Monday October 16, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dopp Hopp]

Doppelgangaz review!

Latest News Headlines
Camp Lo Set to Release New Album


Camp Lo Releasing New Album "Black Hollywood" in July

They've delivered classic tracks like "Luchini" while helping to propel long-time producer Ski to the platform he has now. Camp Lo, consisting of Sonny Cheeba and Geechi Suede, is making a return to the game with their new album "Black Hollywood," dropping July 24 on Good Hands Records, which is distributed through Traffic Entertainment.

The album is entirely produced by Ski. "I feel like I got the same energy as Uptown Saturday night on Black Hollywood," Ski said. "We're about to introduce Camp Lo to a whole new generation of listeners who are going to be blown away."

Camp Lo is excited about working with Good Hands Records. "I know we're in good hands with Good Hands," Ski said. "It's hard to find music people that have open minds to put out this kind of music. They believe in keeping good hip-hop alive."

The lead single, "Black Hollywood," will be released in June.

(Thanks to JP at Underdog for the info!)
X-Clan Joins Insane Clown Posse Tour


File this one under the "believe it or not" department - Brother J and X-Clan are linking up with the resident clown misfits of hip-hop to go on tour. Insane Clown Posse's "The Tempest" Tour will feature them, Twiztid and X-Clan and kicks off April 26, 2007 in Grand Rapids, MI. The tour will stretch through June 8th, 2007 in Fargo, ND. "This tour is a perfect proof that real hip-hop reaches all barriers. ICP and X-Clan would have been the furthest thing from anybody’s mind as a tour combination," said X-Clan front man Brother J. "I am excited to make history with one of the wildest crews in the game. I’ve seen some of the Juggalos at our previous tours, and now we are stepping into their house as a guest of ICP. We are looking forward to tearing it down." Here's a list of upcoming dates:

Thu 04/26/07 Grand Rapids, MI Orbit Room
Fri 04/27/07 Cleveland, OH Agora Theatre
Sat 04/28/07 Chicago, IL Congress Theater
Sun 04/29/07 Maplewood, MN Myth
Tue 05/01/07 West Des Moines, IA Val Air Ballroom
Wed 05/02/07 Sauget, IL Pop's
Thu 05/03/07 Wichita, KS The Cotillion
Fri 05/04/07 Denver, CO Fillmore Auditorium
Sat 05/05/07 Magna, UT The Great Saltair
Tue 05/08/07 Spokane, WA Big Easy
Wed 05/09/07 Portland, OR Roseland Theater
Fri 05/11/07 Chico, CA Senator Theater
Sat 05/12/07 Sparks, NV New Oasis
Sun 05/13/07 Las Vegas, NV Fort Cheyenne Casino
Mon 05/14/07 Anaheim, CA Grove Of Anaheim
Tue 05/15/07 Anaheim, CA Grove Of Anaheim
Wed 05/16/07 Tempe, AZ The Marquee Theatre
Fri 05/18/07 Tulsa, OK Cain's Ballroom
Sat 05/19/07 Dallas, TX Palladium Ballroom
Mon 05/21/07 Saint Petersburg, FL Jannus Landing
Tue 05/22/07 Atlanta, GA The Masquerade
Wed 05/23/07 Charlotte, NC Tremont Music Hall / The Casbah
Fri 05/25/07 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory
Sat 05/26/07 Worcester, MA The Palladium
Sun 05/27/07 Worcester, MA The Palladium
Tue 05/29/07 Norfolk, VA The NorVa
Wed 05/30/07 Baltimore, MD Sonar
Thu 05/31/07 Buffalo, NY Town Ballroom
Sat 06/02/07 Louisville, KY Expo Five
Mon 06/04/07 Lawrence, KS Granada Theatre
Tue 06/05/07 Sioux Falls, SD Sioux Empire Fairgrounds
Fri 06/08/07 Fargo, ND Playmaker's Entertainment Complex

For more information visit www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com or www.kerosenemedia.com.

Thanks to Kerosene Media for the info!

50 Cent to Lead Mayweather to Ring Against De La Hoya


Rap artist 50 Cent (a.k.a. Curtis Jackson) will lead "Pretty Boy" Floyd Mayweather into the ring for his WBC super welterweight championship fight against "The Golden Boy" Oscar De La Hoya on May 5 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas and live on pay-per-view.  50 Cent will be performing his new song "Straight to the Bank," for the very first time ever in front of a live audience.

Mayweather, the recognized "pound-for-pound" best fighter in the world, and 50 Cent are good friends and were recently seen together in the premiere episode of HBO's "De La Hoya/Mayweather 24/7," a four-part series currently running Sunday nights at 10:30pm on HBO, which takes an inside look at the fighters and their backgrounds.

"50 Cent is a great friend of mine and it means a lot to me to have him walk me in to the ring and debut his new song," said Mayweather. "With this fight being the Super Bowl of boxing, the fans and celebrities coming out to the fight and everyone watching around the world will see the greatest show ever."

(Thanks to RH for the info!)
Russell Simmons On "Doing You"


He is an icon. There’s no other way to describe Russell Simmons and his 25 plus year career as an entrepreneur that has included the founding of Def Jam Records, Phat Farm clothing, the Hip-Hop Summit Action Network, and numerous philanthropic organizations. Simmons released his latest book, Do You: 12 Laws to Access the Power in You to Achieve Happiness and Success, this week, and I sat down with him to talk about the book, as well as his thoughts on the 2008 election, and why he sees rappers as being more charitable than a lot of politicians.

For the full interview check out:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2007/04/russell-simmons-on-doing-you.html
HUGE UPDATE for April 24th Plus New Sean P Song & Cam'Ron


This may be the biggest update in www.RapReviews.com history! Check out this incredibly array of movie, DVD's & more. We get down like heavyweights at RapReviews!

Week of April 24, 2007

* Crackheadz Gone Wild: New York 2 (DVD)
* Def Jam Icon (Game)
* Hip Hop Life (DVD)
* Other People's Property (Book)
* Trina: Live & Uncut (DVD)

Buckwild: Diggin' In The Crates - Rare Studio Masters: 1993-1997
Classified: Hitch Hikin' Music
The Coup: Genocide & Juice
DJ Bonez & Omni: Ninja Art
Tha Dogg Pound: Dogg Chit
Ghettosocks: Get Some Friends
Haystak: Crackavelli
Lifesavas: Gutterfly: The Original Soundtrack
Lyrical C: Corporate Ameri3ka
Phat Kat: Carte Blanche
The Roots: The Best Of...
Scuba Chicken: Slim on Da Rise
Silentarmy: The Effects of Self EP
Woo Child: Under Rated Over Achiever

That's not all! We've also got a new Sean P (of the Youngbloodz) song "U Ain't Know" featuring T-Pain. Thanks to DB for the link!

U Ain't Know (RealAudio)

And if you missed Cam'Ron's now infamous appearance on 60 Minutes where he talks about snitching you can watch it here. Thanks to HHNF for the tip!

Cam'Ron's Rhyme Book Found!


In one of the most hilarious hip-hop send ups of all time, the team of writers designers and bloggers at OhWord.com have found what they allege to be Cam'Ron's "Lost Rhyme Book." It's hard to say what about it is funnier - the illustrations, the perfect imitation of Cam's rhyme style, or the fact that the blog entry has spawned over 200 responses - some from very angry DipSet fans! Check out the controversy here or cut and paste the link below.

http://www.ohword.com/gallery2/691/camrons-rhyme-book-found

New Fabolous Song Featuring Ne-Yo Leaks


There's a new Fabolous song featuring Ne-Yo making the rounds on the internet called "Make Me Better" and you can check out an exclusive sample here on RapReviews.com. Thanks to AS for the links!

Windows Media Player

Real Player
Snoop Bites Back On Imus Controversy


Radio personality Don Imus, who caught a considerable amount of heat for his unacceptable commentary on the Rutgers women’s basketball team, is quickly becoming the modern day face of ignorance in America. But with so much attention focused on the issue, many have spoken out on similar injustices hip hop artists commit on a daily basis. Snoop Dogg, who was called out for such offenses, spoke to MTV:

"[Rappers] are not talking about no collegiate basketball girls who have made it to the next level in education and sports. We're talking about hoes that's in the 'hood that ain't doing shit, that's trying to get a nigga for his money. These are two separate things. First of all, we ain't no old-ass white men that sit up on MSNBC going hard on black girls. We are rappers that have these songs coming from our minds and our souls that are relevant to what we feel. I will not let them muthafuckas say we in the same league as him."

He added:

"Kick him off the air forever. Ban him like they did [Adam] 'Pacman' Jones. They kicked him out the [National Football] League for the whole season, but this punk gets to get on the air and call black women 'nappy-headed hoes.' "

Snoop’s upcoming album “The Big Squeeze” is in production, and should be released through Koch later this year.
Two Bay Area Rappers Pass Away


In unrelated incidents, both Johnny Cash and Woodie have passed away recently.


Johnny Ca$h was signed to the late great Mac Dre's Thizz Entertainment and like all rappers associated with Dre had a strong fanbase. Ca$h, born John Castaneda, was a the victim of a shooting in his native Vallejo.

Woodie was a popular rapper associated with the Norteno music scene in northern California. Born Ryan Wood, Woodie had released over 10 albums and compilations since 1997 and was a favorite among fans of Norteno rap music. While not confirmed, it is rumored Woodie committed suicide some time in March.

Both artist's music can be purchased from www.rapbay.com, including a R.I.P. Woodie shirt with all proceeds going to his family.

Our condolences go to the families of Ca$h and Woodie.

Common Looking to Find Forever this June


"I want to leave a mark on this earth...making music and saying what I have to say in my music is one of the ways I will exist forever," Common told Billboard.com recently, specifically alluding to his upcoming June 10th release of "Finding Forever."

The album, which follows up the heavily acclaimed, Grammy-nominated "Be," again features production and rhymes from fellow Chicagoan Kanye West, and posthumous heat from J Dilla. Last week at New York's Sony Studios, Com previewed select tracks from his seventh studio album, and explained how the title refers to the idea of the aforementioned Dilla "living on" through his music.

In homage to the influential producer, Kanye West has reportedly gone about arranging his beats for the project in a similar manner to how Dilla might have. West's "Graduation," which will also feature Common, is due out this fall.

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for Oct. 10th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit the target goal. You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. Apologies for our absence last week - your EIC took a much needed break. While we're getting back up to speed we have SIX new items for you: Doppelgangaz' "Dopp Hopp" (our featured review), an editorial about needing more than "thoughts and prayers" in America, an Emmanuel Sanchez interview for MMA Mania, the top 10 Ill Bill videos, Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for Sept. 26, 2017 and WSIB #13: Fatback's "Baby I'm-a Want You"!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Thursday Night AMP from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive