Sunday November 19, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Boomerang]

Jidenna review!

Latest News Headlines
Yak Ballz Official Music Video Premiere


Press release courtesy of Yak Ballz:

What up everyone? This is the premiere of my first music video! It's for the song "Dirt Empire" on Scifentology II and it is produced by Aesop Rock.

The Link...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKwfJ_JRE-Y

It was done by a production company called Charlex and I couldn't be more grateful to have such a talented group of people to work on what I think is one of coolest things I have ever been a part of in terms of my career. It's been a long time coming and I'm really happy with the result. I hope you will be as well. Special thanks the good people at Charlex, to my friend and brother Michael Schaeffer for hooking this thing up, and Jonathan "JC" Cannon who conceptualized and directed it. Enjoy "Dirt Empire" and pick up your copy of Scifentology II if you haven't yet.

Feel free to pass it on. If you have a blog or know someone that does, post away!

We need as many comments as possible to help climb the YouTube Charts so leave one and while you're at it, rate it 5 stars, favorite it, and subscribe to Yak Ballz TV.

Best,

Yak

--
Yak Ballz
Scifentology II OUT NOW!
www.myspace.com/yakballz
www.youtube.com/yakballzTV SUBSCRIBE!

Illa J - "DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett


From Audible Treats:

Illa J - "DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett      12.04.2008
"Baby why you fightin' the feelin' / With your body all nice and appealin'"


The Song:

Illa J's in the mood for love, and there are no flowers and lacey hearts involved. "DFTF" is is one carnal joint. In this raunch-tastic track, Illa tries to convince one of the club honeys he's had his eye on to join him for an evening of good, wholesome fun. Yeah, that's a flat-out lie. Let the chorus speak for itself: "Baby why you fightin' the feelin' / With your body all nice and appealin' / Baby take my hand / I'ma give you a night to believe in / By the end we'll be bitin' and screamin' / A nice evening." Well, it may not be a candle-lit dinner or a box of chocolates, but hey, we're not complaining. How could anyone not fall victim to the mellowed-out, hazy, dream-like Dilla beat, perfect for a little modern romance (::wink wink, nudge nudge::)?

The Background:

When Jay Dee passed away from complications relating to lupus in February 2006, he left behind an extraordinary legacy of production work, including hits for Common, Janet Jackson, and Busta Rhymes. One mother lode of previously untouched beats dates from his time working on the Pharcyde's sophomore album, Labcabincalifornia (Delicious Vinyl, 1995). As Delicious Vinyl owner and founder Michael "Mike Floss" Ross explains: "From '95 through '98 Jay Dee was my go-to guy for hot beats and remixes. He was always making beats, always. So there was a select amount of tracks that he composed for me during that time, tracks as good as anything he'd done, only they never got used. When I finally met Illa J last year, I gave him a CD containing those unreleased beats."

In a case of pure serendipity, 21 year-old Illa J had just relocated from Detroit to Los Angeles and constructed a studio built using Jay Dee's recording equipment. He dubbed it Yancey Boys Studios in tribute to their fraternal bond. "Dilla was 12 years older than me," Illa J says. "So back in the day in Detroit I was just a little kid, sitting on the stairs in our house, watching him make those first beats for Slum Village. I always felt my brother's tracks and had an instinct for what I wanted to do over them." When Illa J set to work in early '08 recording the album, the project flowed quickly as he entered the proverbial can't miss zone. The name of the studio rightly became the title of the finished album, Yancey Boys, available online and in stores everywhere on Delicious Vinyl Records.

"DFTF" featuring Affion Crockett
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Illa_J-DFTF_feat_Affion_Crockett.mp3 *

Illa J & Aaron LaCrate freestyle
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vHp4hzV9L0 *

Illa J MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/illajmusic *

Delicious Vinyl MySpace page:
* http://www.myspace.com/deliciousvinylrecords *

Label site:
* http://www.deliciousvinyl.com/ *

Loud.com Congratulates Round 10 Producer Winner M16!!!


From Loud.com:

Round 10 Producer Winner - M16

New York, NY (December 3, 2008) - Loud.com, what it is!!! After a long and tough preliminary competition, we’ve finally begun the second season of The Finalists! For those not familiar, this year, one emcee will win $100,000 and a record deal and one producer will win $15,000 and a three-song production deal from SRC Records & Universal Motown.

Our Finalists in Season 2 come from all over the country, and carry with them varying levels of acclaim. To see them in person and get a feel for how they've been moving up to this point, get over to The Official Finalists Season 2 Kyte Channel and see who’s doing what! Unfortunately, as often happens in this business, we've had to adjust to a few last-minute situations, and are working to solidify the two final spots. We will announce a complete list of candidates on Thursday. For now, however, here are the winners from the first eight rounds:

   1. Jouce The Artists – Palmdale, California
   2. Yung Jerz – Wayne, New Jersey
   3. Obae – Lakewood, Colorado
   4. Knonam – Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
   5. LF Daze – Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
   6. Del Bugotti – Haverstraw, New York
   7. Angel Da Kid aka Garcy Vega – Lawrence, Massachusetts
   8. Homeboy Sandman – Queen, New York

And not to be forgotten, we would like to congratulate our Round 10 Winner M16thabeatking! His Atlanta bounce had heads in the building nodding and is a welcome addition to this new part of our contest. We will be announcing the full list of our producer Finalists on Thursday, as well! Their battle will begin in January 2009 and will include three specific challenges sure to test their skills and creative mind. For anyone who likes dope beats, THIS IS NOT TO BE MISSED!!

Now, a few other quick items of note:
***

SRC Records CEO Steve Rifkind Talks The History of Loud Records

    * He talks about going from being a marketing service to a label, hearing Wu Tang for the first time and his favorite part of the job
    * He’s going to be one of these rapper’s new boss!

***

Peter Rosenberg Signs On As Host With Loud.com!!

    * Hot 97 DJ and Radio Personality Peter Rosenberg will be hosting The Finalists Season 2 for Loud.com
    * Controls one of the biggest radio markets in the world
    * Avid supporter of indie hip-hop and the culture overall
    * Check out Real Late and Juan Epstein on Hot 97!!

EHUSTL Presents Word Pimpin 2 With Keak Da Sneak


From Audible Treats:

EHUSTL Presents Word Pimpin 2 With Keak Da Sneak, Baby S, and Q-Z      12.03.2008
20-Track Reprise Features Guest Spots From Snoop Dogg and E-40


(December 3, 2008 - Brooklyn, NY)- Bay Area record label E-HUSTL is pleased to announce the release of Word Pimpin 2: We Don't Need You. Following the success of the first Word Pimpin (which featured B-Legit), the new release pairs Keak Da Sneak, heralded as one of the leaders of the next generation of Bay Area emcees, with Los Angelino Baby S and Bay Area emcee Q-Z. Fellow Californians, Snoop Dogg and E-40 lend their voices to the eclectic mélange of styles that appear on the album, paying tribute to California as home to all of the featured emcees.

Throughout the release Keak's rough and tumble voice and choppy rhythms compliment the straightforward, knockout punch of Q-Z along with the clever word play and raw stylings of Baby S. Coming in at 20 tracks, the album pays homage to California's deep talent reserves and sonic diversity. "Get Your U On" (ft. E-40 on the remix) is an upbeat number with bite, while in the second single "Do It Right" (ft. Snoop Dogg on the remix), each artist leaves their lyrical mark over a saucy, West Coast beat. The singles are easily entertaining, but tracks like "Monster Words" and "I Choose You" showcase the depth and prowess of those involved in the project, observed in their talent, unique delivery and content. Other notable cuts include the R&B tinged "Jello and Chopsticks," "Don't Take It Personal," and the polarizing but equally potent "Inner City Street Life."

Keak Da Sneak has been a staple of the Bay Area hip-hop scene since performing in Oakland talent shows as early as elementary school. With a debut EP (Sick-O) under his belt at only sixteen, and a contract with Virgin Records the next year, Keak has an album for almost every year of his life since, coming in at a whopping 18 solo albums. By collaborating with heavy-hitters like E-40, Keak has lent his signature voice to a number of major tracks coming out of the Bay Area, yet he remains faithful to his underground rap roots. Keak Da Sneak comes as a welcome addition to the Word Pimpin family of Baby S and Q-Z, helping them to create a more complex sound that is a unified effort while maintaining variety in the tracks, making Word Pimpin 2 a highly anticipated reprise.

TRACKLISTING:
01. "Monster Words"
02. "Don't Take it Personal"
03. "Get Your U On"
04. "Cali Hyphy"
05. "Cali Girls"
06. " Do It Right"
07. "Have Some Fun"
08. "I Choose You"
09. "Jello & Chopsticks"
10. "Inner City Street Life"
11. "Stack High"
12. "This Way I Get It"
13. "We Don't Need You"
14. "White Teez"
15. "Shake It Shake It"
16. "What It Is"
17. "Do It Right Remix" (ft. Snoop Dogg)
18. "Get Your U On" (ft. E-40)
19. "Givin Up"
20. "Back To Life" (ft. San Quinn)

"Get Your You O"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Word_Pimpin_2-Get_Your_U_On.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/WordPimpin2 *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/ehustlent *

Label Site:
* http://www.ehustl.com *

FREE MUSIC FRIDAY: 6th Man Edition


The 6th man is that player that comes off the bench and makes a big contribution to the game - some of my favorite players have been 6th men - Jerry Stackhouse being the biggest one. That explains the name - it doesn't explain why it relates to FMF and truth is it doesn't. It's the sixth edition of the column - hope to reach 106 one day - and basically the 6th man came to mind when I started writing this. If you want me to actually do som thinking I'll you to consider me the 6th man of your budget - helping you score something for free especially during crucial times!

Dume41 - "Lotus Throne" - http://samsquad.com/music/downloads/lotusthrone.mp3

This Seattle native has been hustling and grinding for a while now. His latest album "God Save the King" got a positive review and was featured in this week's update. "Lost Throne" is the lead single from the album is available for free download. Check it out and support independent hip-hop if you like it.

Clinton Sparks feat. Clipse & Pharrell - Still Got It 4 Cheap - http://www.sendspace.com/pro/jq6c2l

Yes, I know - the got it 4 cheap thing got played out a while ago, but apparently Clinton Sparks doesn't care - this track is from his self-produced mixtape that is soon to be released and is available for free. Clipse are as always dope!

DJ Rondevu - The Depression - http://www.zshare.net/download/522010618dd515d0/

Yeah, I know y'all want full length stuff too - the man Rondevu claims this is one of the best mixtapes of the year and looking at the tracklisting I gotta agree - nothing but that real rap on here - well except that Neyo track at the end - what's up with that?:

  1. INTRO – PRODUCED BY DJ RONDEVU & DJ GOCE
  2. THAT'S GANGSTA – STYLES P, BUN B & SEAN KINGSTON $
  3. MY LIFE – LIL WAYNE & LUDACRIS $
  4. MISUNDERSTOOD – LUDACRIS & JAY-Z $
  5. LIFES A BITCH 2009 – NAS & AZ $
  6. HOOD SHIT – TERMANOLOGY & PRODIGY
  7. EMERITUS – SCARFACE
  8. THE ART OF DISRESEKINAZATION – HELTAH SKELTAH
  9. WADDUP G'Z – PRODIGY & PUSHA-T OF THE CLIPSE $
  10. R-A-W - THE GAME $
  11. G-CODE – TRAE
  12. GOT THAT – PRODIGY, UN PACINO & SCOTT CANE
  13. THE FINANCIAL FORECAST
  14. THE TRUTH – FREEWAY & JAY-Z $
  15. AM I CRAZY? – PRODIGY, UN PACINO & HOGG BRANDO
  16. INTERVIEW WITH THAT PALIN BITCH
  17. BARS OF FURY – THE GAME & STYLES P $
  18. THING OF THE PAST – JADAKISS & JAY-Z $
  19. STEP UP – BALANCE, REMO DA RAPSTAR AND GARCIA
  20. HOWEVER DO YOU WANT IT – MAINO
  21. CAN U FEEL IT? – DAS EFX (PRODUCED BY DJ RONDEVU)
  22. SHOUTOUTS & INFO
  23. TOMORROW'S ANOTHER DAY – COLLIE BUDDZ $
  24. CLOSER – NEYO $


Lupe Fiasco - Coast 2 Coast Mixtape #58 - http://www.coast2coastmixtapes.com/mixtapes/mixtapedetail.aspx?mixtapeid=141

Man these Coast 2 Coast guys are up to 58 - this time they got Lupe to host but it's not all exclusvie Lupe tracks. Matter of fact I couldn't find ONE Lupe track on the tape! But they do have a nice mix of tracks from all coasts on this one and advertise the new Lupend CD.

Freeway - Month of Madness - http://thefreewaychange.com/blog/

The Philly emcee known as Freeway is hustling in a MAJOR WAY this month. He declared Decemeber his month of madness and that means he's been giving away free joints like crazy - 5 free tracks are up already and expect his blog to be updated during the whole month!

Jay-Z v. Coldplay - Viva La Hova - http://www.vivalahova.com/

I'd been meaning to post this one for a while now - former RapReviews contributer Matt Tomer produced some tracks on this remix mash-up and he said they were pretty dope! Check it out.

That's it for this week - you can't expect a triple double from the 6th man every week!
Digital Sales Soar But Satellite Plays Dead


Two major stories that could potentially affect the music world broke last week. First The New York Times reported that Atlantic Records has announced their digital sales surpassed their CD sales for the fourth quarter of 2008 (although they wouldn’t release the actual numbers and simply said digital sales accounted for “about 51%” of their total recorded music sales for the quarter), and a story on Slashdot made the claim that satellite radio is on its last legs, backing it up with a number of statistics, including the fact that the stock has seen a 97% decline since the merger of XM and Sirius. So what do these stories mean and how do they affect artists? Let’s take a look at them as individual cases.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/12/digital-sales-soar-but-satellite-plays.html

To Wand or Not to Wand


Over the weekend New York Giants wide receiver, and rehab mastermind, Plaxico Burress accidentally shot himself in his already injured leg with his own gun, which he didn’t have a permit to carry, while being escorted to the VIP area of a New York City nightclub. Evidently he’s not much of a Pharoahe Monch fan. This post isn’t about Plaxico’s idiocy, though, rather it’s about what Fox sideline reporter, and former standout defensive tackle, Tony Siragusa said during Sunday’s Giants game about going into nightclubs that use metal detecting wands.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2008/12/to-wand-or-not-to-wand.html

J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla's GATOR$-n-FUR$ Mixshow: DEAD BROKE!


Dead BrokeGator$-n-Fur$ is back! But for how long?

J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla took 2 months off from the Gator$-n-Fur$ Mixshow to promote their Live @ The Liqua Sto album and while the record was fun and fresh, their current situation isn't. Like anything else, money (or lack thereof) has created a rift between these two knucleheads. The economy is screwing just about everybody at the moment and Zone and Chief are just 2 of millions of...screwcipients. In December 2008 they're Dead Broke! But will their financial woes and ensuing beef permanently destroy 21 years of friendship and 18 months of musical partnership? Is this the end of Gator$-n-Fur$? Highly possible. Can they reach an understanding? Let's hope so.

If they don't reconcile and this is the last show, they both want it to be known they greatly appreciate your support over the last 18 months. If they do reconcile, hopefully we'll see them back in the studio together soon. Survive the hard times or suffer with them with the Dead Broke! mixshow. Billionaire or broke, enjoy the mixshow (free download link)

And if you missed the past 2 mixshows with all the Liqua Sto hoopla, here they are...

DRY SPELL (September 2008)

ZOOTED! (August 2008)

And if you hate zshare links and want to download ALL Gator$-n-Fur$ Mixshows in one place, GET EM ALL HERE (UGHH.COM)

Don't spend too much money shopping during the holidays and avoid the text message Noid!

- Drank Collins (J-Zone & Chief Chinchilla's publicist)

--
http://www.myspace.com/jzoneoldmaid
http://www.myspace.com/ladieslovechiefchinchilla
Evidence Hits Road in Support of "The Layover"


Press release courtesy of redmusic.com.

EVIDENCE HITS THE ROAD IN SUPPORT OF HIS NEW 2 DISC SET!

Sunday December 7
Evidence  @ Willies Blues Bar
401 S. Guadalupe Street
Santa Fe, NM 87501
$10
 
Monday December 8
Evidence @ University of New Mexico/ Student Union Building Grand Ballroom
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Free to Students/ $10 for Public

Tuesday December 9
Evidence @ Foundations of Freedom
230 Coal Avenue
Gallup, NM 87301
$12
 
Wednesday December 10
Evidence @ Orpheum Theatre
15 West Aspen Ave
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
$13
 
Thursday December 11
Evidence @ The Blunt Club
2155 East University Drive
Tempe, AZ 85281
$10
 
Friday December 12
Evidence @ The Abbey Theatre
530 Main Ave G
Durango, CO 81301
$12
 
Saturday December 13
Evidence @ Headquarters Lounge
19640 North Maricopa Road
Maricopa, AZ 85239
$10
 
Saturday December 20
Evidence @ Club 1428
1428 West Bottoms
Kansas City, MO 64101
$12

Tuesday December 23
Starline with Fashawn
Fresno, CA

THE LAYOVER EP
AVAILABLE AND IN-STORES NOW!!!

Termanology's "How We Rock" Up For Voting


Press release courtesy of Kim Trick:

Termanology’s “How We Rock” Up for Voting on MTVu’s The Freshman!

Termanology – Politics as Usual (ST Records / Nature Sounds)
Release Date: 09/30/08

Termanology’s “How We Rock” featuring Bun B. has burned its way up from the underground onto MTV. The video is up for voting starting today on MTVu’s The Freshman. Only 5 videos make the cut each week, allowing college students to comment and vote on their favorite. The winning video is added to MTVu rotation the following week.

“How We Rock” is the lead single from Term’s latest album, Politics as Usual, which hit stores this September on Nature Sounds Records. The track was produced by DJ Premier, and the video is a who’s who in hip-hop, with cameos from M.O.P’s Lil Fame, Grafh, Consequence, and more, showing Bun B wasn’t alone when he said, “Termanology puts the MC back in MC'ing, he's a breath of fresh air in this dirty game.”

Vote at http://www.mtvu.com/music/freshmen/ .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for Nov. 14th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit the target goal. You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. This week we have TWELVE new items for you: Loyle Carner's "Yesterday's Gone," Creatures of Habit's "Test Subjects," DJ Format & Abdominal's "Still Hungry," an editorial on bootleg Nintendo plug and plays, Jidenna's "Boomerang" (our featured review), Krept and Konan's "7 Days," Lady Leshurr's "Mode," a MMA Mania interview with John Salter, a new top 10 AVGN videos, Tricky's "ununiform," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for Nov. 7, 2017 and WSIB #15 "Sakura" Results!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Professional review writing services est. 1998. College students can now devote more time to rapping while an academic writing service 123writings.com works on their college papers. Write my paper 123 provides excellent help writing papers. Do not hesitate to order. Also please check out these CouponsMonk offers. In addition this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Thursday Night AMP from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive