Monday July 16, 2018
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Scorpion]

Feel the sting.

Latest News Headlines
Shaya - "Impeccable Concepts" Remix f/ Trek Life & Finale


Press release courtesy of Audible Treats:

Shaya - "Impeccable Concepts" Remix f/ Trek Life & Finale

Shaya's come a long way from his start-up years of handing out demo cassettes on the street. With his debut album, Fallen Awake, he's showing no signs of stopping. In the fresh new remix of "Impeccable Concepts" featuring Trek Life and Finale, Shaya brings the heat off the street and to our ears. In the past, he's tried to create "thinking man's music", and in this single he continues on that higher plain, describing his goals in eloquent lines like "Impeccable concepts / We move on a global conquest." This swanky strut is classic in style, but redefined in its lyricism. The funky, acoustic feel of the beat mixed with Shaya's airtight rhymes make the remix prefect for any seasonal soundtrack. Shaya's debut album, Fallen Awake, is available in stores and online everywhere on Interdependent Media.

The Background:


Prior to signing with Interdependent Media, Shaya spent nearly ten years hitting the pavement in his native Bay Area slanging handmade CD's and mixtapes at shows and on street corners. Shaya's lyricism, determination, and charismatic personality caught the attention of many industry leaders but personal obstacles often prevented him from taking his craft to the next level. He did, however, perform regularly and opened up for Bay Area luminaries such as the Hieroglyphics and the Living Legends. Shaya is currently under the mentorship of iD, the same A&R guru who introduced the world to Little Brother. Now, backed with the support of Interdependent Media, home to Canibus, K'naan, Tanya Morgan, Eyezon, J*Davey, and other artists, Shaya and iD are proud to finally release the fulfillment of the potential that others in the industry have always seen in Shaya with Fallen Awake. The album features production from Jake One (50 Cent, Freeway) and The ARE (Lords of the Underground, K-Otix). Under the manifesto of resurrecting “thinking man’s music,” Shaya considers Fallen Awake to be not only an open-palm to his listeners, but a chance to lay to rest the pains of his own life.

"Impeccable Concepts" Remix featuring Trek Life & Finale
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Shaya-Impeccable_Concepts_Remix_Feat_Trek_Life_Finale_.mp3 *

Guerilla Union/Hip Hop Official Charity Auction


From Guerilla Union:

Join Guerilla Union and Hip Hop Official in the fight against Diabetes! The Rock the Bells Charity Auction for Diabetes encompasses a unique collection of autographed memorabilia, donated by various 2008 Rock the Bells artists. All proceeds will be donated to the American Diabetes Association (ADA) in honor of Phife Dawg (A Tribe Called Quest). Contributions will also be made in memory of J Dilla, legendary Hip Hop producer and emcee, as well as Jheryl Busby, former president and chief executive of Motown Records who revived the label in the 1990’s.The Rock the Bells Charity Auction will begin on December 1, 2008 and close on December 15, 2008.

Watch the announcement video!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rD5_JXrU6NI

To see some of the items up for bid, log on to www.hiphopofficial.com or http://www.guerillaunion.com/auction/.

J.Period Scores New Tony Hawk Nintendo Soundtrack


From Tasha Stoute and Strong Arm Media:

// FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE //
J.Period Produces Soundtrack for Activision New Tony Hawk Nintendo Game!

New York, NY (November 17, 2008) - Fresh off the release of his historic collaboration with Q-Tip   ("Q-Tip for President," over 40K downloads!), J.Period is making history again... this time in the video game world.  In his latest venture, J.Period becomes the first DJ/Producer to score an entire video game soundtrack! Commissioned by Activision Publishing, Inc., (Nasdaq: ATVI), J.Period's soundtrack will accompany the latest release in the Tony Hawk video game franchise - Tony Hawk's Motion, launching November 18 exclusively on the Nintendo DS™.

From Nas to The Roots to Mary J. Blige to punk rock-hip hoppers,Game Rebellion, J.Period has perfected the art of blending styles and sounds perfect for skateboarding's increasingly diverse audience.  J.Period's soundtrack for Tony Hawk's Motion combines hip hop, rock, drum'n'bass, urban soundscapes, and even skateboard sounds to create a compelling and completely original backdrop for the game's exciting new style of play.
J.Period Scores New Nintendo DS Soundtrack
"J.Period has meticulously crafted an incredible
collection of exclusive and original tracks that capture the essence of the Tony Hawk experience," said Tim Riley, vice president, music affairs at Activision, Inc. "This franchise has a long-standing tradition of offering high-energy soundtracks, but J. has taken it to a new level and delivers an adrenaline-pumping masterpiece
for Tony Hawk's Motion."

"I am thrilled to be part of the Tony Hawk's Motion project," said J.Period. "I was truly honored to be given the responsibility of crafting the entire soundtrack for game play-exclusive tracks, no samples, all original material. This is no underground mixtape. All the music was composed and recorded  exclusively for Activision for this project. I don't know any other mixtape DJ who is taking it to that level."
J.Period Scores New Nintendo DS Soundtrack
Also lending original material to J.Period's Tony Hawk score is standout rock guitarist, Yohimbe Sampson, with whom J.Period first collaborated on the Game Rebellion: Searching for Rick Rubin mixtape. Multi-talented studio musician, Jesse Blum, also appears on keys, bass and horns on over half of the game's 10-song soundtrack.

For more information and to hear samples of J.Period's Tony Hawk soundtrack, click the link below.
* http://www.jperiod.com/tonyhawk/

Ice Bears Tour to Feature Prince Po, Edreys & More


From deepthinka.com:

The Ice Bears Tour
FEATURING PRINCE PO (ORGANIZED KONFUSION)
WITH EDREYS (DTR45) AND PAULIE RHYME (PUBLIC RADIO/BTW)
NOVEMBER 1ST – 30TH U.S. AND CANADA


Bay Area, CA based Browntown Wreckords in conjunction with DeepThinka Records (DTR45) and Nasty Habits Entertainment is proud to announce the Ice Bears Tour featuring Prince Po, ½ of the legendary 90s Hip Hop duo Organized Konfusion. This 27 city tour will kick off with a run through Canada on November 1st, then back to the states down the East coast, and then wrapping up in the Midwest on November 30th. West coast dates are in the works for early December with plans to head overseas in 2009.

Since his days with Organized Konfusion, Prince Po has been busy at work putting together an impressive solo catalog and starting his own label, Nasty Habits Entertainment. Po kicked off his solo career releasing of The Slickness in 2005 (Lex Records), followed by Pretty Black in 2006 (Nasty Habits Entertainment), and Saga of the Simian Samurai in 2007 (Threshold Recordings). These, in addition to a plethora of guest appearances on projects with Dangermouse, Madlib, MF Doom, and others, have kept Prince Po relevant in the age of the ringtone. Po has also mentored and worked with countless upcoming artists, giving them sound advice as well as an opportunity to work with someone with longevity in the an otherwise unstable industry. Currently he is working on his next project, Blazers of the Lost Art, entirely produced by Oh No (Stonesthrow), as well as The Ice Bearz, a project which will feature handpicked domestic and international up-and-coming artists alongside established ones.

Primary support for the tour will be provided by DTR45’s Edreys and Paulie Rhyme (Public Radio/ Zulu Nation). Both artists have been blazing up the independent circuit and college charts these past two years. Edreys has been featured on Warped Tour, in Billboard, as a Myspace artist, and his single, “I Like It” received over 328,000 views on You Tube. Paulie Rhyme has been touring the country steadily since 2006, and dropped Public Radio in late 2007, which hit #9 on the CMJ Hip Hop Charts. Edreys is currently promoting his new single and video “Get Free”; and Rhyme just release his latest 12”, Dusk till Dawn featuring Prince Po. The Canadian and East coast legs will also feature Ottawa, ON’s Atherton (Vinyl Tap), promoting his upcoming release, No Threat.

NOV 19 ANN ARBOR MI @ BLIND PIG
NOV 20 LINCOLN NE @ BOX AWESOME
NOV 22 MINEAPOLIS MN @ DINKYTOWNER

(Atherton replaces Edreys on the following dates.) 

NOV 23 OMAHA NE @ SHEA RILEY'S
NOV 24 COLUMBIA MO @ MOJO'S
NOV 25 DES MOINES IA @ VAUDEVILLE MEWS
NOV 26 IOWA CITY IA @ THE INDUSTRY
NOV 27 ST LOUIS MO @ ATOMIC COWBOY
NOV 29 MILWAUKEE IL @ HIGHBERRY PUB
NOV 30 OSHKOSH WI @ REPTILE PALACE

Diddy Releases New Cologne & Kanye Speaks On His Arrest


udubnews.com is reporting the following hip-hop news items today:

* Rap mogul Diddy is laughing a new cologne titled "I Am King" to celebrate Barack Obama's presidential win. According to various reports, Diddy will make the historical moment a theme for the campaign.

* Kanye West had this to say on being arrested in London last Fridayafter leaving a nightclub: "Here's what happened. When I left the club, I was encountered by a thirsty paparazzo as usual. He felt he had more rights to my space than me, so I put my hand up to prevent him from taking my image. I didn't assault him but merely putt my hand up to cover his lens. My security yelled, 'get the camera off him.' I guess in all the commotion the camera scraped his nose. They placed me in handcuffs and drove me to the station. They spoke about how this was obviously a publicity stunt by the photographer but they still had to go though the motions. When I got back to the hotel, there were paparazzi hanging over the bridge above the hotel trying to get a shot of me getting out the police van. Even though I wasn't charged, the damage was done. Sure enough the next morning, plastered across every media outlet - 'Kanye Gets Arrested.' It didn't matter that I wasn't charged or the fact that I hadn't assaulted anyone. All that mattered was that I was arrested."

* It seems producer Scott Storch is suffering in the recession too - he's put his Palm Island waterfront home up for sale on Craigslist with an asking price of $9 million dollars.

* Last but not least as heard on Kayfabe 4 Dummies last night, Suge Knight has been charged with battery and drug possession in connection to the alleged beating of his girlfriend. Knight was hit with the felony and misdemeanor charges by a Clark County Justice Court for possession of meth and hydrocodone and one count misdemeanor battery for allegedly punching his girlfriend of three years in the head as they were returning from a strip club.

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" Sampler


From dominationrec.com:

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" album sampler

Now available for free download is the "Magnum Opus" album sampler from Augusta, GA. based emcee Shorty Raw. "Magnum Opus" is Shorty Raw's solo debut that will be available digitally later this month on Domination Recordings.

Free Download: Shorty Raw "Magnum Opus" album sampler MP3
* http://www.zshare.net/audio/51197050ae665750/ *

About the release: Magnum Opus means an artist/writers best work to date. Shorty Raw feels "Magnum Opus" is definitely his best work since he has been recording music. This album displays Shorty Raw's experiences and relations both socially and intimately. His objective for Magnum Opus was to bring that classic feel that was so prominent in the early/mid 90's. It literally took him and production partner KHZ years to put this album together. They even went as far as re-recording the whole project to assure that they had an album that banged from start to finish. Shorty Raw's main man KHZ, did roughly 85% of the album. He also had the pleasure of working with 8:35 out of Portland, OR., Go from Augusta, GA. and the up and coming powerhouse ToneBeats.

Peace
Domination Recordings
* http://www.dominationrec.com *
* http://www.dominationrechiphop.blogspot.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/dominationrecordings *

T-Pain & Timberlake Team Up On Remix


From Zomba Label Group:

T-PAIN AND JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE TEAM UP ON “CAN’T BELIEVE IT” REMIX
NEW T-PAIN ALBUM THR33 RINGZ IN STORES NOW
T-PAIN TO PERFORM ON “SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE” NOVEMBER 22nd


Los Angeles, CA (November 13, 2008) – Grammy winners T-Pain and Justin Timberlake have teamed for a sizzling remix of “Can’t Believe It,” the breakout lead single from T-Pain’s highly anticipated new release THR33 RINGZ. The album arrived in stores earlier this week.

About Timberlake, T-Pain says: “Justin and I met about six months ago. I was working on the album in a Miami studio and he was in the room next door. He came by, I played him a few tracks and afterward he said that, out of all my songs, ‘Can’t Believe It’ was his favorite. I was shocked. Fast-forward to this week and I got a call saying Justin had hopped on ‘Can’t Believe It.’” This is an artist who rarely does remixes, and out of every hot record out there, chose to hop on mine. That’s some real amazing sh*t. I immediately called and thanked him.”

The original version of “Can’t Believe It” (featuring Lil Wayne) hit No. 1 at Urban radio and No. 2 at Rhythm X-Over and sold more than a half-million digital copies in nine weeks.

Praised by Rolling Stone as the album that "sets T-Pain apart from the rest," the much-buzzed-about THR33 RINGZ also includes follow-up hit  "Chopped & Skrewed" (featuring Ludacris), which is already rocketing up the charts at urban radio, along with guest appearances by Chris Brown, TI, Mary J. Blige, Kanye West, Ciara and Akon, among others. The album follows 2005's Rappa Ternt Sanga and 2007's Epiphany, both certified gold thanks to hit singles "I'm N Luv (Wit A Stripper)" and "Buy U A Drank (Shawty Snappin')."  T-Pain's bright, polished arrangements have become the in-demand sound across genres, and his scene-stealing vocal performances are among the most coveted in music. As recently pointed out in Billboard, over the course of the past two years, T-Pain has enjoyed 27 top 10 songs collectively on the Billboard Hot 100 and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs Charts. Few people can accurately say that they've changed the course of music; count T-Pain among that short list.

Tune in to watch T-Pain perform “Chopped & Skrewed”  on “Saturday Night Live” November 22nd.  Check local listings for times.

Hear The Track Now:

Can't Believe It Remix feat. Justin Timberlake (WM, Streaming, 96k, Audio)

* http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=t_km0fowVOyITJw_8wuSxjq0TWD72mEk&UserName=Unknown *
 

Can't Believe It Remix feat. Justin Timberlake (Real, Streaming, 95k, Audio)

* http://release.theplatform.com/content.smil?pid=uJUyD4W_HWkoX3ecfVjwMhcVFRRF6t7P&UserName=Unknown *

 
For the latest information on T-Pain, check out:

* www.t-pain.net *
* www.nappyboyonline.com *

Brooklyn Academy "Tear It Down" Video


From k7.com:

Brooklyn Academy "Tear It Down" Video   
For Immediate Release

-----
Brooklyn Academy's Bored of Education album harkens back to a darker, more lyrical era of hip-hop.  Reppin' BK to the fullest, emcees Pumpkinhead, Mr. Metaphor and Block McCloud have been making neck snapping music since the heyday of the Lyricist Lounge.  On their new street video for "Tear It Down," the trio visits some of their favorite spots in the borough, including a spontaneous playground dance session.  Bored of Education is out now on Gold Dust

Brooklyn Academy- "Tear It Down" from Bored of Education

BET's New Daily Hip-Hop Show THE DEAL


From BET.net:

Don't Miss BET's New Daily Hip-Hop Show THE DEAL | Daily @ 5/4c

CHECK IT OUT RIGHT NOW AT 5PM ON BET! HIP HOP IS BACK.

http://www.bet.com

Courtesy BET.net

Zion I "The Search and the Seizure" Mixtape Now Available


From k7.com:

For Immediate Release:
-----
The TakeOver out January 27th on Gold Dust / Live Up
"Juicy Juice" Maxi Single available now digitally and on 12" vinyl
On tour this month with The Mighty Underdogs


With the buzz already building from the leak of tracks featuring remixes, verses and interpretations of/by the likes of Santogold, Public Enemy, Talib Kweli & more, the time has come for Zion I's The Search and the Seizure mixtape to hit the streets.  Built for heavy walkman rotation in the classic sense, the A-side features supa emcee Zumbi and mega producer AmpLive putting their spin on hip-hop classics, with the B-side stepping into indie rock and electro territory.  Boom-bap addicts and fans of Amp's recent remixes for Radiohead, Jamie Lidell, Tapes N Tapes and more should have plenty to sink their teeth into.  Look for super-limited cassette editions if you're lucky, and make sure to grab The TakeOver on January 27th.

Zion I- The Search and the Seizure Mixtape: http://www.zionicrew.com/mixtape/ .

Side A
1. Alien MC's
2. The Rebel
3. Paper Thick f/ Rakaa Iriscience & Richie Cunning
4. Til Tha Breakadawn f/ Codany Holiday
5. Rawww f/ Mr. Davin, Deuce Eclipse, and Bambu
6. Gotsta Chill (Temperature RMX) f/ Talib Kweli
7. All Tha Jazz Interlude produced by Headnodic, horns by Adam Theis
8. Push the Button produced by Sean Christian
9. The Choice Jump Off

Side B
1. Juicy Juice
2. How Does It Feel f/ KFlay & Del the Funky Homosapien
3. Mama Told Me produced by Beat Camp
4. MGMT vs MGMT f/ Mickey Factz
5. The D Interlude
6. Santogold One RMX f/ The Grouch
7. Weird Fishez f/ Young Deuce
8. Fight for the Right (Muse RMX)

For More Info, Check Out:
* http://www.zionicrew.com *
* http://www.myspace.com/zioni *
* http://www.golddust-media.com *
-----
Catch Zion I on tour this month with the Mighty Underdogs

11/17/2008  Neumo's- Seattle, WA
11/18/2008  Satyricon- Portland, OR
11/19/2008  Domino Room- Bend, OR
11/21/2008  Club Underground- Reno, NV
11/22/2008  Grand Ballroom- San Francisco, CA
------
Get tour updates and more from emcee Zumbi on twitter.
------
For a free sampler from Gold Dust mixed by Large Professor, go to http://www.golddust-media.com/sampler .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for July 3rd, 2018!! Subcribe to this channel on YouTube to help support the website. Please excuse the bi-weekly updates as we continue to try and overhaul the site behind the scenes -- it's taking up a lot of our time. This week we have EIGHT new items total for you: Czarface's "Czarface Meets Metal Face," Drake's "Scorpion" (our featured review), Mad Dukez' "Burst Mode," four RapReviews videos featuring B. Durazzo rocking twin MPCs, a Fresh Kils interview in two parts and our test of the Amazon Fire Cube, plus Showbiz & A.G.'s "Take It Back." Incidentally you can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook to support the site.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Professional review writing services est. 1998. College students can now devote more time to rapping while an academic writing service 123writings.com works on their college papers. Write my paper 123 provides excellent help writing papers. Do not hesitate to order. In addition this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends subscribing to Mistah MegaManFan on YouTube. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive