: The Finalists - Year 2


From Loud.com:

LOUD.com Presents: The Finalists - Year 2

IT BEGINS AGAIN! For our second year, Loud.com is giving away $100,000 & a record contract with SRC / Universal Motown. AND one producer will win $15,000 & a production deal with the label.... ...Loud.com's Finalists 2 is about to start next week, and we have an official video trailer for it!   If you can show this some love, I'd appreciate it.  Some of the more notable finalists include Curren$y, Homeboy Sandman, Iron Solomon, Knonam (done tracks with Eyedea, Royce Da 5'9, Brother Ali) and LF Daze (used to produce for Lil Kim and a few others - but he raps, too).  Thanks man, let me know!

Loud.com

...The official trailer for the Loud.com Finalists 2 is here!  Check out the ten rappers that made the finals as we get underway on December 2nd.  Be sure to watch in the new year for the debut of our producer challenge.  Register and login to vote and be a part of choosing the next superstar on the SRC roster!

Check It Out On Loud.com.

Jake One - The Truth DVD


From Critical Marketing and Media:

JAKE ONE - THE TRUTH DVD
Seattle Super-producer calls on Rik Cordero to direct debut video from White Van Music
London, England November 25th 2008


Having premiered yesterday on MTV2 and mtvU, Jake One's debut video from his critically acclaimed album White Van Music, released through Rhymesayers Entertainment, is already making its way around the internet having been featured on some of Hip-Hop's most prominent online portals.

The Truth, directed by the highly esteemed video producer, Rik Cordero and the crew of Three 21Media, was shot on location in Philadelphia and Minneapolis. This successful union is also responsible for the up and coming sophomore video from the album Trap Door which features MF Doom.

Please use the following link to post to blogs and sites

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WokfJUK0nAk *

Akon to Perform MySpace Release Show


Press release courtesy of Tito Belis and BigHassle.com.

AKON TO PERFORM MYSPACE MUSIC RELEASE SHOW AT CHINA CLUB IN NEW YORK CITY ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2008
 
NEW ALBUM "FREEDOM" IN STORES, ONLINE, AND ON SLOTMUSIC CARDS AND PLAYERS ON DECEMBER 2nd VIA UPFRONT/SRC/UNIVERSAL MOTOWN RECORDS


MySpace Music is proud to announce that Akon will be performing a free show for his MySpace friends at China Club in New York City on Monday, December 1, 2008 - a show being powered by AT&T. Doors for the 21+ Release show will be at 8 p.m., and admittance will be handled on a first-come, first-served basis with a printout of each person's profile displaying Akon in their top eight.
 
An internationally recognized, Grammy-nominated, multi-platinum selling artist, producer, entrepreneur, and philanthropist, Akon is one of the most influential voices in music today. In addition to having two multi-platinum albums, 21 songs on the Billboard Hot 100, Gold or Platinum status in over 23 countries, and over 145 guest appearances with artists such as Michael Jackson and Gwen Stefani to his credit, Akon is the only artist to ever accomplish the feat of holding both the number one and two spots simultaneously on the Billboard Hot 100 charts twice.
 
In addition to his accolades, on November 19, 2008 Akon announced that his third album, "Freedom," will be available on "slotMusic™, a new form of DRM-free MP3 music on a microSD card beginning Tuesday, December 2nd - the same date his album will be released digitally and on CD. The new slotMusic card will give fans a chance to enjoy Akon's album in a variety of ways and on a host of devices - from their microSD-enabled mobile phones to their computers and MP3 players. Going beyond the original thirteen songs that are on the CD version of the album, the slotMusic "Freedom" card will carry a mini-documentary video on Akon's life and influences, the new video for "Right Now (Na Na Na)," and exclusive hi-res images and songs including fellow SRC artist Tami Chynn's debut single "Frozen" featuring Akon.

Please visit Akon's MySpace page to preview his new album "Freedom" before it hits stores 12/2 starting this Friday 11/28: http://www.myspace.com/akon .

For more information on MySpace Music Release Shows, please visit: http://www.myspace.com/hiphop .

China Club
268 W. 47th St.
New York, NY 10036
(212) 398-3800
* http://www.chinaclubnyc.com *
 
About MySpace Music:
MySpace Music is a landmark joint venture among MySpace, The EMI Group, SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT, Universal Music Group, Warner Music Group, and Sony ATV, and whose independent music distribution partners include The Orchard, IODA, Alternative Distribution Alliance, RED, Fontana, and Caroline. MySpace Music offers an ever-growing catalog of freely streamable audio and video content, user-friendly e-commerce solutions, personal music players, and user and artist playlisting. MySpace Music aims to empower major, independent, and unsigned artists to monetize their content through multiple revenue streams.by allowing the MySpace community to freely stream premium content in an ad-supported environment, purchase MP3s and ringtones, create and share playlists, and ultimately buy merchandise, concert tickets, and other digital and physical goods.  MySpace Music also connects artists and fans in the offline arena through various concert series and live events including Secret Shows, MySpaceLIVE!, Transmissions, The Release, Front to Back and The List.

Loud.com Round 10 Rapper Winner is Iron Solomon


From Loud.com:

Round 10 Rapper Winner - Iron Solomon

New York, NY (November 25, 2008) - HIP-HOP! Loud.com, The Finalists 2 is at long last upon us! The last emcee and the last producer have been chosen and we are only seven days away from making history once again. To everyone that participated along the way, both artists and supporters, we applaud you for your efforts and constant elevation – that’s what hip-hop has always been about. We encourage you to register, login and vote to be a part of helping SRC chose the next artist to be welcomed into the family. One rapper is going to be a record deal and $100,000 richer, and one producer is going to have $15,000 and a three-song production deal in his pocket, too. So if you aren’t already… get familiar.

Before we get to the particulars, though, Loud.com would like to formally congratulate our Round 10 Rapper Winner, Iron Solomon! The battle legend was at the top of the leaderboard and came with some bangers, but the competition was heavy! We’d be remised if we didn’t shout out Kaze and Silent Knight for their extraordinary effort. Big ups to everyone that came out for Round 10!!

Brand new to the Loud.com Finalists 2 this year will be the addition of Nokia Kyte Channels! Follow our competitors live as they make their way through the various challenges we’ve set for them. This is real-time interaction and access like never before. If you see they need some help, hit them up and offer it one-to-one! We’d also like to announce that we have a special guest producer providing beats for our Finalists! He’s produced for 50 Cent, Nas, De La Soul, Planet Asia, E-40 and MF Doom, so we’re happy to have him onboard! Check back next week and find out who it is…

Now, a few other quick items of note:

PRODUCERS! Round 10 Voting IS COMPLETE!

    * A winner will be announced December 2nd
    * Submissions are now closed until the next competition!
    * Someone is going to win this contest and be $15,000 richer with a sweet production deal from SRC/Universal Motown!!

***

Official Loud.com Finalists 2 Trailer!

The Loud.com Finalists 2 Official Trailer

    * Check out the trailer and get a preview of the rappers who will be competing for $100,000 and a record deal
    * Finals start December 2nd
    * Catch all our Finalists live via Nokia Kyte phones!
    * Watch for the announcement of our special guest producer... he's a MONSTER!!

Audible Treats Best Videos of 2008


From Audible Treats:

We've already given you our list of the best albums we've worked so far this year, and now here are our picks for the best videos we've been involved with this year. Keep them in mind as you make your end-of-year lists!

The Contenders:

Opio - "Some Superfly Shit" (Hiero Imperium)
Featured on YouTube homepage, 200,000 views and counting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3cgjhzdjIg
Also, check the Remix Feat. Del the Funky Homosapien and Guilty Simpson and the 7 other videos from Vulture's Wisdom, Vol. 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8mXmN47KTw

J*DaVeY -"Mr. Mister" (Interdependent Music)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayz4oMawBJk
And the remix:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28Xfxu1itbI

Black Milk - "Give the Drummer Sum" (Music House & Fat Beats Records)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcP8QJ_tTP0

Fatlip - "What's Up Fatlip? (Breakbot RMX)" (Delicious Vinyl)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSq-40SwDM4

Rostarr & TRUTH & SOUL- "Percussive Movement No. 5" -Timelapse" (Truth & Soul)
Featured on YouTube homepage, 200,000+ views
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aR1m-TJA5FY

Ill Bill - "My Uncle" (Uncle Howie & Fat Beats Records)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dtjv5fAkxqc

Doomtree - "Game Over" featuring Mictlan, Paper Tiger, and Turbo Nemesis (Doomtree Records)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vaReSAXyXAo

Keelay & Zaire - "The Times" featuring Blu, Fortlive and Nino Moschella (MYX Music label)
http://www.mtvu.com/video/?id=1599870&vid=317481

K'Naan - "Soobax" (Interdependent Media)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYuoYQuzSko

Kanye & John Mayer give props to Souls of Mischief
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyW37_-WAug

Juels Santana Talks "Bad Santa"


From Koch Records:

Hip-hop superstar Juelz Santana, along with Dipset Capo Jim Jones and comedian Mike Epps, is pleased to bring you, A Tribute to Bad Santa, the new Holiday album on Tuesday, November 25th. The album features 15 new Christmas bangers and hilarious new skits from Mike Epps.

To preview of 4 of the new Bad Santa tracks, please click here: http://www.eppisodes.com/ .

For a glimpse into the album’s recording sessions, please click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tO_Dlt6dYk .

Bad Santa Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5G4L59ZEulU

E-40 Ball Street Journal Webisodes


From Audible Treats:

E-40 Ball Street Journal Webisodes

40-Water's here to give y'all a little insight on the tracks from his brand spanking new album, The Ball Street Journal. In this series of webisodes, the ambassador himself pontificates on the origins of "E-40." Also featured are lessons on how exactly one achieves the bounce of a poor man's hydraulics, the importance of hustling, when and where it's proper to employ the phrase "wake it up," and also how to make one's show a "sweatbox." You smell him?

Webisodes:

E-40 Explains "Hustle"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AADSIRO7fI *

E-40 Explains "Ambassador"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQ0Vbi7EfJw *

E-40 Explains "Poor Man's Hydraulics"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCG_CT7JM5I *

E-40 Explains "Break Ya Ankles"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8LUHC4yxj4 *

E-40 Explains "Wake It Up"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FeT3upp7dII *

E-40 Explains "Sweatbox"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgQXOepeN5g *

E-40 Explains "Earl"
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ct1cmBXOx3I *

The Background:

He's a rap innovator, a business-savvy tycoon and one of the music industry’s most consistent success stories. Yes, E-40 is all those things, but he's probably best known as a slang creator, a man whose distinctive gift of gab gets lifted and used in the rhymes of Jay-Z, Snoop Dogg and others. Now, the man with the terrific tongue returns with his most polished product to date, the imaginatively titled The Ball Street Journal." Anything that rolls off the tongue slick and is catchy, that's where it's at," E-40 explains. "The Ball Street Journal just flew off the tongue and it's memorable. This traces everything from the beginning to now. I've been through hard times and I've been through good times. It's like a discography of how my life has been, because I touch down on a lot of different angles on the album. It covers all angles of the game." The Ball Street Journal is available online and in stores nowon Warner Brothers / Sick Wid It Records.

Decomposure Album Press Release


From Fanatic Promotion:

A compilation of hundreds of recordings (vocals, textures, instruments, etc.) stitched together to form an album (it’s a bit more complicated than that, but as a basic premise), Decomposure’s most recent work, Humidity Patient Guide on Blank Squirrel Records is the result of 40 micro-songs crammed into 50 diverse (folk, rap, noise, electronic, pop, ambient, spoken word, industrial, chants, field recording) minutes. The album is available for free download. There is an option to donate via Paypal or Credit Card if you like the album. Includes a 25 page booklet of album art.

For the FULL Story of Humidity Patient Guide, click HERE.

FULL ALBUM DOWNLOAD HERE + 25-PAGE BOOKLET HERE.

WEBSITES: DECOMPOSURE | DECOMPOSURE MYSPACE | BLANK SQUIRREL RECORDS
* http://www.decomposure.com/ *
* http://www.myspace.com/erusopmoced *
* http://www.blanksquirrel.com/ *

Urb Magazine - Next 1000:

The album features the graphic-artist-by-day's slightly sugary blend of electronic-pop that channels a little bit of The Postal Service, but in no way mimics them, or anyone we've heard recently. Decomposure is definitely a delight, and no doubt will be making its-slash-his mark on the scene soon.

Popmatters:

Vertical Lines A absolutely fulfills the promise of At Home and Unaffected, and then some. Not only does it deserve a spot in the list of last year's best albums, it might have made a run at the top, given the right circumstances...It's hard to explain exactly what makes Vertical Lines A such an incredible album, except to say that the combination of elements that Mueller has put in here works. When a Beatles-esque, melodic stanza gives way to an Anticon-inspired set of ludicrous speed spoken-word, which then gives way to a literal chorus of Muellers in a hypermelodic feat of multitracked a cappella, you expect it to crash and burn under its own weight, especially when the whole process happens twice over the course of the song. And yet it doesn't crash and burn. Rather, it soars, pummeling the listener with cool idea after cool idea, fitting them together with taut threads that never seem to snap...It's an album that represents unchecked ambition, one man striving to live up to his influences and the organized noise in his head. It's the type of music that constantly makes you smile as you hear what the artist was trying for alongside what he accomplished. Vertical Lines A deserves all of the accolades that could possibly be thrown at it.

Amplifier Magazine:

Imagine Eno on steroids. Or Barry Bonds in a recording studio. This wacky yet ingenious collection from organic noise whiz-kid Caleb Mueller (aka Decomposure) is a listenable collection of engaging songs manufactured from sounds most folks would consider annoying: crackling paper, moving typewriters, static electricity, kitchen utensils, clacking wood, clanging metal, and bodily functions coupled with an occasional acoustic guitar or piano. Mueller's introspective art-rock identity (a la Beck, Bright Eyes or the Velvet Underground) emerges intact despite the continuous onslaught of poly-rhythmic mumbo-jumbo.

Treble:

So, with string untied, present opened and music pouring out of the speakers, Vertical Lines A only furthers its uniqueness with a sound that defies any easy categorization, or rather any categorization at all. Decomposure, better known as Caleb Mueller, has both an emotive, expressive tenor and a high speed nigh rap delivery, backed by dense electronic soundscapes that are one part glitch to one part shoegazer. Needless to say, finding a contemporary to this sound proves difficult, though if you can imagine Anticon and The Postal Service crossing paths, you're on the right track. The tracks themselves, titled 'Hour 1' through 'Hour 11' (in order, mind you), jump around a bit themselves, from the Brian Eno gone hip-hop 'Hour 2,' to the slightly emo 'Hour 3' to the sci-fi poetry of 'Hour 4.' And there's merely one more new surprise with the changing of each track, showing the varied aspects of Mueller's musical identity, and invigorating the senses with new layers of electro-funk, distorted IDM and gentle ambient waves. It occurs to me, listening to 'Hour 5,' that Mueller is like the IDM Justin Timberlake. He's got soul and can definitely groove, but in ways that evade commercial viability and with the utmost of artistic innovation. With the unwrapping of this elaborate package, the listener truly is given a musical gift, one that rewards and surprises repeatedly and consistently. Now, getting that string to tie back around the thing is another story...best to keep this one open.

Stylus Magazine:

Mueller’s music is a mess of noises that are not supposed to work together but somehow make funky, mechanical sense. He’s at his best when he walks around his apartment and clangs random objects, while crooning in a spit-shined tenor. Pots, pans, books dropped on chairs, telephones, and other random objects around his apartment are clanged, recorded and then digitally stitched together into a brilliant symphony. His math crunching rhythms that skitter and nearly fall off the tracks are much akin to the tomfuckery of Venetian Snares, Akufen, and most notably Hrvatski’s abuse of his household in his sadly underrated 7", Raume.

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #6!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B had this to say about the sixth episode of The Adam B Experience (ABX): "I'm tired and I don't have time for any flowery prose." Well we feel you homey, and when you provide us with an hour of dope music no flowery prose is required! Dig in as he serves up the latest underground jams and remember that you can hit up Adam B at AdamB@RapReviews.com and let him know what you're diggin about the show. The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com so no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check it out at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for Oct. 10th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit the target goal. You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. Apologies for our absence last week - your EIC took a much needed break. While we're getting back up to speed we have SIX new items for you: Doppelgangaz' "Dopp Hopp" (our featured review), an editorial about needing more than "thoughts and prayers" in America, an Emmanuel Sanchez interview for MMA Mania, the top 10 Ill Bill videos, Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for Sept. 26, 2017 and WSIB #13: Fatback's "Baby I'm-a Want You"!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Thursday Night AMP from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive